We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel but shabby neigborhood.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Ramada Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38-30 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Decent hotel but shabby neigborhood.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Ramada at Long Island City is kind of a mixed bag. The rooms are fairly modern with comfy beds, decent furniture and clean bathrooms. The price per night is also a bonus when compared to other hotels in New York but that is where the accolades end. When you first get close to the hotel you notice that the neighborhood is run down and dirty. Now don't get me wrong I understand its Long Island but even so a few of the buildings around the hotel are condemned and there seems to always be garbage all over the sidewalks. You have to walk the three or four blocks through this to the Subway which isn't all that far but it's not a pleasant walk. Other guests had reported people hanging around the lobby at all times and I can verify that. Evidently random people come in to use the free Wi-Fi. The lobby itself is rather small and there is only one elevator so if your in a hurry you won't like the wait. Another drawback is the fact that if you get there before check in there is no place to store your luggage so your stuck until then. Over all I wouldn't stay here again as there are other places in Long Island City that are a little more expensive but worth it in comparison to what you get here bu if your on a budget and just need a clean room than this is ok for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    240
    140
    41
    35
See reviews for
137
193
40
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 10 nights around New Years and were very satisfied with our stay. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy and before even arriving staff were happy to answer any concerns via email. We were only a short train ride from manhatten and a few blocks from the station keeping us close to the action but giving some peace and quiet when we wanted it. Breakfast was exceptional with a lot of variety, wifi worked well and there was a computer downstairs to use to print tickets etc. One advantage for us was that this hotel was on the same block as a laundromat so for our extended stay this was really convenient. Would stay there again, great for our budget.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
124 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was here last year and now again. This was just an overnight before a trip to Switzerland. This is a very basic hotel in a non-tourist area in nearby Queens. In the off-season the rates can be quite low. In the busy season they vary higher by demand. The hotel is accessible with a 10 minute walk from the N,7, and F metro lines. The rooms are small but clean. The higher floor rooms have views to either the west (the city) or the east (basically LaGuardia take offs and landings). the rooms might have some small flaws like a slow drain or light bulbs needing replacement. If you bring a vehicle, street parking might be hard to come by, though spaces will open up here and there. Check the signs for how long you can stay parked. Street cleaning generally alternates sides once a week. There is an air conditioner for summer and a heater for winter. The windows open a little for outside air. The hotel serves a free starter breakfast in the lobby and there was a fridge in my room. The front desk offered a free weekday newspaper. A free standing computer is located in the lobby. The biggest problem would be nearby tourist services. There are none close by. But a nearby bus (66) or taking the 7 or N train one or 2 stops farther will put you near neighborhood shopping.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For the price we got, room is pretty nice. Have wi-fi, all the facilities. However, just to bare in mind - our room was 2 double beds (suppose to be for 2 people originally, and one more for the last night). I found the bed too short, even with my 165 cm. I had to sleep diagonally! So if you are a basketball player, consider an other option; also It's really for one person, or for 2 only if both of you are little and close enough to each other :-) My main concern is breakfast area. It is awfull! Only 3 tables for 9 floors hotel building, one of them near the entrance door which is automatically opens if somebody is around (we were there in winter!). Menu is pretty much nothing - Ok you can get a cereal with milk, banana, bread and Philadelphia cheese and donuts if you' re lucky (if you come by 9:30 they are gone). Coffee is just a colored water, tea about the same. Because when we came it was completely packed, we have to wait for a while, up until 9:50 which is the end of breakfast time. I asked the "breakfast man" to refill smth he answered in Hindi or smth I couldnt understand (obviously he didn't do anything and just glided to his back room). And when we were leaving he was pointing to the receptionist at us as we did smth terrible. Wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Let’s talk about the positives first. My room at the Ramada was fantastic, the wi-fi is free (unlike a lot of New York hotels) and as an affordable option to Manhattan hotels, some might think it hard to beat. And in many ways it is (they even throw in a fair buffet breakfast). However, there is such a spectacular failing at the point of check-out that what would have been a 3 or 4 star rating crashes and burns.

I have been travelling to New York for many years and I have never known even the cheap and cheerful (on a good day) YMCA fail to offer a baggage storage facility for guests who need to check out by a certain time but have time to kill because of later flight times. It has just always been a ‘given’ in my experience that hotels and some hostels acknowledge this and cater accordingly. Not so the Ramada – and there alternative is just plain disturbing. ‘Just leave it here’ the receptionist instructed me, gesturing towards the general lobby area. ‘Perfectly safe. We have many European travellers with midnight flights so they leave (their luggage) here’. Clearly, the Ramada’s ‘many European travellers’ are unaware of safety and security issues in the 21st Century because all the cases I saw (yes, guests are actually taking him up on his ‘just leave it here’ offer!!) sat there without any kind of baggage padlock. Also, there was nothing to stop another ‘guest’ just confidently grabbing a bag belonging to someone else and leaving with it. Who would stop them? There is no security or concierge at the door so I assume the cleaners would be expected to multi-task and tackle the absconder in between hoovering and dusting.

Such a shame because the Subway connections are fantastic as it nestles at the foot of the Queensborough Bridge, making it possible to jump on to several different routes and end up in Manhattan in a matter of minutes (my fastest journey time was about 9 minutes to 7th and 59th, near to both Times Square and Central Park). It is also a fraction of the price you would pay for a glamorous Manhattan locale. But the check-out experience was a ghastly failing under late flight circumstances (you have to be checked out by 11am) and the unprofessional look of the reception on arrival, combined with a friendly but rather too casually presented staff means that I will be exploring other local options in the future. And who the characters frequently loitering in the lobby area might be is anyone’s guess!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Long Island City

Address: 38-30 Crescent St, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ramada Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;