We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy, but a good alternative to save $” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but a good alternative to save $”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Let's be honest, this isn't the Ritz. The area is drab, the staff is indifferent and the breakfast is mediocre at best. But, the location is outstanding. It's a 5 minute walk downhill to the Queensboro Plaza stop. If you are looking to save $ in NYC, this is a great option and the reason I give it 4 stars instead of 3. Let's face it, you aren't visiting NYC to stay in a hotel room and will be using the subway anyway. There is a Mobil gas station next door for toiletries and snacks. The hotel is a $20 cab ride from LaGuardia. The rooms are a little on the smaller side but not cramped. The TV doesn't have a whole lot of options if you want to lounge around. The walls are a little thin.

If I was looking for value, this hotel would be up there in my choices. If you want luxury and pampering, stay far far away.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    389
    145
    45
    58
See reviews for
212
367
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

On the positive side, this is a great location for being able to get in to Manhattan in 15 minutes flat.

However, nothing else impressed at all. As I see mentioned in other reviews, the sheets were stained. How can this be such a consistent problem? One of the benefits of being a Club Carlson gold member is a "In-Room Welcome Gift", which this hotel did not provide at all.

There were cars honking all night keeping us up, although you can't blame the hotel on that one, just being that close to Manhattan.

Breakfast was OK. Bagels, cereal, donuts, eggs and potatoes. However, the eggs were cold, the juice machine was broken, and the cream cheese was being left out at room temperature for way too long to be safe.

Given this experience, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, online customer support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I usually stay at this hotel if I have friends who can not afford expensive rates on Manhattan.
This hotel has great location - just 1 block away from queensboro plaza.
You should not expect too much from breakfast, It's better eat outside.
While rooms are quite big, it better to book with the view on Manhattan.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Pros: Good deal $135 per night; breakfast included (everyday was the same thing, scrambled eggs with ham, boiled eggs, sausages, oatmeal, waffles, doughnuts, bagels, muffins, bananas, juices, coffee, hot cocoa); free wifi (excellent strength); very close to Manhattan/Times Square (The Queensborough Plaza subway stop was 2 blocks away from the hotel)

We arrived early and was able to check in without a hassle 11:35 a.m.

The room was clean and was a good size

Cons:
The room was showing some wear and tear, but not too drastic.
For some reason we didn't put the heater on but the room was overly warm; so we had to open up the windows to cool it down a bit.

Overall if I cannot get a good rate in Times Square, I'll stay here again at a good rate and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I booked here because I read good and great reviews about it, however, I was really disappointed.
First, there is no parking at the hotel, the good thing is that there is a lot across the street ($20/24 hours). Then I needed a new sheets, I was told they were out of sheets and could not provide not even one. Then we went to sleep just to find out that there were bed bugs all over. My wife is allergic to these things and gets big bumps wherever she is bitten, needles to say we couldn't sleep. When I reported it to front desk I was told this was the first time they had such an issue. I don't believe it. I had reserved for two nights, but I will only be staying for the remainder of this night and go to a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family of three stayed in this hotel in order to enjoy a quieter night away from the city on a recent weekend trip to New York. Arriving in the morning, we planned to change clothes and store our bags until our room was prepared. We were instructed to just leave our bags in the lobby, giving no information on how many bags we had or having them marked for security.Upon check-out we could have taken more bags, as the bags were not secure. It was expected that we trust the other people staying in the hotel and people who may have walked in off of the street. Once returning at night, the roll-away bed we ordered was not in the room and when it finally came, we made the bed ourselves only to find the sheets soiled. It was really pretty disgusting, making you feel uncomfortable with what you can't see on the sheets. A bathroom towel that we used also was dirty and had dried brown rice stuck to it. The bathroom itself had some mold forming in the chalk of the tub, hair balls in the corners of the floor and sticky hairdryer unit that was too revolting to use.
We had an unexpected wake-up call at 7 am, must have been a changing of shifts because there was very loud talking for about 15 minutes in the stairwell, and people walking past the room. Don't get a room on the second floor! That's practically their main floor. Breakfast was a disaster, don't be fooled just because it's free. There were no open tables at 8 am and the food was seriously lacking. Fighting to get a bagel in the toaster was like a real-life Hunger Games, and the orange juice was a pre-mixed Tang drink. The coffee wasn't worth the wait, and you only were allotted about 4 ounces in a styrofoam cup. DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY. Spend the money in the city, and feel safe around numerous other vacationers/tourists. Those hotels will compete more, and serve you better!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwells, as employees will wake you up at 7am with their talking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We chose this hotel because we got a good deal, the rate included breakfast and it wasn't far from Manhattan.
We arrived very late at night and since the hotel was fully booked we got the last available room which was located just in front of the breakfast room. We expected the breakfast area to be very busy and noisy in the morning so we returned to the reception to get another room but we were told that this wasn't possible since they were fully booked that night. The room was very noisy, we could hear the refrigerator and the lift running all night and in the morning it got very busy because of all the people having breakfast. We asked to be moved the following day again and the receptionist gave us another room straight away, we got much better and more quiet room in a higher floor.
For New York standard the rooms are large enough, they are very clean, the beds are really comfortable, we had a really good sleep. The breakfast area is quite small considering the number of guests, if you come late there might not be much food left but it's enough to get you started for the day. The complimentary wifi is fast enough. The hotel is located just short walk from the subway station, it's just a short ride to get to Manhattan. There is a small convenience shop just next to the hotel, we felt very safe in the area.
We were very happy with the staff, they were always very nice trying to accommodate our requests, they let us stay in the room an hour longer than the check out time. After checking out you can leave the bags in the lobby but it really looked quite unsafe since the bags aren't secure and the staff doesn't watch who is taking what.
Overall we would recommend this hotel, if you get a decent rate it's really good value and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.