We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten day - Never clean the sink ......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Venezia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ten day - Never clean the sink ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Positive: Location close to several Metro lines. Breakfast better. Wi-Fi is good and fast.
Negative: Total lack of cleaning. No cleaning the bathroom sink in 10 days. Bathroom small and without support for personal items. The sheets changed only a few times and also the new often smeared. Breakfast tables dirty and never cleaned by staff, lack of food supply before the end of time. Elevator noisy that needs revision to the motors that vibrate the entire property every time it moves and feels up in the rooms

Room Tip: prenotate una De Luxe, almeno avete il supporto per appoggiare qualcosa in bagno, altrimenti vi tova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We apologize for your bathroom not being cleaned regularly during your stay as the issue will be addressed with our cleaning crew. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations as we will address all of your concerns.

If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    544
    234
    96
    87
See reviews for
337
498
95
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Location: The hotel is In Long Island City in an area that seems quite run down but on the up with lots of new building and renovation in the area. Although I did not feel unsafe, my wife did fel quite anxious at night. However, the hotel is located close (under 10 minutes walk) to three subway stations which mean you travel to most areas quickly and can be in Manhattan in 10 minutes. Apart from some diners/delis at the cheaper end of the market, there are no restraunts in the immediate area but the subway can take you to anything of you choice.

Hotel/Rooms: I heard that there were great views from one side of the hotel on upper floors. Unfotunately not only were there no rooms for us on the upper floors but nothing on the Manhattan side. So our view was of the road and a taxi garage. The road is quite busy during the day from early morning and as most New Yorkers like to liberally use their horn, it is quite noisy. We had upgraded to a whirlpool suite and the room and bed were large and comfortable but there were certain small deatils that dragged the room down from above average: Not all the whirpool jets worked properly; there was a small patch of mould above the ceiling in the shower and the sink plug in the bathroom did not seal correctly and all the water would run out after a minute. I reported the latter issue on the first day but it had still not been resolved by the time we left. The breakfast room is small (and can get crowded at busy times) with the breakfast itself basic but adequate. A couple of the staff I encountered were very friendly but generally i found them the rest quite cold and aloof.

In conclusion, this is an okay basic hotel with a great location for commuting into Manhattan but loses a star for a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just a few blocks from three subway lines, you can get to Manhattan museums, other attractions, and LGA or JFK quite easily. Breakfast is free and ample, though seating can get crowded at peak times. The local neighborhood is not the finest, but it's safe, and there are some decent budget places to eat nearby. The staff was very courteous and helpful. For the budget-conscious, this is an excellent option for a NYC visit.

Room Tip: Next time, I would make sure my room was not next to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The first time was with a girlfriend in 2011, and when I returned with my husband I decided to go to the same place as I knew the area.
Firstly, you get what you pay for. It's medium budget so don't expect The Ritz. However, we found it to be perfectly clean inside, which was our priority. The area may look a little dodgy, but we went out after 10pm on two occasions looking for food and never felt worried or threatened. The free wi-Fi worked perfectly and was a God-send. The breakfast is fairly basic, but we were happy with tea and toast, followed by a yogurt. We didn't find the front desk staff to be overly friendly, but on the one occasion we had a problem ( sink in bathroom blocked ) it was fixed very quickly. Our room was immediately next to the breakfast room which we felt might have been an issue with noise in the morning, but it really didn't bother us. City views would have been a bonus rather than an alleyway out the back, but we're easy going and in no way did it spoil our trip. We have both said we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel in located conveniently 5 minutes walk from the subway station. Our room, at the end of the corridor was very quiet, an unexpected surprise. both room and bathroom are kept very clean. Our bed is comfortable and, although the rooms are smaller than other hotels, it has everything we need. The rooms with king beds have city views. rooms with two queen beds face the neighborhood. We are staying at the later but we heard no noise from the street below. Breakfast is complementary but very popular so I would be up early to fight the crowd of people. Te continental breakfast includes waffles, cereal, eggs and sausage (I avoided those), yogurts, bananas, etc. as expected of s continental breakfast. This is a second time in this hotel and we recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour of the East Coast of the USA, from the UK, in November 2011.

This hotel was really lovely, newly refurbished at the time, and best of all – their free Wi-Fi worked and breakfast was included! The area it was based in looked a bit dodgy to me, but it turned out to be completely safe and fine.

It is very well located, being within a couple of minutes walk of a subway station, and an assortment of deli's, Dunkin' Donuts, etc. There is also a gas station almost next door for essentials such as bottled water, soda, snacks etc.

The room was small but really nice, comfortable and clean, and the staff there are super-friendly - they printed out our boarding passes for us once I had checked in online for our flight home!

Breakfast was plentiful and good - sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels & cream cheese, yoghurt, mini muffins, donuts, coffee, and orange juice, although you had to get there early to nab the sweet pastries as they tended to go really quickly. There was also a waffle maker but that was constantly in use so we didn't get to try them at this time.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

- This hotel does not recognize Club Carlson Elites. I was told by the front desk that Gold Elites do not receive a room upgrade, late checkout nor an in room welcome gift. This was a first for us!
-The front of the CI&S LI City had filled black garbage bags stacked on either side of the building in plain sight, some 30+ on one side and 13 on the other with cardboard boxes stacked on top of the pile. It wouldn't surprise me if they were still there. Several four inch rebar spikes were sticking out of the cement which I felt were quite dangerous. As for exterior decoration, ten large plastic planters were only growing WEEDS.
-With the exception of egg patties and sausage, if you are a carb addict (bagels, donuts, cold cereal, waffles, etc.) you'll love breakfast. They did have bananas one morning but they went fast.
- Best part of the room was a comfortable bed. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower was never wiped down/cleaned from the previous guest(s) as there were water spots on the tile and stains in the grout. The hotel definitely does not use fabric softener on their towels. Bath amenities are only second rate at best. Never could get the TV to turn on with the remote and it took quite a few clicks to advance channels or volume.
- Front desk personnel were neither friendly nor particularly helpful during either check-in or check-out. I was given the distinct impression that dealing with guests was an imposition of their time. All answers to my very few questions were curt and short. Several of the other employees spoke no English.
- Lastly, it seemed to me that this hotel's management is more focused on milking this property for all its revenue than providing a pleasurable experience for its guests. This is quite evident by the lack of attention to easily correctable details and the poor service given. My previous stays at other Country Inn and Suites ranged from very good to excellent. I would rate this hotel a "POOR" at best!

Room Tip: Rear facing high floor rooms overlook the Big Apple. When I requested such a room on check-in at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff and the lack of choices for the breakfast. As a Gold Member you should not only be recognize for your Status but also upgraded if available and we sincerely apologize that the agent was unbale to do so We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at 1800-967-9182.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 677 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City In Queens Long Island City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.