We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Walnut Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value, pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel in located conveniently 5 minutes walk from the subway station. Our room, at the end of the corridor was very quiet, an unexpected surprise. both room and bathroom are kept very clean. Our bed is comfortable and, although the rooms are smaller than other hotels, it has everything we need. The rooms with king beds have city views. rooms with two queen beds face the neighborhood. We are staying at the later but we heard no noise from the street below. Breakfast is complementary but very popular so I would be up early to fight the crowd of people. Te continental breakfast includes waffles, cereal, eggs and sausage (I avoided those), yogurts, bananas, etc. as expected of s continental breakfast. This is a second time in this hotel and we recommend it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    442
    164
    56
    63
See reviews for
253
409
73
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of a tour of the East Coast of the USA, from the UK, in November 2011.

This hotel was really lovely, newly refurbished at the time, and best of all – their free Wi-Fi worked and breakfast was included! The area it was based in looked a bit dodgy to me, but it turned out to be completely safe and fine.

It is very well located, being within a couple of minutes walk of a subway station, and an assortment of deli's, Dunkin' Donuts, etc. There is also a gas station almost next door for essentials such as bottled water, soda, snacks etc.

The room was small but really nice, comfortable and clean, and the staff there are super-friendly - they printed out our boarding passes for us once I had checked in online for our flight home!

Breakfast was plentiful and good - sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, bagels & cream cheese, yoghurt, mini muffins, donuts, coffee, and orange juice, although you had to get there early to nab the sweet pastries as they tended to go really quickly. There was also a waffle maker but that was constantly in use so we didn't get to try them at this time.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

- This hotel does not recognize Club Carlson Elites. I was told by the front desk that Gold Elites do not receive a room upgrade, late checkout nor an in room welcome gift. This was a first for us!
-The front of the CI&S LI City had filled black garbage bags stacked on either side of the building in plain sight, some 30+ on one side and 13 on the other with cardboard boxes stacked on top of the pile. It wouldn't surprise me if they were still there. Several four inch rebar spikes were sticking out of the cement which I felt were quite dangerous. As for exterior decoration, ten large plastic planters were only growing WEEDS.
-With the exception of egg patties and sausage, if you are a carb addict (bagels, donuts, cold cereal, waffles, etc.) you'll love breakfast. They did have bananas one morning but they went fast.
- Best part of the room was a comfortable bed. The bathroom left a lot to be desired. The shower was never wiped down/cleaned from the previous guest(s) as there were water spots on the tile and stains in the grout. The hotel definitely does not use fabric softener on their towels. Bath amenities are only second rate at best. Never could get the TV to turn on with the remote and it took quite a few clicks to advance channels or volume.
- Front desk personnel were neither friendly nor particularly helpful during either check-in or check-out. I was given the distinct impression that dealing with guests was an imposition of their time. All answers to my very few questions were curt and short. Several of the other employees spoke no English.
- Lastly, it seemed to me that this hotel's management is more focused on milking this property for all its revenue than providing a pleasurable experience for its guests. This is quite evident by the lack of attention to easily correctable details and the poor service given. My previous stays at other Country Inn and Suites ranged from very good to excellent. I would rate this hotel a "POOR" at best!

Room Tip: Rear facing high floor rooms overlook the Big Apple. When I requested such a room on check-in at 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Customer Care at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from the staff and the lack of choices for the breakfast. As a Gold Member you should not only be recognize for your Status but also upgraded if available and we sincerely apologize that the agent was unbale to do so We want to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive the best “Yes I Can!” service. To discuss your concern further, please contact Corporate Customer Care at 1800-967-9182.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

just got back from our trip where we stayed in the country inn and suites and found that it met our needs very well. we were looking for something that was reasonably priced (I know in NYC that is a relative term) safe, clean and with easy subway access and this met all of those requirements. I did not ask for a higher up room as some have suggested so no special view, but that again was not an issue for us. the continental breakfast opens at 6 during the week, 7 on weekends and was typical of most. It was clean and food was ok, good enough to get us started on our day. when we got there early the food was plentiful and there were places to sit, get there after about 7:30 and finding a spot to sit may be an issue, and you may have to wait for them to fill some things up. they do replentish things but not exactly in a speedy fashion. there is not much in the way of food close to the hotel, several pizza and chinese places do deliver to the hotel, but the queensborough subway station is just two blocks away and four stops from times square. there is a gas station/convenience story next door, the sign says 24/7 but twice we did not get back till around midnight from the show and it looked like just the gas station was open at that time, not the story.

we just spent the day in the city and the hotel was just fine to crash, sleep, eat breakfast in and head out again. there is a close parking lot for 13.60 a day plus tax, but we got lucky and got a spot right outside the hotel in the street where we were able to keep the car for the 4 days we were there and there were no issues. the walk to the subway station in the dark was fine, not exactly suburbia, but we did not have any problems with it.

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor and had no issues, although no view if that is important to you. ice maschi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel met all of our expectations - very good price, clean, solid beds, decent breakfast, and most of all, a very quick and easy point of access to all the attractions in Manhattan via the Queensboro Plaza subway. If you're looking for a typical four-star NYC hotel experience, this isn't it, but we enjoyed our time at this hotel as a place to sleep. The area is improving as there are new condos popping up down the street, and my wife and I both felt safe there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Manhattan skyline. No, the street scenes directly below isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Since the opening of the Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, I am used to stay in this hotel since it is a great value in term of the accommodation price - compared to the outrageous accommodation prices in Manhattan - and since it is a convenient location - 5 minutes walking distance from Queensboro Plaza station which enables you to be 2 minutes later in Manhattan.

However, with the time, I noticed a kind of slackening with the service, with the cleanliness of the bathroom, with the breakfast and the lack of courtesy from the staff.
During my latest and last stay, not only because of the noise generated by rude clients in the middle of the night - like Spring break - but also by the recurrent observations mentioned above, I were disappointed to notice that this hotel went even lower than my previous stays and I took the decision to skip this place in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer care at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We do also apologize for the noise you experienced as we understand a good night of sleep is very important for a hotel guest. To discuss your concern further, please contact us directly at ccare@carlsonrezidor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I booked this hotel early just to make sure that we had a decent place in case we couldn't find something in Manhattan to a fait price. After reading the reviews I didn't expect much, but we were absolutely satisfied. I called the hotel a week before we arrived and requested a room as high as possible and away from the elevators. We got a room on the 9th floor (the top floor) in the corner and with a great view.
The room was big enough for the two of us and we slept very well in the bed. It was a nice room with fridge, free wifi and microwave oven. The breakfast was ok, but the breakfast room was not big enough for all the guest, so a few days we had to wait a little before we could get a table.
I believe that we made a very good deal choosing this hotel. It was easy to get there from JFK, subway was realy close and it only took 10 minuts to get to Times Square, staff was friendly and helpful and we had no issues about the cleaning. We stayed in may and I'm convinced that we saved at least $100 per night compared to a equal hotel in Manhattan, so would definately go back next time we go to New York

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.