We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't imagine better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Was trying to stay low budget out of Manhattan and this was the perfect place. Two safe, easy walking blocks from the Queensboro subway station. The N,Q,R and 7 lines are available right there and one stop west and you are already in Manhattan. There is a convenience store right next to the hotel that seemed to have everything imaginable. The price was half of anything I could get in Manhattan and instead of getting a tiny, dingy room in a beat-up old hotel we got to stay in this beautiful new hotel where the staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was phenomenal - Eggs, sausage, cereals, yogurt, donuts, toast, juice, coffee, tea, waffles (the good kind), etc. Everything was very clean there and no odors. The parking is right up the street but watch out, they charge extra for anything bigger than a sedan. I paid $20/night for a small SUV.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    425
    155
    50
    60
See reviews for
242
386
70
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed here in June, whilst transitioning from overseas to NY. The cost of Manhattan hotels were prohibitive, so chose Country Inn & Suites as an alternative after reading reviews online. Hotel has the basic amenities needed at a reasonable cost. Staff are very businesslike and not locals (all indians) so where not very helpful with directions or much else. It has a mini mart next door in the gas station and is within walking distance of some eateries like a subway, chinese restaurants (that also deliver), dunkin donuts etc. Also very close to the subway. Room temperature is controlled within the room as well. The 1K suite had a lot of closet space. All rooms come with a refridgerator, iron and microwave. I had two different reservations for two different types of rooms and got moved to a room facing Crescent Street - i couldn't get much sleep with early morning taxi horns etc. Also area around hotel is 'old industrial' so appears lonely - however walked it severally without any incidence. Also didn't try the free breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms facing crescent street - very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Price and location perfect for staying in new york for vaccation.
Nice rooms, free wifi, breakfast is american style (plastic cups, etc.) but ok with bagels, waffels and eggs.
Try to get the king city view.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in 2011 and enjoyed the staff, the room and the location. Our city view room gave the most amazing views of Manhattan at night. We liked it better than staying in Manhattan because of the views of the lit up skyline. The hotel is only two blocks from the train so it is only 10 minutes into Manhattan. The hotel was spotless and the staff was extremely helpful. We are world travelers and we have no complaints about this hotel. We liked it so much that we are going to stay here again this September, 2012. We have already booked our reservation.

Room Tip: Choose a city view room on the top floor if you have a choice. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Let me start by saying that this hotel is a great choice for the size of the room and the price compared to hotels in Manhattan. We stayed at this location for 7 nights from June 12-19 with our twin teen daughters. Our room was a king suite with a separate bedroom with privacy door and a futon sofa that made into a bed in the living area. For NYC standards, this is a large room. We paid $180 per night which saved us money as we are budget conscious travelers and do not like to spend a fortune on a room that is only used for sleeping.

The positive things about this location include:
*free wi-fi that was fast and reliable
*free breakfast which helped save money
*very convenient for catching the subway
*room was large by NYC standards so we weren't tripping over each other
*2 televisions in the room (1 in private bedroom; 1 in living area)
*2 closets and 2 dressers for storing clothes
*fast elevators
*fast check-in and check-out
*mini refrigerator and microwave (handy for leftovers and snacks)

The negative things about this hotel include:
*no luggage storage room; When we arrived around noon, they wanted us to leave our luggage sitting in the lobby since our room was not ready. There were probably 20 suitcases just sitting right by the check-in desk. They did not have any type of system to verify the owners of the suitcases. We did not feel comfortable just leaving our luggage sitting unattended in the lobby for anyone to just come take while we were out sightseeing. The front desk clerk asked housekeeping to clean our room immediately so we could move our luggage upstairs. It took about an hour, and then we were allowed to check in. There was no way I was going to leave my luggage with computers, jewelry, etc. sitting in the lobby since they had no system at all for monitoring who picked up luggage. I have never stayed at a place that did not have a ticket system for identifying stored luggage in a luggage room or secure location.

*Although this hotel is convenient for catching the subway, it is not a walk I would make alone after dark. Since I was with my husband, I was not scared walking back from the subway although we did see some "questionable" people just loitering on the corner a few nights on our way back to the hotel. Like I said, if I had been traveling alone, I would have taken a cab back to the room. The walk from the subway is 2 blocks, and although there are street lights, it is an area where I did stay very aware of my surroundings and kept looking back over my shoulder as we walked.

*Housekeeping was not up to our standards. One day our room was not cleaned at all. Another day our bed was made but our pillows were on the floor. The housekeeper did not remove our dirty coffee cups or glasses for 2 days, so we had no clean glasses. Each day that housekeeping did come in, they turned off our air conditioning which meant our room was stuffy and smelly each night when we returned. The bathroom had mold, and the baseboards in the room were dirty and dustry. The doors (closet, bathroom, and entry doors) were dirty and looked like they needed to be wiped down with a wet cloth or Clorox wipe.

*Although breakfast was free, there was no variety at all Each day the same things were served (instant oatmeal, bagels, yogurt, cereal, bananas, doughtnuts, bread for toast, waffle station, sausage, circular egg patties with no taste, juice, coffee, water). We stayed at a Country Inn in Minneapolis, and their breakfast buffet was far superior to this one.

*The managers at this location seem to be more focused on saving money than customer service. There was no a/c in the hallways or breakfast area although I did see a/c vents. In the breakfast area they had the windows open, but it was not enough to make the room feel comfortable.

*The "business center" ony had 1 computer which was sitting on a desk by the check-in desk. There was no printer, and if you wanted to print, they charged $1 per page. I have never stayed at a hotel that would charge you to print your boarding passes.

*The view from the front of the hotel has no curbside appeal. There are several large planters near the front door that are empty; no flowers or plants in them, just dirt and a few weeds growing. As you look out the breakfast room and front door, you see a storage lot for wrecked taxi cabs. This property is definitely not located in the scenic part of town.

Would I stay here again? I am not sure at this point. I have contacted the corporate office for Country Inn to let them know this property does not meet the quality I have experienced at other Country Inn locations. Although I was pleased with the size of the room and the price, I was disappointed that this property did not meet the same standards as other Country Inns we have visited. For convenience, the location can't be beat, but if you are a single female traveler, I would not walk the area after dark by yourself.

Room Tip: If you request a king suite, you will not have a view of the city. The front desk told us all king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Second stay in that hotel in 2 years - still was a good choice. :-)
The hotel is really on a great place, next to a gas station (for buying some food), next to the subway (4-5 stops to the city centre).
The rooms are comfortable, spacious, and what important is: clean. You can get even a breakfast in the hotel.. The rooms have fridge, microwave ovens, iron+desk...

The people in the hotel are nice, and helpful.
Have only 2 remarks:
1) we arrived late in the evening, and the room we booked more than half year ago (city view), was not available.. (full house). Although on the second day we recieved "our" room, we were not able to unpack our suitcases, as we knew that we are moving. This can happen anywhere.
But still I expected that I will be offered not to pay a "cityview" room for the 1st night, when I was not sleeping in a room of that category, just to pay some reduced amount.
2) I needed a cab early in the morning (4.AM) to take me to the airport. I asked the man at the reception desk to order me one. As the car arrived, it had no TAXI sign, and it was strange. I suppose it was some friend of the receptionist. :( He told me that the fare will be 25USD. As we were in a hurry and had no time to order an another cab, we had to agree. On the same way BACK from the airport we took a normal taxi, and we paid only 14 USD... So be careful and check what are you paying for...

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hallway, away from the elevator, are quieter. The most busy is the 1st fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very nice room, clean and good size.
Nice bed as well.
Did not try the breakfast.
A block from the Subway to Manhatten, stay here and save the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.