We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4034 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

We came to NYC to celebrate my 50th birthday and stayed in Manhattan. Unfortunately we were due to fly home on the 18th April but the flight was canceled due to the volcano. We needed to find somewhere cheaper to stay and because of recommendations from the NYC forums we chose here. What a good choice. We had a king suite and it was fantastic. Huge lounge with a double sofa bed for my son and it was even comfy. Decent sized bathroom with wonderful toiletries. Bedroom with a king sized bed and flat screen tv. Bed was really comfortable. Only drawback was it was a bit noisy being close to the road. I use ear plugs so it hardly bothered me at all.
Free wifi was very reliable. If you need to print anything out you can do so in the lobby.
The breakfast was fine. Choice of cereals, Fruit, yogurt, bagels, bread and donuts. There were 2 waffle makers but people forgot to use the spray oil so the waffles stuck and burnt.
If we go back to NYC we will stay here as it is easy to get into Manhattan. 2 subway stations within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    512
    206
    76
    76
See reviews for
298
469
87
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Great hotel ! Very clean, quiet with good service. WiFi in rooms for free and working without any problems.
Great view the rooms to Manhattan skyline. Metro station just one block away from the hotel and few minutes ride to Time Square for example. The area itself close the hotel does not have much to see, but there is some fast food places and groceries close by.

If I have to dig out some room for improvements, it is the breakfast logistics. You have to often wait (few minutes) for a free table in the quite small breakfast room and sometimes all items were not available. Blankets in the room were quite thick and heavy.

Will come for sure again (soon).

Shopping tip : Century 21, in Regopark Queens.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Arrived in late afternoon, April 7, found open parking spaces in front of hotel. Free parking for 3 days. 5 min. to subway, which was surprisingly clean and easy to use and 15 min. max to Times Square. Hotel staff was friendly, room was clean. Good deal for family travel, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This hotel is only about 6 months old and shows it. Everything is new, the room was spacious, the lobby neat. The exercise room has a new bike, treadmill and elliptical along with a decent total gym equipment thing. There's no business center, but there is a public computer by the front desk, and you can print out boarding passes, etc. (for $1 per page). The price was unbelievable for a NYC hotel: $76 with AAA.

Location is unbeatable. It's walking distance to the Queensboro Plaza subway stop (you can actually see the subway from in front of the hotel). The N and 7 trains go anywhere in Manhattan you want to go, and the 7 train goes right to CitiField for Mets games and it's a very safe station & location to come back to at night (there's an all night gas station/mini mart on the corner next to the hotel - well lit, and makes for better security). Long Island City is basically the "hub" for cabs, so we were able to get a taxi to the airport from right in front of the hotel and waited less than 5 minutes. There are no restaurants nearby, unless you're up for a looong walk up to Broadway. Turn right and walk a few more blocks and there are fabulous restaurants.

This neighborhood is in the midst of a major gentrification - new high-end apartment buildings are being built, and it's going to be a "hot" area before long. I expect the price will go up then, but for now you can't beat the price and you certainly can't beat the location - it was actually faster to get to midtown from this hotel than from the Upper West side!

Our room was a corner room and was quite large, probably one of the largest rooms I've stayed in in NYC. Flat screen tv, and a small microwave and mini fridge in the cabinet. Free wi-fi. The staff was helpful, and the breakfast buffet more than adequate.

I only have a few minor complaints, and it's not really the hotel's fault: the breakfast buffet got messy really fast. They need to have someone doing more cleanup more quickly. They also need to post a few signs for the guests: #1 to make sure and spray the waffle makers with spray before pouring the batter. I saw several people skip this step and as a result the waffles stuck/burned, the machines ended up out of service, etc. And #2: "One piece of fruit per person please." We saw people walking out the door with literally handsfulls of bananas. RUDE! (not the hotel's fault obviously). And finally, they should consider a more "formal" baggage check situation. To leave your bags, you just put them over to the side of the desk and leave them there basically unattended. Anyone could walk out with someone else's bag. Even if there's no closet or room to lock the bags up, they should give out claim checks and not let you take your bag without matching the claim checks.

We were thrilled with the hotel, the price and the location and definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, IN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

My wife and I spent 5 days in NYC earlier this month. Found a good package deal for return flights from Indianapolis and this hotel on Expedia and never looked back.

Location is not on Manhattan, but this shouldn't bother anyone looking to be close to everything since it's as if you're right there - just two subway stops from Central Park, 10 min from Times Sq. The subway station is also very close - a 3-4 min walk from the hotel with N and W lines taking you to throughout Manhattan so there were no problems getting around.

The surroundings never felt unsafe, but we weren't coming back very late at night so can't tell about what that might feel like.

Breakfast was very good and we only experienced the breakfast room being crowded on one rainy morning.

Room was very nice and a huge plus is the fact that this is a rather new hotel - there's no way you'd be able to find something close to this value for money on Manhattan.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

The hotel is new and the rooms are nice enough, but the location is terrible, the staff is unfriendly, and the security precautions are non-existent. Anyone can walk in off the street anytime of the day or night (as others have noted, the location is not the greatest--mostly strip clubs, sex shops, and a taxi dispatch yard). The limit for me was when I asked to leave my suitcase with the front desk after check out and was told that there was no place to store luggage. I was free to leave my suitcase sitting in the (unsecured) lobby, but no one would be responsible for it. The hotel is cheap, but in the future I would spend a few more bucks for a more conveniently located and more secure place.

Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

This is a brand new hotle at a great rpice (I made my reservation directly on their web-site which had a better rate than Priceline). Great room and perfect location to get into the city. Nice free breakfast and breakfast room. My only complaint is that I came back about 1:30 a.m. and walked right into the lobby and the desk clerk never looked up and noticed someone had just walked in...he was too busy on his computer. I went straightup to my room unnoticed. However, during the day, the clerks always noticed me entering. Better night security is needed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY

Address: 4034 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens, NY Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, NY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.