We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Problems, Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Problems, Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Booked Hotel over a year in advance for our honeymoon, paid more for the city view room, having read some reviews in the year since booking I was slightly nervous over what to expect but there was no issues what so ever.

We were given a room on the 8th floor with great views over to the Manhattan side, yes a building has gone up i'm guessing since this hotel was built which has blocked off a bit of the skyline but still had good views to wake up to every morning,

We Stayed for 2 weeks from 29th April-13th May and didn't encounter any problem, The Room was cleaned daily, on occasions we left the "Do Not Disturb" sign hanging as we wern't quite ready to leave hotel when we could hear cleaning service coming, when we left we took sign in and came back later to see the cleaning service had come back and cleaned the room, which was a nice surprise.

We had loads of bags (souvenirs, gifts etc) pilling up over the course of the 2 weeks which we left in the room daily (there is no safe or anything like that) and nothing was stolen or looked to of been moved or looked through (I had read about things being stolen previously)

The actual room was adequate for our needs, Bed was big King size that was comfy, NO BUGS of any kind found during our stay, TV was good with a big selection of channels.

Fresh towels were provided daily and shower was clean, water pressure was OK, not the best in the world but certainly not bad enough to make a fuss over.

The Breakfast room wasn't as small as I was expecting having read the reviews, Yes its not huge but it does seat I'd guess at least 40-45 guests I'd guess at, and is open from 6-10am, so its not like everyone goes down at the same time, we got a table a few times but found taking our food back to our room more enjoyable and relaxing anyway and even if there was a table free we choose not to sit in the Breakfast room.

The food available was Ok and consisted mainly of Bagels, doughnuts, Cereals, Eggs, Fruit, Yogurt, waffles, pastries and toast.

The Staff were friendly and helpful when we needed anything, which was only a few times, they helped organize our taxi to the airport when our originally booked one never turned up.

When we entered and left the hotel daily there was always someone on the front desk available if needed, sure they didn't always greet you when you arrived and left the hotel but not a problem for us, we let them to go about there jobs and they left us to go about our day.

The area is safe, we arrived at queensboro plaza subway between the hours of 11-Midnight on quite a few occasions and the 5 minute walk back to the hotel was never an issue that late, always felt safe enough and never saw anything dodgy/bad going on.

Its not a great area for things to do but you can be in Manhattan in 5 mins and times square in 10 on the subway.

There are a few places to eat around the subway station, the dunkin donuts as mentioned by others, there is Mexican resturant and a few others dotted around, I'd also recommend Lucky Pizza just opposite the dunkin donuts on the the other side of the road, we went in twice and the people in there were very friendly and remembered us from the visit the previous week and were asking us how we were doing and getting on etc.

The 24/7 Garage next to the hotel was also very useful for picking up snacks and drinks and were friendly enough.

All in all we had a fabulous times in NYC and the hotel experience certainly added to that, I would recommend and would think about staying again should we visit the city again, the price was almost a $1,000 cheaper then staying in Manhattan for 2 weeks, and for the cost of 2 unlimited 7 Day Subway passes at $30 each we were in Manhattan in 10 mins.

If your on a budget or just looking to save some money or to have more spending money you can't go wrong.

Great Time

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor (I think there 9 floors) with a city view, highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    439
    163
    54
    63
See reviews for
251
407
72
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We arrived at 1:30 PM, fully expecting to leave our bags until check-in at 3, and after I pointed out I was a Club Carlson member, we were given a room anyway. However, the room was on the lowest level, at the end of the hall, next to an extremely busy stairway. The door to this stairway did not have a damper on it and slammed shut quite loudly every time someone used it, which was constantly. I went back and asked to change rooms, but was told the better rooms were 'sold out'. The desk clerk assured me if there were any available in the coming week, he would alert me.

We stayed four nights and never heard another word regarding a room change. I made my reservation nearly five months previously, and was very disappointed that a Club Carlson member could not get a better room with so much notice between reservation and arrival.

In addition, the housekeeping staff did a good job, in general, but a couple of days we were missing coffee, or the coffee maker was not cleaned. Our floor carpet was also somewhat dingy. Also, the staff turns off your A/C when you are gone and in our case this meant returning to a very warm room. To make matters worse, the A/C stopped working after two days. We reported the problem but fortunately the weather turned cooler and we were able to open the windows to cool down the room.

This hotel seems to have alot of large groups, which makes the lobby and breakfast rooms very busy as well as the elevators slow. Although the price and location makes this hotel tempting, I am not sure I could recommend it to anyone except a group or individual who books the more expensive, better located rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms near the stairways and ice maker and elevator. Very noisy with so many groups at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I made reservations 12 months in advance for 8 nights in April for my wife and me. I got a fantastic senior rate ($81 per night plus tax, which came to about $99 per night). BTW the price to reserve the SAME room had doubled by the time we actually checked in. I had read all the reviews about the crowded dining area, the dirty sheets, the dirty rugs, the bedbugs, the theft, etc. etc. I discovered that most of these alleged problems were either non-existent or exaggerated. So here is the real scoop from someone who just spent 8 nights there on the 7th floor, in a room with a view of the front of the hotel. I chose not to pay extra to see the Manhattan skyline because we have seen it many times. BTW, it is my understanding that if you really must have a room with a Manhattan view, then you MUST stay on either the 7th or 8th floor. Now a blow-by-blow description of our stay ...

THE ROOM: was cleaned daily; the sheets were not dirty nor were they torn or worn; we had a flat screen TV which we did not watch at all; one of the blackout curtains was broken and so the sun shined brightly into the room early each morning; we could not lock either window for safety (but being on the 7th floor it really didn't matter); we had a king bed with a somewhat soft mattress but it was fine; there were NO bedbugs; the carpeting looked clean; the bathroom was clean; the tub did not drain well; the reading lamps were far too dim for comfortable reading (come on, how much more does it cost to provide a few extra watts?): there were plenty of electrical wall outlets though; there was only ONE chair, and it was a rolling desk chair (we really needed TWO chairs since there were TWO of us); no one stole anything from our room (I actually left my PC out on the desk every day while we were in the city, and we left a daily tip for the cleaning staff - I am sure this hotel pays the absolute minimum wage to them); we had to ask the cleaning staff (in Spanish - thanks to Google translate) to leave extra coffee for the coffee maker; there was a HUGE water stain on the ceiling in the bathroom that needs to be painted over; the bathroom door would not lock properly.

THE BREAKFAST: typical Country Inn items, but the orange juice really was Tang (or Hi-C); many items (especially bagels and cream) were frequently out and the hotel was too slow to replenish; it was not really good food, but it was food, including bananas. Seating was inadequate - I think the hotel was filled (however, I did notice that the is room to add 4 or 5 more tables for two people which would help); tables were cleaned off too slowly; there are other options for breakfast which I will mention later.

THE HOTEL: yes, the lobby is not brand new, but we did not come to NYC to sit in the lobby, nor to swim in the non-existent pool. On three occasions, someone (probably a kid) spilled some breakfast liquid (milk?) on the floor of one of the two elevators. All three spills were never cleaned up by staff. UNACCEPTABLE!

THE AREA: it is SAFE; it reminded us of streets in Rome. The subway is only 2 blocks away. To get there ... exit the hotel, turn right, walk 1.5 blocks, turn left, cross the street and walk another half block. Here you will see a Dunkin Donuts (good for a quick breakfast) and a very nice Mexican restaurant with fantastic prices (they serve breakfast too). To get to the subway, take the nearby stairs to the pedestrian overpass. Note there are THREE trains you should become familiar with: #7 which takes you to Grand Central and beyond, and N,Q,or R which take you to Central Park (one stop away at 59th and Lexington). Queensboro Plaza is multi-level; the top level has trains coming FROM Manhattan; the level below that is where you catch trains TO Manhattan. Very, very convenient.

OTHER TIDBITS: we landed at La Guardia and took a taxi ($18 + tip). We took the Air Train ($5) to Kennedy for our return flight. Ask the attendant how to catch the Air Train, otherwise the cab fare will be a fixed $45 + tip. We bought weekly passes ($30 each); and we bought daily fares(4.50) or single trip (2.50) for the extra days of travel

I HOPE THIS HELPS! In summary, this is not the nicest Country Inn in the country, but if the price is right, I would stay here again (but NOT pay $170 per night). The hotel and the room had lots of minor problems, but nothing serious.

Room Tip: The only way to get a room with a view is pay extra to stay on the Manhattan side, AND request the 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Avoid at all cost!..Our room has bugs, and it was dirty on the floor and also in the bathroom. Room was entered even though I hang "Do Not Disturb" sign. Breakfast was awkful, waffle had way too much baking powder put in and very watery. Bad coffees and items were not kept cold, and staffs were rude as well and not helpful. It was a stress stays.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

When we booked our stay here, approx 9 months in advance, we asked for a room with a view and away from the lifts. When we arrived, we were given a room on the first floor with a view of a brick wall and power cables, and next to the lift.... When we asked to be moved, we were offered a room next to an icemaking machine which seemed to run 24/7. One of the cleaning staff advised us to stay with what we were originally given, so we did. The free breakfasts were pretty awful, other than the cornies and bagels and the location, while close to the subway station, is dodgy and lacks locals restaurants. Staff were moderately helpful, but will avoid this place next time in NY.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I agree with most of the other comments here. Breakfast was a little disappointing with a non-working juice machine, no cold items such as yogurt, and the oddity of a refrigerator being used as bread storage.

My biggest concern, however, was the policy of making a copy of my drivers license. When I asked why, I was not given a reason, only that they keep it on file for 3 years. What could possibly happen 2.5 years from now that would cause the hotel to go back and look for my DL? How is this data secured? Who has access to it?

Perhaps I'm overreacting. I travel on business nearly weekly (for 10 years now), and this is the first time that my DL was scanned/copied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stay at the Country Inn & Suites on Crescent Street just a week ago.
Lobby looks & feels dirty. Does not look dusted and furniture is old and dirty.
Bedroom room size small. Poor water pressure in bathroom. Room and bathroom did not have a clean feel. Poor lighting (room and bathroom). No magnifying mirror on wall (ladies love this). Toilet paper holder uncomfortable reach from toilet (have to reach backward). Breakfast eggs and sausage looked gross (rubbery) so we passed. We had a bagel but we did not even toast it as the small breakfast area was so crowded and people were bumping into each other. No tables left to sit at, so we took our bagel to the room. Window in room needs replaced (condensation on windows). Lastly, workout room very small and feels dirty. The positive: this is a good location to catch the subway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.