We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shi

Shi
4720 Center Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11109
347 242-2448
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Shi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: 7 train Vernon-Jackson and G train to 21st Street.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Been here so many times can't count how many, but I assure you, their foods are delicious, start with lettuce wrap, tom yum soup, shumai and chicken satay then try their beef with basil medium spicy, pineapple rice, sweet and sour fillet fish and so much more according to your taste, try their superb japanese entree too. Karaoke on Wednesday nights, DJ on Friday and Saturday nights after 8:30 pm, the dining is casual elegant and dress smart casual. Enjoy guys..!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BOTHELL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waiting for A More Engaged Neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Aug 22; 6:30 PM. We walked into a very quiet place. Minimal staff. Once we order drinks, things come around a bit more. The meal itself was excellent. And behold, people began to show up. The message I'd like to leave you with is the following: Folks if you don't get out and support this very nice neighborhood place, it will move on; your loss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Read this before coming to Shi”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Regardless of food quality or dining experience, consider whether or not you want to give your money to an establishment owned by someone who instructs his staff to literally shut the door in the face of a local couple who were brutally attacked outside, and refuse to call 911 for them.

From NYMagazine: [the victim] told NBC that when he asked the men why they were yelling, they pushed him to the ground and punched him repeatedly. "And while I was laying on the ground covering my face, I got to watch them shove my wife to the ground without being able to help her," said the victim, who ended up with a black eye and an injured head....

The incident became even more awful after the attack, when [ the victim ] returned to the restaurant they'd just left [ SHI ] to ask for help. "My husband — his face was pouring with blood — went to that very same doorman and said, 'Please help us,' and he closed the door in my husband's face," Billie said. (The restaurant's owner claims that he thought the police had already been called and that he didn't want to let anyone in "out of fear for his customers.")

You have a lot of choices on where to eat in New York City, and even Long Island City. If you give your money to this type of owner you are condoning his horrifying lack of morals. If you work for him, same thing. And if you are one of the thousands of residents of the beautiful tower developments in LIC, you should not want this in your community either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A perfect evening at Shi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We chose Shi as the location for a celebratory dinner after our daughter’s law school graduation, and it did not disappoint. Everything about the evening was perfect—service, food, atmosphere, even the location. Although our reserved table was inside, it was so beautiful outside that we asked for a change. Done in minutes. The outside dining area overlooks the East River, the Gantry Plaza State Park, and the Manhattan skyline. Service was as attentive as we could ask for; if our server was not available, another waitstaff filled our request.

The drinks menu is extensive; 2 of our party recommend the ginger mojito. The food was memorable. We ordered a number of dishes, appetizers and entrees together, to share for a party of five. The food arrived promptly and was beautifully presented. I highly recommend the Cointreau prawns and the pineapple rice. We also enjoyed the sesame chicken, steamed dumplings, and bacon wrapped shrimp among other dishes. Although we were very satisfied after our meal, we went for dessert and can recommend the Choco Molt and Apple Tart.

To cap off the evening, it was a short walk around the building and down to the State Park and a river walk to watch sunset over Manhattan. A perfect way to end a perfect dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing view and food with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I had the TakaDan and loved every bit of it. The dirty martini was fabulous!! View of the East River with Midtown as your backdrop. Wonderful atmosphere and great waitstaff

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shi also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Shi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.