We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
“Amazing Staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My stay here was amazing, the staff was always very attentive especially the front desk. They are super nice although I do have to mention one person in particular Elizabeth Torres... Thank you I totally recommend you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    226
    49
    21
    7
See reviews for
142
207
55
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly, and the bed was comfortable. The room was a little small, but that's expected for NY. I was only staying for 1 night, so it wasn't a big deal. The room was also very clean. My problem was after hitting the sack at 1am, I barely slept since I was facing the train and had to listen to it go by throughout the night. Do not get room #1210 if you need a full nights sleep. I was already unpacked, too tired, and was getting up at 7:30am to try and ask for a different room, so I put up with it. Also, the cost of breakfast was a waste. I basically spent $10.95 for a yogurt, OJ, and eggs since everything else didn't taste good. The breakfast seating area was nice though.When I tried to get back into my room after breakfast, my key didn't work, so I had to go back down to have it fixed. (A little annoying) I had to park in the garage next door, since the hotel lot was booked. I didn't know I had to reserve parking, but the cost next door was the same as the hotel anyway. Other then that, for one night the stay was OK.

Room Tip: Request a room NOT facing the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week while in town for business both in Manhattan and Queens. Reasonable rates and convenient to Manhattan, subway stop is two blocks away. I am familiar with Queens, so I was aware that this is in a very safe neighborhood, but I can see where people might think otherwise. It is a dirty area, but there is nothing more unsafe about it than any other location. The view was beautiful and the hotel was clean and modern. I was in Manhattan most evenings, so I did not eat anywhere around the hotel, except one night I ate at the restaurant in the lower level, and it was just ok, nothing special. This experience was everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn, competent and unspectacular, but with the added bonus of a reasonable NYC rate, decent view and easy access to Manhattan. I would consider staying here again if I had business in Queens.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Devin,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Manhatttan View.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to see that you are familiar with Queens and know that our location is safe at any time of the day and night. We are working with the local civic organizations to keep the streets as clean and as safe as possible.

We hope that if you do come back to the NYC or Queens area, that you will come back to see us in Long Island City.

Many thanks and warm regards,
Cathy Pascale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were impressed with the excellent location, the beautiful city views and the wonderful service we received here. The in-hotel restaurant isn't great so find another food option, but hey, you are in NYC. Its easy to do. The room rate was very reasonable for a NYC hotel. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a Manhattan view room. Worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Thia,

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Manhattan View.

We are happy to see that you were delighted with your stay, especially regarding the service you experienced. The views are outstanding and the location is ideal too, as you mentioned.

I am sorry that you were less than thrilled with the restuarant. I will certainly pass on your comments to them. As you said, there are so many restuarant choices in New York too.

Thank you again and please keep us in mind for any future visits to NYC or Long Island City.

Warm regards,
Cathy Pascale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this holiday inn for 10 nights during October, we stayed in a king size room, it was very clean, spacious for New York, could see the empire state building from our window ( so it really is manhattan view), front desk staff were highly helpful. Front desk staff even printed out directions for us, were friendly and we used the security deposit boxes daily. They were always happy to help, and book taxis etc We got married in New York, and were very excited for us on our wedding day. The hotel is located all of a 2min walk from the subway station, and near a deli and shop etc. The hotel is 2 stops away on the subway from Manhattan, so dont feel you have to be bang in times square as its only 6mins away, and better value! We paid for breakfast three mornings, which was quite nice, friendly waiting staff! the only con, and its tiny, is that we asked for hot chocolate one night after being out all day and the bar staff said that they dont sell hot drinks, just alcoholic or soft beverages, which is a shame as we dont drink alcohol, but understand. Reason for 4 stars over 5 as its a very good basic hotel rather than luxury, but you could stay alot longer in New York because of the price difference which is a bonus for thrifty travellers.
Would definitely stay in Long Island City again, and this hotel! Clean, pleasant, good sleep, good staff and close to the city!

Room Tip: Ask for a Manhattan view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy P, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Myagolightly,

Thank you for your excellent review of the Holiday Inn Manhattan View hotel in Long Island City.

Congratulations on your wedding in NYC. What a wonderful place to get married.

It looks like you had a great room with a fantastic view of the NYC skyline. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. After 10 days here, it sounds like you know your way around the subway system and fun things to do in New York City. We are delighted to know that our staff took good care of you while you were here.

The staff of the Holiday Inn Manhattan View wish you all the very best in your new married life!

Best wishes and warm regards,
Cathy Pascale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I'm sure the views from the higher floors were spectacular but we were on a tight budget and so only got a first floor view of the convenience store over the street. The staff were all very efficient and polite and the room was well appointed. The heating / cooling, was very noisy and seem to come on automatically whatever buttons we pressed. The room was serviced everyday. On a couple of occasions there was a loud crowd in the bar, and we wanted an earlier night for an early start. Be aware that the bar is not segregated from either the lobby or the first floor (2) corridor. Ambient noise from, AC fans / Garbage collection and the parking structure below could also prove a problem for rooms in the low 2- hundreds. Safety deposit facilities were held at reception rather than "in room" but were limited in number and size.
There were plenty of towels, a fridge, complimentary toiletries, with a free tea /coffee maker in the room along with iron + board and hair dryer. We didn't use the small gym, breakfast service or the Steakhouse. The local amneties were sparse, but Zante's Diner did a good breakfast spread & the Centraal Bar across the street was very good for real beer and snack food, especially as we got in a little late to head to the city on our first night.. The hotel is within a few blocks of 3 MTA stops - (39 Av / Queensboro Plaza & Queens Plaza.) We got the 7 day MTA ticket on day 2 and it saved us a fortune ! See the You Tube link at the bottom which shows you how to get from JFK via Air-Train & MTA to the hotel - (Be sure to look "up" when you get to street level at Queens Plaza to see the "Holiday Inn" logo on top of your hotel a few blocks away !) - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0WC1f4JkAcg

Room Tip: Higher rooms come with a view - Lower rooms will be noisier !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014 via mobile

we had business meetings in the area so this location was perfect. Our room had a floor to ceiling Manhattan view. Beds were comfortable and the staff were pleasant. Easy to get a taxi, a short walk to the train into Manhattan and only an $18 taxi ride from La Guardia. Beat of all the is an amazing neighborhood bar across the street with excellent food and drinks. The bodega across the street has any incidentals you may have forgotten. We did not eat at the restaurant inside the hotel but the buffet looked decent for breakfast.

Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.