We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
K-W
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Meets all expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This hotel met all of our expectations - very good price, clean, solid beds, decent breakfast, and most of all, a very quick and easy point of access to all the attractions in Manhattan via the Queensboro Plaza subway. If you're looking for a typical four-star NYC hotel experience, this isn't it, but we enjoyed our time at this hotel as a place to sleep. The area is improving as there are new condos popping up down the street, and my wife and I both felt safe there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Manhattan skyline. No, the street scenes directly below isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    393
    145
    45
    58
See reviews for
213
369
67
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Since the opening of the Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, I am used to stay in this hotel since it is a great value in term of the accommodation price - compared to the outrageous accommodation prices in Manhattan - and since it is a convenient location - 5 minutes walking distance from Queensboro Plaza station which enables you to be 2 minutes later in Manhattan.

However, with the time, I noticed a kind of slackening with the service, with the cleanliness of the bathroom, with the breakfast and the lack of courtesy from the staff.
During my latest and last stay, not only because of the noise generated by rude clients in the middle of the night - like Spring break - but also by the recurrent observations mentioned above, I were disappointed to notice that this hotel went even lower than my previous stays and I took the decision to skip this place in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer care at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We do also apologize for the noise you experienced as we understand a good night of sleep is very important for a hotel guest. To discuss your concern further, please contact us directly at ccare@carlsonrezidor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I booked this hotel early just to make sure that we had a decent place in case we couldn't find something in Manhattan to a fait price. After reading the reviews I didn't expect much, but we were absolutely satisfied. I called the hotel a week before we arrived and requested a room as high as possible and away from the elevators. We got a room on the 9th floor (the top floor) in the corner and with a great view.
The room was big enough for the two of us and we slept very well in the bed. It was a nice room with fridge, free wifi and microwave oven. The breakfast was ok, but the breakfast room was not big enough for all the guest, so a few days we had to wait a little before we could get a table.
I believe that we made a very good deal choosing this hotel. It was easy to get there from JFK, subway was realy close and it only took 10 minuts to get to Times Square, staff was friendly and helpful and we had no issues about the cleaning. We stayed in may and I'm convinced that we saved at least $100 per night compared to a equal hotel in Manhattan, so would definately go back next time we go to New York

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our family (2 adults, 8 yr, 10 yr) stayed at the Country Inn for 5 nights in May. The location was great. Very close to 2 subway stations that will get you anywhere in the city. And for much less cost than staying in Manhattan. We used the extra money we saved to go see The Lion King on Broadway. : )

The room itself was ok. It was spacious according to NY standards . It had 2 queen beds to accomodate the 4 of us. The mini fridge also came in handy. It also has a microwave (which we did not use.) On the good side, the bed was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. The water was hot in the bathroom and we did not have any issues with hot showers even with the 4 of us taking showers the same night. On the bad side, I was slightly disappointed. The towel rail in the bathroom was not secure and constantly fell down... the bathroom could have been cleaner... the bedsheets had some stains on it... there was a water stain on the ceiling (we were on the top floor)... and water dripped from the smoke detector when it rained. I did not call the front desk about these concerns because we did not spend very much time in the hotel and we did not want anyone in our room while we were gone. We were only there in the morning when we woke up, and then later in the evening at the end of our day. The breakfast was the typical buffet style with waffles to be expected from this price point of hotels.

I would stay here again. I was just a little disappointed because I was expecting a little better from the reviews I read online.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the fairly high rating on Trip Advisor. Long Island City has few hotels to choose from and my husband and I were wanting to try a different hotel. I will stick to what I'm used to next time, the Four Points Sheraton LIC. I would not stay here again for several reasons. Our bathroom has literally NO counter space. I've got my toiletries spread all over the room because of it. The fitness center is small and has one eliptical, one bike, one treadmill and a weight station. The treadmill is out of order so I used the eliptical, which is also not functioning properly because it said I went 4 miles and burned 98 calories. Pretty sure that's not right. Went down to breakfast and it was slammed with people waiting for tables. Luckily, I was getting my breakfast to go but I still waited in line for the food for at least five minutes and stepped up to a nearly empty breakfast bar. I left with a bagel and one sausage. Forget about getting coffee! That line was about 10 feet long! The view from my room is nasty but I was too cheap to pay for a room with a view of Manhattan, so I got what I paid for in that respect. The housekeeping staff is very loud in the halls and definitely not friendly. I did not let them service my room because of previous guests complaining of theft. Now for the positives....the bed was comfortable. The room is a nice size, unlike many NY hotels, and has a refrigerator and microwave. The shower had great water pressure. The hotel is convenient to the subway station. The staff was semi-friendly. That's about it in a nut shell!

Room Tip: Pay the extra fee for a room with a view. You will not like what you see otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tochigi, Japan
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in total. To conclude, this hotel is very reasonable and convenient, I think.

N, Q, 7 and F MTR stations are located very close and within 10 minutes walk from/to the hotel.
There is a gas station right next which opens 24H, and various kinds of alcohole and snacks are available at the store. However, there is no bottle opnener in the room, so if you plan to buy bottle beers there, make sure to bring or buy a bottle opener in advance. Small bottle openers are also available in the gas station store at around $2.
Breakfast area was always crowded so that I brought a tray from the room and took food and drinks back and ate in the room.

I'm sure that I will come back to this hotel when I visit NY neXt time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We choosed this hotel based on other reviews at Tripadvisor.
The room was great, clean. First night we got a room on the 1st floor. The view was a brick wall but anything else was super. The bed was comfortable, there was a tea-coffee maker, flat screen tv and high speed wi-fi, microwawe, fridge.The only missing item is the in room safe. The only possibility to put your valuables in a safe is at the reception but it is upon availability. (was no available safe when we arrived) The breakfast : enugh to survive but it was not my cup of tea. There was an american coffe from a machine, cereals, bananas, some donuts, bread and the only thing what I liked : the waffle :-) There was also some fried eggs ans some kind of meat balls. That's all. The fruit juice was poor quality it has a kind of "synthetic" feeling.
The price of the room was appr. 60% less than in Manhattan so I accepted the little defects.
The location : excellent! In 2 min to walk there was a metro / train station. From there you can reach all district of Manhattan very easily. Next to the hotel is a gas station with a small shop. you can buy here almost everything. Sandwiches, snacks, fruit, water and chilled beer to.
In every floor there is an ice machine if you need it. Wifi : sometimes work sometimes not but the problem was with our device. (ipad) When it works it was high speed.
We left the hotel for 1 night and we wanted to left our luggage there. By e-mail it was confirmed from Carlson but the receptionist lady first said that it is not possible. When we showed her the confirmation e-mail his boss or colleague said that it is Ok, but only at our own responsibility. (that was fine) So if you have a special request, don't forget to have the confirmation with you) When we come back, we had a room with a view to the city. It was located at the 5th floor. Actually nothing special, I was not impressed. There was a new building wich covered a large part of the view. Maybe in a higher floor or a different location you will have a better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.