We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Holiday Inn Manhattan View is in a great location, within easy reach of the city, from the metro station round the corner. We had a very spacious and well appointed room on the top floor, with a whole wall of floor to ceiling windows, providing a stunning view across to Manhattan. You can watch the sun set over the Empire State Building and Brooklyn Bridge. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The only negative is the bar. What could be a nice space to relax in the evening, after a busy day in the city is completely spoilt by the VERY loud music, which makes conversation impossible and presumably is why it is always empty. Otherwise it was great and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View! We want to thank you for your time in giving us some feedback. I will certainly pass on your comments concerning the music to the Restaurant Management. We're delighted you had a nice stay and look forward to your return some day.

Travel Safely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    229
    50
    21
    7
See reviews for
142
209
57
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster,TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I travel a lot with my job and I must say at first I was a little taken back with this hotel and not sure about things but Danny and Elizabeth made up for everything! I am a Platinum IHG member and they do recognize that. I was surprised with the parking arraignments with only 20 spots but they accommodated me (even though my car was hit in their parking lot I was still grateful that I didn't have to park in a junk hard on the corner). The location is awesome right by the subway, and the Brazilian Steakhouse Restaurant inside the hotel is to die for!! Absolutely amazing food and service for affordable prices!! The view from this hotel is by far the best value for the money! I will be on a stretch assignment in NY, and this will be my home away from home no doubt!!! Thank you HI!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being an IHG Rewards Member. I appreciate your confidence and great feedback about the location and services especially the dynamic duo Danny and Elizabeth who are true ambassadors of the Holiday Inn Brand! We could thank you enough and hope that parking doesn't interfere with your experience while staying with us next time. Safe Travels!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We book for 2 queen standard rooms (21/07/2014-24/07/2014). One is spacefull with 2 beds and a Manhattan view, the second is very small, in front of the noisy ice machine with no view ... All is clean, the service is good, the subway is close. No fridge, no bathtub in this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay recently. The hotel has mini refrigerators in most rooms and also on request. We surely could have sent one to your room if one was necessary, I apologize. We appreciate the comments about the service and the location. We hope the next time we can change your view. Thank you again for sharing and welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future.

Merci encore et adieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great place outside Manhattan. 2 minutes to the train station and 15 minutes to the center of the universe :-)
clean place, great restaurant and professional stuff.
I had the Manahattan View Suite and the view I saw every day was breath holder!
Try to get as high as possible room. The view worth the money!
I was disappointed from the fact that the room does not have safe (?!?!?!) but its nothing compering to the rest.
Pay attention that parking in this place cost money but its only 20$ per day. Not a big issue.
Bottom line - if you want to stay in Manhattan but not to pay the parking or the fees for the city. use this hotel.
Personally - -I will again

Room Tip: Take a room as high as possible facing to the city. Manhattan suite is the ultimate view to the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Rafael,

We want to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Manhattan View located in Long Island City Queens New York! We appreciate the kind feedback and details concerning your stay with us. In fact, this is the closest you can get to Manhattan and we're delighted you found the location convenient. We hope to have you stay the next time and again the Manhattan View will certainly leave a great memory. From all of the staff here, we wish you safe travels.

Most Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great Stay, Good location, parking was not that difficult. Thought it may get tricky but perhaps I was lucky. Was able to park out front on the street. Meters are there until 5pm so i spent $2.00 for 2 hours... Staff was friendly and recognized IHG status and was extremely helpful on dinner reservations, things to do and see, go and stay. Great Job, Great staff and not a bad location (some construction around the area and you have to drive thru some sketchy areas, but overall, this is a good place for NY $$$$$ for sure.

Room Tip: try to get one of the rooms on the 16th floor. awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Tommy,

We appreciate the support and explanation with parking. Thank you for being a valued IHG Rewards Member and I will mention your Great comments about the staff. Once again, we appreciate the opportunity to welcome you again sometime in the future. I think your room tip is spot on and I'm sure to receive many requests!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The room is quite nice and the staff attentive. I had a great view of the city. There was a stain on one of the chairs in the room which then makes you doubt the cleanliness of the rest of the room, but I didn't find anything else bad. When I was checking in, however, I overheard another guest being told that the hotel parking lot was full and was provided some other options that were definitely less convenient.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us your feedback and recommendations. We do not want you or anyone else to be overly concerned with the alternate parking options as they are literally next to the property. With limited parking on site you may have to park next door. However, if you find yourself in the area next time please feel free to contact me as we apologize about the impression we gave you with the room chair. I will make a note of it, thank you.

Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I stayed here from 8 July to 15 July.
This was my second stay. Last year I did not enjoy my time.
So much so that I left and moved to the Best Western, also in LIC.

This time was a complete turnaround.
Almost as though it was a different hotel.
I received an upgrade on check in; the room was clean, modern and spacious, and best of all was the Keurig coffee maker. Arguably the best coffee I’ve had in a hotel room. Anywhere.

The hotel is a 6 min walk to the subway, which takes about 15 mins to get to midtown. For seniors, the many steps required to climb up from the street to the subway (around thirty) would not make it an option.

Cabs from the hotel have to be booked ahead and take 5-10 mins to arrive. To 26th and Fifth cost $22 and to Penn Station, $35. The local car service charges $40 to JFK.

The hotel serves breakfast for $10 and an all you can eat Brazilian BBQ dinner for $20. I did not try either, but understand both are good value.

I have no idea why my experience this time was so much better, but believe it has something to do with new hotels opening up in the area recently and injecting competition into the market.

That said, why I my time was great I am not sure. What is sure is that I will certainly by back.

Out of 10 I’d give the hotel a 8.5. And I am a hard person to please.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear JA,

Having had the pleasure of corresponding with you on your return visit, I assured you would have a entirely different experience. Thank you for giving us another chance. Our goal is to be a perfect 10 next time. We appreciate your time feedback!

Hooroo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.