We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hassle-Free, Calm Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“A Hassle-Free, Calm Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I made an online reservation for this hotel the night before and was pleasantly surprised to receive a discount. We arrived the next day and all information was set and correct. Very hassle-free.

The room was clean and featured a king-sized bed and the "City View", which actually was as advertised! The view was nothing spectacular, but pleasant. You could watch the sunset behind the city and watch the sun hit the skyline at sunrise. Free wireless and a nice TV, necessities that were provided. The bed was comfortable.

The hotel is well placed insofar as mass transit goes: it's two blocks from the Queensboro Plaza station of the 7 / N / Q lines, and relatively near the Queens Plaza station of other lines as well. As for parking, I can't vouch; there were a limited number of spaces in front of the hotel.

Check-out is at noon; check-in is at 3. There's a complimentary breakfast in the morning featuring some hot items; a waffle maker; some cereal; and muffins and bread.

If I needed to spend another night in Long Island City, I would go back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    482
    155
    56
    63
See reviews for
212
364
67
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The room appeared clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was a really nice offering with eggs and sausages beside the usual waffle/bagel/yogurt. The coffee was lukewarm from a multi-purpose beverage dispenser which only filled the small Styrofoam cup halfway. The biggest downside was the hotel did not provide free parking. You had the choice of parking on the street which was already full so you would have to travel the side streets looking for an available spot or pay $20 to park in the lot across the street. The other thing that I found annoying is that the front desk people had such thick accents it was difficult to understand their English. I had to ask them to repeat themselves several times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Although it is outside of Manhattan it a fairly convenient alternative. It is close to a subway station and only 5 stops from Times Square and the theatre district.

Rooms are quiet and although small they are a decent size for NYC. Bathroom had a lot of counter space. We had a nice view of the city, too.

Staff was polite, but not overly friendly. Do not let them call a car service for you - take your chances with a cab on the street. Car service was about $10-15 more than a taxi to Penn Station.

Breakfast is just fair - we only ate there one morning since we checked out before breakfast was offered on the second. There is a limited selection and when we went to the breakfast area at 9:15am (it is open until 10:00am) almost everything was gone.

We almost changed our reservation due to an earlier Trip Advisor posting about bedbugs, but there was no report on the Bed Bug Registry about any problems at this hotel. We did not have a problem.

Although I prefer to stay in the theatre district, the hotels there can be pricey at certain times. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I were visiting New York City for the first time. This place was great for us. It is in Long Island City in Queens, but is literally a block and a half from Queensboro Plaza station that takes you right into the city. We rode the subway all over town. If you buy a 7-day unlimited MetroCard your first day you can get all over the city without worrying about paying each time you get on a subway.

The hotel is in what seems like a rough part of town, but we never had any problems and felt comfortable walking to and from the subway station, even at night. Breakfast isn't much, lots of breads and carbs, not much else.

The front desk staff was friendly at check-in and check-out. The rooms were good size and very clean. Hotel was also very quiet at night. Overall I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone else thinking of visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have been around the world and stayed at hundreds of hotels. Not ONCE have I ever had such a horrible experience.

To begin, my friends and I reserved our rooms 2 months prior to our visit to New York. We traveled half way around the world from Greece so excited for our week in NYC. Unfortunately our flight was delayed and we had to miss our first night (out of 7 total) at the hotel. I made sure to call the hotel and let them know I will be there the following day and of course will pay for the first night that I missed. The receptionist said this was not a problem and they would see us the following day.

After a 20 hour journey we finally arrived at the hotel only to be greeted by 2 Indian girls with the worst attitude. They said I never called after I showed them my phone to prove it and said they cannot help us in any way and that we were out of luck. After much argument they pretty much told us we were out of luck.

It was a horrible experience and I don't recommend this to anyone. Stay away!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Me and my friends booked two rooms to this hotel months ago via expedia.com, and we have paid for 7 nights.
Our flight had a delay and we called them to let them know that we will arrive one day later and they told us that its ok, although we wouldn't get back the money for the first night. But we wouldn't mind!
so we arrived one day later of our booking and they told us that they don't have rooms because we didn't let them know of our delay and so they gave them. We showed them the call from my mobile (!) and then the two Indian ladies (one was supposed to be the hotel manager) starting accusing expedia, and told us that we should have inform expedia for our delay and not them. AND HOW WE ARE SUPPOSED TO KNOW, we answered??? But they were keep saying that its not their fault and to call Expedia. Thank god expedia was helpful and returned within one hour our money and helped us find another hotel!!

I have been to so many places/hotels, this thing has never happened to me before!! I still can't believe it!!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Just got back , have to agree with most reviews, great place, feel safe to and from the subway,great store next door, nice to get breakfast we took it up to the room, stayed on 5th floor, next to ice machine, not bothered by the noise. Most important No Bed Bugs! The King bed was awesome, as were the pillows! Hotel was quiet, mostly couples,everything worked great in the room. Great Hotel, great price, close to Manhattan, we will be back again! Great pizza place called pizza UNO, check it out! Enjoy all the walking and steps in the subways!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#1 of 23 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 23 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 612 reviews
Charming, Quiet...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#11 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#14 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
Budget, Free Br...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 23 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens

Address: 40-34 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Nyc In Queens
Country Inn & Suites Nyc In Queens Hotel Long Island City
Country Inn & Suites NYC In Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites NYC in Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.