We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Long Island City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Long Island City to your Saves list
Ramada Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-30 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here! My boyfriend and I booked this place months before our trip after reading so many good things about it and we weren't disappointed. I asked for a nice view of Manhattan and they gave us top floor room which is on the tenth level facing Manhattan so we could see midtown and the Empire State from our room! The hotel staff was friendly, most of them were East Indians who were soft spoken but helpful. When one of our luggages went missing we simply informed the staff so they know to expect it when it gets dropped off and when it arrived they had it right by the desk waiting for us. Don't expect a 5 star treatment when it comes to services because it really is only a 3star hotel but I liked the staff. Our room itself was nice and clean! No funny odours, no stains on the sheets, everything still looked brand new. TV was flastscreen with channels like HBO so there's always something good to watch. The only thing was that the carpet is kind of old but we always bring a pair of slippers just wear in our room when we travel so that sorts it out. The bed was comfy, we had a king size bed. And the airconditioning was perfect! You have the controls in your room so whatever temp you like. Theres plenty of closet space and drawers for clothes as well. The bathroom was clean. It's a joined tub and shower so theres lots of room. They have a fitness room which i used twice and no one was ever down there with me so it was like working out at home.

The only minor problem is the distance from the hotel to the subway station. It's about 3-4 blocks from the hotel to Queensboro Plaza station. It's fine when you start your day but at the end of the day when your feet are all tired from walking around New York you just dont't feel like walking anymore... But that's why you bring comfy shoes!!! I cannot stress that enough. Who cares about looking fashionable in New York? When you go as a tourist to sightsee make sure you have the most comfortable shoes on. The area around the hotel was NOT bad at all! Not once did I feel threatened walking down the dark street. There's always tourists walking with us either staying at the same hotel or at the other one nearby. I'Ve seen worse areas in Brooklyn, but this one really is just a mix of residences, industrial, abd commercial. The beginning of Cresent street By the station theres already highrise buildings and theyre building more so pretty soon it's gonna be a much better looking place. If you need a late snack theres a gas station nearby and a little store too. Plus under the queensboro bridge by the subway station theres lots of little subway and pizza shops in the area. Subway to manhattan by the way takes 10 mins! From queensboro station to times square! So it's perfect. Line 7 train also takes you directly to flushing meadows park where they play the US open tennis every September.

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning to travel to New york. It's got all the necessities, transport is nearby, friendly staff, and an amazing view of Manhattan (granted you get a room facing east and on the higher floors)! The cost of staying in this hotel would be as much as staying in a dirty hostel or a really rundown shared-bath hotel in Manhattan!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    258
    152
    46
    43
See reviews for
146
214
43
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Positive:
- clean room and relatively big bathroom, tv and a/c and hairdryer and freezer
- friendly and helpful service (One star less because if breakfast!)
- 10 Minutes walk to next Metro-Station
- comparably cheap to other Hotels in NY
- Internet access as well

Negative:
- small breakfast room (just 4 tables; Tip: tablet on hotelroom)
- low variety of breakfast (beagle,egg and philadelphia and cornflakes)

We didn´t spent a lot of time except for sleeping in the hotel and so it was a nice stay for sightseeing!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We can just say one thing: We loved the hotel.

Rooms: We had a king sized bed in our room and a view over manhatten. The room itself was very clean and beautiful. We also used the refrigerator, and did not even get charged for this.

Breakfast: It is true that the breakfast "room" is very small. It is located next to the reception, and there are only 4 tables. However, the staff had nothing against us taking the breakfast to our room. It is very rare to have breakfast included in your hotel stay in NY, and I was surprised about the many things they had: bagels, donuts, toast, eggs, meat, bananas, cereals,...It was never loud at night, and we always slept well!

Staff: The staff is really perfect, they help you with every single question and even draw maps,... to help you find your way.

The city: The first day we walked to the city, and this took about 1 hour. But of course nobody WALKS in America. The next day, we took the subway, and this took about 20 minutes to get to Times Square. In the evening we took a taxi to get back from the city to the hotel: this cost us 10$, but this differs of course, from where exactly you are in the city.

It was the first time that I and my boyfriend went to NY. But if we would go again, we will probably stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Every negative comment I read about this hotel is true. Although it was a good deal for New York, I will spend more money next time to stay some where else. The staff is extremely rude and unhelpful. I booked 2 rooms at the same time and they put us on the 5th and 8th floors. When we asked if we could be together they wouldn't do it. They told us to take it up with Orbitz. The view was terrible if your in the front side of the hotel. Trash laid out front the whole 4 days we were there. The flower pots out front had dead trees in them. The breakfast area is way to small, The one staff member lied to us several times and was very rude. Overall the only thing good about this hotel was the bed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in May and encountered no problems. We chose this hotel as we had stayed in Manhattan before and were on a long vacation and wanted to avoid paying the crazy Manhattan prices. I think we got the rate here for just over $100 a night which I thought was great for NYC. The hotel is located in Long Island City and only a short walk away from a number of subway stations. We tended to go to Queensboro plaza station which was maybe a 6 min walk. The ride into Manhattan didn’t take long and was I think about $1.50 each journey. As other reviewers have said there isn’t much around the hotel but we did feel safe walking in the neighbourhood and found a macdonalds about a 20 min walk away and there were other eating options by the queensboro plaza subway station.
The room was very nice, we were on the top floor which I think was about the 8th floor. We didn’t have a view of the city skyline unfortually but we didn’t spend much time in the room so wasn’t a big deal. The room was very quiet we didn’t hear any noise from the rooms nearby. We also found the rooms to be clean and had no issues.
The breakfast area is a little small but we just took ours up to the bedroom to eat.
I would defently recommend this hotel for people looking to avoid paying the Manhattan prices.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

If you are looking for cheap, near NYC, and are OK with some walking, this is a decent place to stay. It's not a nice neighborhood, so don't stay there alone.

The hotel itself is new and nice. Rooms are very small, too small for 4 people in my opinion. The breakfast is decent, but runs out quickly, so go early. You may also want to eat in your room, as the very tiny lobby area is packed during breakfast.

Internet and TV were good. It is much quieter than Manhattan, so you can sleep better.

The hotel is a few blocks from the subway. You do have to walk a bit to get to it, but then it's a 10 minute ride into Manhattan (Grand Central), so not bad.

Overall, it's cheaper than Manhattan, so if you're with other travelers, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We booked this hotel for our family trip to newyork.

We liked this hotel since its very close to subway which helped us to move around the city
quickly.Also the hotel also provides free internet which was easy for us to get the maps for various places.Also the hotels was also cheap.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Address: 38-30 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.