We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything wonderful except the neighborhood!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything wonderful except the neighborhood!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, clean, modern and very friendly staff! Fridge in room was super convenient! The major draw back is the neighborhood and parking. There are 4 parking spaces right in front and the rest is on street. I scored a parking spot and thought I wad all set. After leaving on Sunday I realized my gas cap has been stolen and the cover was bent so it no longer closes properly. So the location obviously isn't the best. Other than that you can't go wrong with this hotel. Price is great and only a couple blocks to the 7 train to manhattan!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    534
    227
    91
    83
See reviews for
326
490
94
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tarnow, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed two nights in this hotel while visiting shortly NYC.
The hotel is moderately priced and is not far from Manhattan. The subway station is only 3 minutes walk.
The room was spacious and clean.
The breakfast was ok if you do not have very high requirements regarding the food selection.
The staff at the reception were doing their job properly, though without any warm feelings towards the guests. No smiles or any special interest.
There are no restaurants in the neighbourhood so if you arrive late only take-away is available.
If I visit NYC in the future I will probably stay in this hotel again mainly because of the price and the location. It's a good hotel for guests who do not need to be pampered.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Hotel is a 2 minute walk to Queensboro Plaza which has trains going straight into Manhattan which was super convenient. There are like 6 free parking spaces outside the hotel and I believe street parking outside is also free. There is a parking lot 1 minute walk away which is $15 a night.

There was a funky smell coming out of the AC and all the rooms were booked so we could not get it changed. Except for the funky smell everything was nice about the hotel. Free breakfast was also ok.

If you don't want to spend too much and want to be as close to Manhattan as possible, this would be a decent choice to stay at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here during the 2010 NYC Marathon. The room was clean and large. Breakfast was very good every morning. The best part is that it is less than 2 blocks from the subway station AND the marathon route. The gas station next door has a complete array of snacks and goodies and is open 24 hours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was one of the best prices I could find close to NYC. Teh rooms were alright, but our a/c didn't seem to be working right. Seemed like it was humid all the time in the room. Unfortunately they didn't have any other rooms to move us to. I was hoping they'd at least send some one up to check it out. Their only suggestions was to leave our door open for a while....that wasn't going to happen. It was myself and 8 year old daughter and I didn't feel comfortable doing that. Was fairly close to the Queensboro subway station. Free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here because the rate was good and the hotel was close to the subway and Manhattan. The room was small but clean. The lobby was cramped and always crowded with people coming & going. The breakfast was mayhem! People everywhere and very messy. Too hectic of a place -- even for NYC.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The hotel was nice. Staff was very friendly. The rooms were very nicely furnished and decorated. The only problem was with using Travelocity to book the room. The Travelocity reservationist confirmed that our room would have a sofa bed. It did not and the hotel was sold out. We had to share a king bed with our two daughters for the weekend (: I have been fighting with Travelocity for two weeks and they have absolutely the worst customer service. Do your self a favor and use any other booking agency or call the hotel directly, but avoid Travelocity. They are the worst for customer service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a city view. Also, some of the King jacuzzi suites are located below the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#13 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.