We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
New York
1 review
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We have had a nice stay in these hotel.
The location is good, the next Metro Station is only 500 m far away.
Rooms and sanitary devices are clean and OK. The staff was friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast room is for that hotel a little bit to small. Unfortunatelly there wasn´t a bar.
Seen about everything a good hotel for a NYC visiting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    367
    164
    30
    27
See reviews for
205
269
53
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 9 nights at this hotel. It is located in Long Island City, which is a good choice prize wise and to ensure a good nights rest. The metro, which takes you to Manhattan, is on a short walk's distance. Two stops and you are in the middle of Manhattan with all touristic things in reach. The area in which the hotel is located might seem a little like a no go area, but we never felt unsafe in any way.
The rooms of the hotel are good. Great beds, cleaned daily, free wifi, big enough to store your luggage and purchases, fitness room available. Only downside we could find, was the breakfast room. Described here more often and it is all true. Choice of food is good, but the room is so small that you almost have to fight to find a table to eat at. On some days a bummer to start your day like this. But to avoid this, just pick your food and eat at your room, problem solved. Upon return to NY , we would choose this hotel definitely again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel October 3-7. My room acceptable with a decent bed and a clean bath. There is an in-room refrigerator which runs constantly. The off switch is at the back of the refrigerator which required pulling it out from the cabinet to turn it off. My room was on the 4th floor facing the street and there was lots of traffic noise during the evening and early morning hours. The free breakfast is OK and is served 6:30 to 9:30. Be sure to go early, otherwise the breakfast room is overcrowded.

The location of this hotel is so-so. Although the subway station is one block away from the hotel, you have to walk past one of the largest public housing projects in the country to reach it and there always seems to be lots of questionable people hanging around the subway entry. Also, there is virtually no place to eat in the neighborhood so be prepared to eat while you are in Manhattan. A new Subway sandwich shop located adjacent to the hotel was getting ready to open during my stay.

Overall a decent place to stay since the room rates are much less than for a similar hotel in Manhattan. Yes, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

we visited this hotel 17/09/2012 for 2 days as a hotel it was very clean an tidy you got a good breakfast plenty of choice but very busy.but as the location goes it was well pretty rough ok to walk around in the daytime would not chance it at night and there was 4 of us!on the positve side thers was a subway station 2 mins walk away to get into manhatten.if your in new york for 5 days or more get a metro card it costs 27$ for 7 days well worth the money TOP TIP!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My real complaint is with the management and its billing practices. On leaving, I split the $798.88 bill with an old friend of mine, 1/2 going on each of our credit cards, as reflected on the hotel's receipt,.My friend was charged his one-half, or $399.44, but I was charged $399.44 TWICE. I have placed repeated calls to the hotel and sent emails to Best Western to have the matter corrected. I was assured by return email that the matter had been corrected, but two weeks later it has not been, Best Western's last reply has been that I should call my credit card company, which can then call Best Western, and that the hotel would confirm the overbilling. Why does a customer have to do any of that once a hotel admits it overbilled? Why cannot Best Western simply correct the error or tell its franchisee to correct the error? It already has the records. It is a simple matter to almost immediately issue a credit back on a customer's charge card. So check your bills and credit card billing activity carefully if you are planning on staying here,

Otherwise, this hotel is adequate, provides good value for the money, has a good and fast subway connection to Manhattan (though the neighborhood is rough and night travel might not be a good idea), and the breakfast is more like a shark-feeding frenzy - so spend the extra money if you can afford it and stay in Manhattan. There is nothing to see in this hotel's neighborhood except run-down industrial buildings and a public housing project.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101-6122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.