We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location for price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is not bad at all. Our family of four (2 kids) stayed here for 2 nights while seeing the city. On previous trips we've stayed near Times Square but wanted to save a bit of money this time and this hotel was reasonably priced and in a great location for catching the Subway. It was barely 2 blocks away and only a few stops to Times Square. I never felt in danger in this area at all. The hotel is by no means the best hotel we've stayed in but we had no major complaints at all. We had a large room with king bed and separate sleeping area and a pull-out couch for the kids. The elevator was pretty small and the breakfast was standard for this chain. Also, finding a hotel with breakfast in NYC is rare in itself. The one issue with this place is you park a 1/2 block down in a lot that they pile the cars in. We did feel a bit nervous about this. Normally when we travel we lock up any valuables in our car but we couldn't do it in this circumstance so we were stuck carrying a backpack around with the ipad, the kids DS's and things like that. So keep that in mind if you stay here. There was no safe in our room.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    544
    234
    96
    87
See reviews for
337
498
95
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Dark room and so so bathroom. AC emits stench frequently. Breakfast not good, bugs in breakfast area, pretty small area as breakfast hall makes it tough to get a table. Location is good in terms of connectivity with subway and the street also looked ok.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my brother for our city trip of 5 nights. Was very optimistic upon arrival because of all the "bad" reviews I had read beforehand. We got there a bit before check-in time and were told that our room would be ready in half an hour (still before official check-in time) we stayed because there was no secure luggage storage and were pleasantly surprised when the gentleman came to tell us our room was ready in just 10 minutes.

Will list some pro's and con's here for you to be a bit more clear.
Pro's:
- bed was very good
- spacious rooms
- good sized fridge (with freezer compartment) and microwave were a nice addition
- it was clean overall
- shower and bathroom were fine

Con's:
- no secure luggage space (or at least a tag system or something?!)
- fire alarm was missing in the room
- room cleaning wasn't really cleaning but more a quick sweep


And specifically about the breakfast: was sooo pleasantly surprised after the bad reviews. OK the area was too small and they could have had more staff refilling (or at least more refills) but the foods were fresh, it was clean, and there were plenty of options to choose from: donuts/pastries, eggs, yoghurt, breads, cereal etc.... :)

Booked with our Carlton gold member card and this hotel was definitely not up to usual standards.
So, overall our experience with this hotel was good - definitely an ok hotel right outside the busy area, near two subway stations.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here after flight was cancelled. Not a bad hotel choice, especially considering I booked it for $100 on expedia when everything was $300-400 night. It's 5 minutes train to downtown Manhattan, place is very, very clean. I was surprised by some of the reviews on here. The staff is also very nice and accommodating. Room was large, up just a couple of steps to the first floor. They have breakfast for free for guests in the morning which was a nice layout of choices. I left for the airport at 6:30 and the food was already there for the eating.

Room was a king sized bed, adequate shower and amenities. Only downside I had was the television wouldn't turn on (dead remote batteries) and a switch was missing off one of the lamps by the bed. Internet speed was more than adequate and no knock offs from the internet. Also plenty of plugs in the room for charging electronics, which is always nice. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel after having read some of the reviews.

It's an easy 20 minute cab ride to the airports (about $25 cab fare). There is also a little store just a door or two down from the hotel for snacks and anything you might forget like shaving cream.

For being this close to the City, I'd probably come back. Place would be very good for people with kids that don't want to pay NYC prices but still be very close to the City or Brooklyn.

Room Tip: I was in 109, was right at the base of steps - 4 steps and out the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zarautz, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect location to the subway. In less than 10minutes we were at Times Square.
The negative is dirt!! When check-in the room was not done. Every night dirty sheets with stains, shower dirty, and found a cockroach on the breakfast room

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are very sorry about this experience that you had during your stay with us. This issue will not be tolerated and rest assured that this will be discussed with our housekeeping staff and we will see to it that this is resolved and prevented from happening again. We apologize for any inconvenience these issues had caused you and we do hope that you’ll give us another chance to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well the hotel is value for money and is very close to the subway. There is a laundrette close by if you need to wash clothes too. The only issue we had really was with the breakfast... Half the time the hot stuff was all gone and when it wasn't it was cold! But all in all it was a good place to stop. The fridge and microwave were a welcome addition to the room.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this concern you had during your stay with us. We will definitely look into the quality of breakfast we serve and we will make sure that it will be improved on. We do hope that you still enjoyed your stay despite of this issue and we hope that you’ll consider staying with us again in the future. Thank you so much for your business and have a blessed day ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.