We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We'd go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed for 10 nights at Best Western Plaza, LIC. The area is rather depressed but the hotel itself is clean and modern. The front desk staff and concierge are very helpful. Our room, on the 10th (top) floor, was large with 2 queen beds and a decent bathroom. The beds were comfortable and the room had a small wardrobe with a safe at the top and also a 3-drawer chest and small fridge. It had a wonderful view of Manhattan and you could see the Empire State Building very clearly.

Many people on this site have complained about the breakfast, so I would like to put the record straight. The breakfast room IS rather cramped, but we didn't have to wait long for a table on any morning. It is a complimentary breakfast that consists of bread, croissants and bagels with butter, jam or cream cheese, plus a variety of danish pastries and doughnuts, cereals, bananas, apples and also yogurts. The coffee was very good and the orange juice was fine. Sometimes they ran out of certain items but this was usually if you got down after 9am. They operate a self-clearing policy and some guests left their tables in a mess - so not the hotel's fault.

The subway is very close to the hotel - just a block and a half (3 minute walk). The F train is only two stops from Manhattan and takes approximately 10 minutes. Subway maps were not available anywhere as they were in the process of re-printing them. It can be a bit confusing as to which line stops where, but there are always people around to ask. Journeys cost $2.50 for a single trip. We were advised to be cautious when walking to and from the subway as you have to pass a housing project, but we never had any problems. A couple of times on the train we had people begging, although they were not drunk or abusive at all - quite the opposite, very polite.

There is a convenience store on the corner by the hotel which is open until 1am. There is also a pizza place and a cafe, but we didn't try either of these. Otherwise the immediate area has little to offer.

I would like to recommend a restaurant on 40th St (between 7th and 8th Ave) called Guy & Gallard. It is like a food court within a restaurant and if you are sick of burgers and fries then this place does everything from soups to superb salads, pastas and so much more. We only discovered it at the end of our trip but will definitely go there again next time.

One other point worth mentioning - if you intend to visit the 9/11 Memorial you must go to www.911memorial.org and book your tickets.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Manhattan view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    475
    202
    38
    31
See reviews for
285
323
68
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Assisi, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel is really good and clean.

The breakfast area was really messy and there wasn't a lot of parking.

The neighbourhood is run down but nobody bothered us.

There was a really nice convenience store on the way to the subway that had really good sandwiches and was well stock.

The subway was close for getting to Flushing Meadows (US Open) or Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We went to New York for our Honeymoon. We had a very long flight and reach hotel late night. Ther was an old guy, very polite and geltle checked us in. He was very accomodating. We have reserved a standard room with the king size bed. To our surprise we had been upgraded to a Large suite room with sofa in it. That was a first good start. Next morning we went to front desk to get information on the area attractions. It seems lady at the desk was very busy. Looking us wondering a tall guy got on the desk and help us out with the directions and major attractions. Later we came to know that He was a manager of the hotel. His name is ANKIT. During our stay the room was very clean. Housekeeping staff did the great job. Hotel has free breakfast and free wifi. We like the brakfast. This hotel is very near to the subway station and just a 10 minutes to the Manhattan. On our checkout day the Lady at the front desk, Natalie, was very nice and helped us getting taxi. We left with a wonderful memory of New York. We will definitely recommond this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hello Emily,

We’re glad your stay at the Best Western Plaza Hotel left you and your husband with a wonderful memory of your Honeymoon in New York City! Ankit, Natalie, as well as all other members of our staff enjoyed your stay with us and, we assure you it was more of a pleasure for us! Please visit again and thank you for your benevolent review!

Warm regards,
Best Western Plaza Hotel LIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The Hotel is very nice, clean and convenient to the city. The staff is awesome, very friendly and always helpful. I spent 3 nights. On the day of my check in the guy at the front desk was very quick in checking me in. During my stay I had few maintenance issues, however the maintenance staff was very quick in responding and taking care of them. I loved my stay. I am recommonding this hotel to my company for their employee's future stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bwplazalic33143, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Hello Destine,

Thank you for your sincere review regarding your stay here at Best Western Plaza Hotel! We really cannot fully express how happy it makes us feel to know you are recommending our hotel to your friends and family! We appreciate all the kindness and hope we continue to exceed your expectations!

With much gratitude,
Best Western Plaza Hotel LIC Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This hotel looks nice and everything but there customer services was horrible. The fridge in our room had a big block of ice that had built up and i asked them to come fix it and they never did. we couldnt use the fridge because it didnt work. Also they charged me for a long distance call that i never made. Neighborhood isnt the greatest and safest. I wouldnt stay there again thats for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Let me start by saying that I ended up using a free nights stay I worked hard to earn staying at this place. I'm going to start with the good, mostly because there is little of it. The hotel, is literally, across the street from the subway (line Q and R) so transportation in and out of Long Island City was easy. It was fairly easy to get to from the George Washington Bridge. Thats about it. When we got to the hotel the front desk agent was not in uniform and had several bags behind the counter. Before leaving, we spoke to a manager who said that person was on their way to being fired. The check in was interminably long. The lock on the door was broken, we had to hit the door with our hip to get it to close.The safe in our room was missing batteries and it took about a good half hour for the front desk agent to get the maintanence man to get us some new ones. Our tub was also malfunctional. The next morning the concierge could not tell us anything about the hotel, reason being she was a hired out service. Regardless, she should have been aware of the place shes working in. Breakfast was in the mezzanine and there was clearly not enough for everyone. There was also clearly not enough space for everyone either. Check out was better, we were served by a different more competant woman. I would definitly not recomend this hotel to any one, and thats saying alot since I am in the business of refering poeple to hotels as a travel agent. The service was bad, the room was shabby and Best Western needs to over haul the whole thing, interior, exterior management and entry level.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Reasonably priced rooms, however the staff is very, very RUDE, especially the receptionist MARCY and the guy in charge of the food for the breakfast. Marcy is very arrogant, speaks down to you like she doing you a favor every time she’s opening her mouth to answer one of your questions, rolls her eyes as she gets annoyed by your bothering her and is not even shy to raise her voice when she considers etc. The guy in the lounge room is practically gone during the breakfast hours while guests are desperately looking for the missing food everywhere, then shows up, puts some bread out and when you want to grab a slice packs up and takes the food away right from under your nose. I have never seen such rude and unfriendly service providers and people in my live. They made us feel really uncomfortable.
The area is not nice, and even though the metro is very close, to get to it, you have to walk by a suspicious area which could be quite scary especially late at night.
If you need parking…that’s a tricky one too. Even though when I called in to inquire I was told it’s free, they didn’t say that it’s limited to few spots and you have to park on the streets, if you find a spot.
The only really good thing was the bed, very comfortable comparing with other hotels. If you’re not on a reduced budget, avoid the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel

Address: 3934 21st Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, where guests will find friendly customer service and superior accommodations at an affordable price. Located just five minutes from public transportation to Manhattan this Long Island City hotel features well-appointed guest rooms with cable satellite television and free wireless high-speed Internet access. The Friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel is ready to ensure a memorable stay in Long Island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.