We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Warrington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our room had good city view with huge bed. If we go again I would take a kettle. There was a coffee maker but not tea making stuff other than microwave. Milk was not provided so went to gas station next door which was very well stocked. Breakfast was a crowded affair if you timed it wrong, but you could take food back to your room. My mother 94 and niece were in an other room they had problems with dirty sheets and lack of bedding which took a long time to sort out due to language problems. Very convenient for subway and a safe area even at night.

Room Tip: Higher rooms had best view. Take your own kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    389
    145
    45
    58
See reviews for
212
367
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel was very close to Manhattan. The station is in 7 minutes walking distance and next 7 minutes by the subway and find yourself in Times Square. The hotel is easily approachable with large luggage. The surrounding area is safe, we felt comfortable even at midnight. Very clean rooms, towel change and housekeeping every day, fridge, LCD TV, etc. Decent breakfast. Very convenient and we felt safe at all times. We stayed in 803 in believe, eight floor facing the Manhattan – photo-like skyview. Return to JFK by subway to be successful in an easy from Queensboro Plaza Station. I can recommend this hotel to anybody who is visiting NY and want to get a cheap, safe, close hotel to Downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms higher floors on the Manhattan side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is clean , starting to show wear in areas . Staff was certainly less than friendly and welcoming . We were given a room key , went up to find the door wide open . There was a man preparing to steam clean the room , and this was the room they chose to put us into . He used his radio to let the staff know and the girl came up to show us an alternative room . It was smaller , but when I said that , I was told by the young lady that it was the same . The staff was the main reason this hotel did not get an excellent rating . The room was inset in the corner, and was definitely smaller. The breakfast room had too little seating , and several bins were empty for what seemed long periods . Staff spoke to each other in a non English language, loudly , but spoke to guests very little , and seemed like guests "bothered" them . City view room on top floor was worth the extra money although there is a large building being built that blocks part of the view. The bridge looks fabulous day and night . Several small cafes nearby , and a handy convenience store open 24 /7 next door was great . The elevator makes noise when it stops at each floor , but we were not near it , luckily . The room was clean , shower lacked pressure . Superb value compared to what we paid in MidTown last visit . Subway is a great way to get around , never felt afraid at all . Love N.Y.C. ! Will stay here again, asking for city view room . Lending library in lobby is a terrific idea . I love to read . Fantastic hotel if little thing can be overlooked .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevator or ice machine . Pay for city view room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It is a new hotel, very close to the subway, new furniture, fast lift. The major flaw is the Staff. Housekeeping are friendly but don't clean the room properly. They leave hair around the corner. I removed hair of towels, of bathroom floor and of table EVERY DAY. (and it was not my hair). The manager is rude and doesn't solve the problems. When you request any information or help, the answer is always around "You're on your own". The breakfast is good and varied. Although the breakfast room is large, there are few tables. The staff that makes replacement of food comes every half hour, so it is always something missing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our 10th anniversary celebrations. We arrived at 12 noon which was too early to check in so we left our luggage in the constantly supervised lobby and took the 10 minute journey to 5th ave and to Tiffany to buy my wife's eternity ring. I was able to do this in part because of the fantastic rate we paid for our 5 night stay.
Upon our return our room was ready. Fantastic city view as promised.
We read about breakfast and raised the matter at reception asking if it was ok to take brekkie up to the room. No probs was the reply there is a tray in the room you can use.
The service is not over friendly but neither is it hostile. The people at this hotel all work very hard to ensure a nice stay for their guests.
The petrol station next door was great for drinks and snacks and just around the corner there is a Latin bar that serves a nice cold beer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have chosen this hotel twice, because we found it very good the first time. Why? Our daughter lived in Long Island during this two visits and she (small as she is) could stay one or two nights in our room without extra charge, although we were willing to pay. People complain about the breakfast and yes it's crowded during rush our, but what you get is ok. Situated one station from Central Park, great. We have stayed three times in Manhattan and the prices are much higher compared to what you get. The staff was very friendly (compared to what was said here before). Our daughter also got a parking outside. (we where there in oct -10 and aug -11)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Bc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Oct 18-23. Other reviews listed here are spot on. Location is great... short walk down to the Queensboro plaza train station. We bought a week pass for $20ish and used the subway to get everywhere. Very convenient and we felt safe at all times. We stayed in 703 in believe, seventh floor facing the City. Was quiet enough for us except the ice machine was just outside our door which was rather noisy but not used very much. Wifi is speedy, had no problem watching Netflix on a tablet. Rooms are newer but starting to show their use. Bathroom fan was on its way out (noisy) and showerhead was difficult to keep in position... minor inconveniences. I wouldn't say the front desk staff were overfriendly but they did there job in a timely manner which is something I can't say for most of the people we dealt with in the service industry (waitresses, cashiers etc). Most of the cashiers (especially clothing stores) don't even acknowledge your presence! If your lucky they may give you a $ total, but things like, "Hi" and "How are you" or "have a good day" are not in their vocabulary.
The only thing this hotel is lacking is a hot tub or pool. After a full day of walking/subway/biking we were itching to relax in a hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.