We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for convenience, affordability and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
156 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“4 stars for convenience, affordability and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our family of four with two small kids stayed here for a couple of nights, and found it to be an average experience - the room was clean although a bit on the small side, beds were comfortable, and the rates were much cheaper than hotels in Manhattan. The hotel was also a close walk to the 39th avenue station of the N/Q line, which can bring you up to Manhattan and as far as Bay Ridge in Brooklyn. The onsite restaurant was also pretty good - they serve a mean rodizio for dinner. The breakfast buffet was also pretty decent.

If you're driving to this hotel, make sure you arrive early enough to reserve a slot (with a surcharge). There are only about 16 or so available and they tend to fill up, which they did when we stayed there over the weekend. Street parking is available but be mindful of the street cleaning days and times to avoid a ticket.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    266
    57
    23
    7
See reviews for
165
234
61
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

While economical and fast approach to Manhattan, this hotel has small rooms with barely enough space to move in. Also they are in a hurry to charge you so be careful using your credit card! I booked the flexible rate but was charged straight away by a "new employee" - then the refund was less than the amount charged. It took countless emails and delayed responses on the hotel's part to get the full amount. Recently another charge appeared on my credit card statement which I was not informed about during my stay or at check out. Another family staying there was also charged the same way. the only plus is the nearby metro station and the fast (15 mts) to Manhattan. otherwise the area isn't nice or safe at night and the hotel itself is so-so.

Room Tip: Book a room with twin beds so you get some space to live in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughlin, Nevada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When we first arrived, clerk wondered if we had talked to management. Seems they tried contacting us, but we, of course, were not home since we spent time in PA. To make a long story a little shorter, it seems as though they overbooked the 2 queen bed rooms. However, they made up for it by giving us a king suite which included a fold-out sofa. The suite was roomy, on the 16th of 17 floors, and a nice size balcony overlooking Manhattan! They also threw in 3 free-drink coupons! Hotel is in a decent and quiet area in Queens/Astoria and we really enjoyed our two night stay. First night, the weather cooperated - breezy with low humidity, so we opened our door to the balcony and enjoyed the cool breeze inside and out. Trains only one block away, great location for that necessary evil into Manhattan and back. Took taxis several times - surprisingly affordable compared to Vegas or Philly. Staff friendly and efficient. Really enjoyed our stay, and a lot more economical than staying in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Try to get a free upgrade to the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's a value for money place. Hotel is nice and rooms are clean but a little small. It's a fine hotel as per the price range but only negative thing is its location. It is located outside manhattan area which makes it costlier due to extra expense on travelling and waste of time.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. We had just gotten married and the hotel staff was very accommodating to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. Cathy especially was very nice to us. And our suite with the balcony was beautiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mak_guy,

Thank you so much for your great review in Trip Advisor. And once again, congratulations on your marriage!

I appreciate that you mentioned me in your review. It is my pleasure to always assist you.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us during this very special time. We hope to see you again on future anniversaries, or anytime you just want to get away for the weekend!

Warm regards,
Cathy Pascale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You are looking at where the action is at this hotel and not in the middle of it but I liked that. I had an upgraded room with a balcony and a stunning view of the NYC Skyline. The train is a 1 minute walk away and runs non stop to and from the city every 5 minutes. The area is safe and the service excellent. Breakfast was a bit naff / cheap in 2012 but may have changed now. Parking at the hotel and very quiet at night. Loved it

Room Tip: High up, with a balcony and / or facing the city. Amazing.!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CimmyP,

What a terrific review that you wrote on Trip Advisor. Thank you!

We relay appreciate all the great things that you mentioned about the hotel and our staff.

We hope you will have the opportunity to come back to visit the hotel in the near future.

Regards,
Cathy Pascale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hello,
My stay at the Holiday Inn was amazing. Everyone there especially Elizabeth at the front desk was so nice and accommodating. I asked for a shower cap and it was there practically before I hung up the phone. Elizabeth was so knowledgeable about what the hotel had to offer. Enjoy your stay.

Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#13 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
Wyndham Garden Long Island City ...
#10 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.