We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No rollaways and stolen item from suitcase” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No rollaways and stolen item from suitcase”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here for one week between Christmas and New Year's Day, due to convenient location and affordable price for our family. The reservation was booked many months in advance, with a request of a rollaway for our family of five. Called front desk several times leading up to our trip to confirm rollaway request. I do not believe that this hotel owns a rollaway. When I called to confirm the morning of our arrival, the hotel front desk person announced there was no room for a rollaway in a 2 double bed room. I called to complain to Expedia, since I had booked this with their service and since it was too late to book anywhere else. Expedia called the hotel to ask them about this issue and the hotel agreed to provide a rollaway, based on availability. Well, there never was a rollaway available for the entire length of our one week stay.I believe they agree to the rollaway just to get you to book your reservation, then you get the surprise when you arrive.
Furthermore, and worse, my daughter's purse containing over $150 dollars of cosmetics was stolen from her suitcase on our day of check-out. We had stored our suitcases in another family member's room, since we did not like the idea of the suitcases being held out in the open lobby. During the several hours we were gone that morning, someone opened the suitcase and saw a purse on top, probably expecting to find money and/or charge cards. We discovered the missing item before our taxi came for the airport. The staff seemed unconcerned and stated that "their houskeeping staff does not steal items". They were unwilling to compensate us for the stolen items. I called the parent company, but because this is a franchise owned hotel, they said we must deal directly with this particular hotel. I have called since to see if the item has turned up, and of course it has not. Very disappointing !
Oh - and I see many accounts of hair on the towels (we had found this to be true as well). This is probably because I observed the houskeeping staff throwing the "clean" towels for the rooms on the hallway floor before replenishing them in the rooms. The only thing this property has going for it is its proximity to the subway to Manhattan. (thus the rating of 2)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay at our hotel. We do indeed have rollaway beds, but it is against the fire code to distribute rollaway beds to guests in the rooms with 2 double beds. Rollaways are available for a small fee on a first come first serve basis. The reason we do not allow guests to reserve rollaways is because we do want to accommodate each guest that arrives at our hotel as best as we possible can, so we do not want to hold a rollaway bed for a guest that might not show up.

We also apologize for the condition of the towels, we have contacted the housekeeping supervisor to ensure housekeeping practices are more closely monitored to ensure our staff is adhering to the standards of Country Inns & Suites.

If you wish to discuss this further, please contact Carlson Customer Care at 1-800-967-9182.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    452
    170
    60
    65
See reviews for
264
417
76
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greece Crete
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

3 minutes away from Subway.
1 station away from Manhattan.
Big rooms
Cheap for New York.
Free wifi.
Personel could be more smiley.
Breakfast plates are plastic!
But i would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: 708 was a big room. 616 was smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. It is 2 blocks from the #7 subway in Queens, so you are 5 minutes and 1 subway stop from Manhattan. It is really convenient location.

The only downside was there are no real restaurants nearby. it is in an industrial area near the East River, so just a few small shops are around.

But the rooms are very clean, great breakfast, and friendly staff. The bed was also very comfortable. The pillows were a little small, but comfortable. It is a very good place for families.

We plan to come back here in 1 week for 1 night again. Very good place.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing Manhattan and you will have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel worths no more than 3 stars ( 1 being added for location). Otherwise it's a shame that it's part of Radisson family. It has the worst stuff i have met during my stays ( and i am a weekly traveller in hotels). They are handling customers as if you bother them and when some piece of garment was missing from the room the hotel manager replied to me very rude "we don't take things from room". So not only that Radisson chain has lost me as a customer but it's the first time in years of travel when i am missing something from room and the staff is answering my complain in a very rude way.
Breakfast room smells awful and is dirty and is offering just few things to fill-up the stomach + a very low quality coffee. Luckily few meters out and you can have a decent breakfast.
Towels in bathroom have hair leftovers (which didn't belong to me or my boyfriend) and i saw this issue being raised in other posts. So i guess it's "custom" of the hotel.
It's close to the Queensboro and Queens Plaza train stations which makes it a good choice for connecting to Manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel was at such a low price and I made it into the city so quickly the next morning! My room even had a gorgeous view of the 59th Street Bridge and Manhattan! Very clean and the free breakfast the next morning was an added plus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. Just a block from the subway into Manhatten, and just two stops from Times Square. The room was clean, and the bed comfortable. The room was a pretty standard size for NYC. Desk was not overly friendly, but very helpful when asked. Would stay here again when traveling to the city.

Room Tip: They do not have onsite parking. The only free parking is on the street. I parked right in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and my partner spent 4 days here, it was a good hotel with a good position thanks to the underground station nearby the hotel which brings you in the heart of Manhattan in only few minutes. Rooms are spacious and comfortable with a good view over the Manhattan skyline. At the time of the booking the price was very competitive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.