We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, great service, and nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great room, great service, and nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My mom, my sister and I stayed at the hotel during our spring break trip to NYC. The staff was very friendly. We arrived earlier than check-in time, but they let us leave our luggage with them so that we could start hitting the attractions. They did the same thing for us on our last day since our flight didn't leave until 7pm. The room is very clean, and even though there were constructions going on, we didn't have any problem with noises. One thing I personally like is that there is enough light in the room that we can work/study. I always hate hotel room with little light so this is a plus for me. The location is probably the best thing about this hotel. It is literally 3 minutes from a subway station so you could get to the city in 15 minutes. Overall, I had a great time staying at this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Kenny,

Thank you for your recent feedback and appreciate the time you took to complete this review. The staff are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. The hotel is easy access to Midtown Manhattan and this feature is one of the most common compliments. We hope to see you next spring break 2014!

Happy Holidays,

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    271
    214
    45
    21
    6
See reviews for
138
195
55
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn LI City on July 4th weekend. Seemed relatively new so rooms were in good condition. The hotel is within a block of the N which takes you right into midtown Manhattan in 10-15 minutes so it's pretty convenient. Parking was pretty easy in the neighborhood as well. A great value if you don't mind not being right in the middle of things.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for remembering to give us your kind feedback! Its nice that we had an impression and you were able to recall your stay back in July! Thank you for taking the time and we hope to have you back sometime in the future. Have a safe and happy holiday season.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The staff is friendly and accomodating, and the hotel has what you need when traveling. The on-site restaurant was very convenient, the rooms are well appointed; comfortable bed, walk in shower, Keurig coffee maker, and ample space to work.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Dave,

Words of wisdom, Comfortable and Accommodating! Thank you for your feedback and your time to review our hotel! Stay warm up there in Buffalo and have a great holiday season. We are here any time you need comfortable accommodations.....

From all of us at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View,

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 8 Nov to 10 Nov.

Staff checking me in insisted on holding $50 per night from my CC, which I thought was very odd considering I prepaid the cost of the room AND I handed a CC on check in and not a Debit Card. Never before had a hotel promised to debit me in advance for incidentals only to be told that I will be credited the amount on my departure. This is the M.O for debit cards.

The room was ok both in size and creature comforts by NYC standards. Breakfast is $11 more. I did not have it, instead visited a diner on the way to the nearest subway stop where eggs and toast with coffee is around $10. The diner has even cheaper options.

I found the staff on check in to be short with me. I asked for a room with a view and was told they had a few but that will cost me $50 per night more. Most chains often upgrade at no cost, but not this Holiday Inn. I also asked for a room far from the elevator and was given 304 which was the second closest room to the elevator. I pointed this out to staff, to which they replied "you are not in the closest room to the elevator, are you"?

After dropping my bags in the room I returned to the lobby to advise I saw two red marks on the carpet and a couple of broken or missing coat hangers. I mentioned this so I will not be billed for other people's damage. But the two staff members at the front desk were not interested in what I had to say.

In contrast, the staff member checking me out, Natali, was very polite.

I took the train from JFK. I had no idea this was not the thing to do.

Do not do this yourself as the nearest subway stop catering to the train from JFK is a 15 min walk with luggage. Taxis do not roam the streets for you to hail them down. I am mid 40s and solid. While I did not feel unsafe walking with my suitcase a dozen blocks, I did feel uncomfortable.

If you are staying here and you're a woman or a senior make sure you always get a train that services the nearest subway stop or get a cab from Manhattan.

If you are a group of people traveling together then you'll be fine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear JA from Sydney,

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and especially for giving a detailed account of the interactions with our staff. You have travelled a long way to stay with us! I want to start by saying that Credit Card Authorizations for even for prepaid rooms are not uncommon in Hotels in our market. Management only asks to hold a minimal amount which also lets the guest enjoy the option to pay for incidentals before checking out. I apologize if the Front Desk Associate didn't provide enough explanation to satisfy your concern. About your room assignment, at 172 square feet (I would not consider creature size) however we would have looked at other options other than a complimentary upgrade and we should have also identified your location to the elevator. As you may have read in previous reviews, there are dining options right across the street, glad you found some good meal options. Thank you for bringing the room concerns to the associate at time of departure, I'm disappointed in the reaction of the front desk and will address this as well.

Value is our number one compliment. We Value your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and next time please contact me directly so I may personally look after your reservation.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in town for a special family event, each of us having grown up in the neighboring area. This hotel was in a terrific location between the city itself and Queensborough, and gave us ready access to the inbound N train (just a few stops to downtown) as well as the BQE and outbound parkways to Long Island. Parking is limited at the hotel, but we'd made arrangements ahead of time and that was taken care of. When I lived there, LI City had gotten to the point we drove through it with windows up and doors locked. It's on its way to gentrification, which means it's not fully pretty yet; but it's definitely on its way up. IMO, this hotel is a good example of how good it is coming to be.
The staff were outstanding, from check-in to check-out. I've stayed at many types of hotels in the past fifty-plus years, and found them equal to any five star hotel. Housekeeping did a wonderful job on a daily basis, and were very quick to respond when I had a small issue with an in-room fixture. We only tried the bar, as we had events outside the hotel, which is nice but clearly simply a meeting point---so can't comment on the restaurant. For us, the deli across the street had the best breakfast sandwiches I've had since leaving New York, and it was a later-night treat we gave ourselves for mouth-watering pastrami sandwiches like you can't get outside this town. There's a nice little pub/restaurant where we had dinner after getting in late from the airport on the corner across from the hotel that you can trust to have good food and a fun local atmosphere.
Our room, 902, was contemporary and a step up from the usual Holiday Inn experience. Fixtures were largely in working order--had to replace the blow dryer (done in less than five minutes by housekeeping). On a cold night, you may have to play with the thermostat unless you close the thermal curtains (we didn't, as we wanted to soak up city lights), and the shower door leaks a good deal (just realized we forgot to report this, so they had no opportunity to address it). My only "really should do this" recommendation to the management would be to have safes in the rooms, especially large enough for a laptop. The safe deposit in the front office was inconvenient and not large enough for electronics.
If you want a postcard view, you'll have to go a couple floors higher, but for us, the views of the 59th Street Bridge and the Triboro with all the apartments and office buildings between brought back some warm memories, and Manhattan is surely more than just a view of the Empire State Building. We found it perfectly enjoyable, but some may find fault if they can't have the Hollywood version.
New Yorkers may have gotten a bad rep over the years, but most have a soft heart and love to show you their town. This hotel exemplified that, and we thank their staff, from housekeeping to front desk to bar to management. Well done! We are most certainly coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for the side facing the East River/Manhattan, and try to go above the 9th floor. Corner suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Past Neighbor,

Its not too often our hotel is placed in the same breath with 5 star hotels. We are truly honored and flattered. I thank you for the detailed review and want to greatly thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Firstly, I apologize for the shower and again thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm also working on in-room safes which is a on my Christmas list for next year.

The Associates deserve all the credit for making our guests feel so comfortable. I will forward your kind feed back to the TEAM. They will be excited to see you again.

The neighborhood has developed and continues to grow each day. As more and more pubs and restaurants come into our area, the more our guests can stay local.

This has been very motivational. I know we have made a new long lasting relationship. Till the next time we see you come down from Missouri, happy and healthy holidays to you and your family from our family at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed one night here on final leg of two week holiday. Chose this as we wanted a hotel out of Manhattan as we had a hire car and did not want exorbitant parking charges.
Location is ok . Long Island city is not the prettiest of locations but it felt safe and it is literally a very short walk from subway station and then a quick ride into Manhattan.
Rooms were nice. We had a city view which was fab at night looking out over Manhattan.Very clean and staff were really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was fine but restaurant lacked atmosphere.
Would I stay again? Not sure . It was handy for one night and good value but it isn't Manhattan.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear NYGAL,

Thank you for your recent review of our property. Long Island City is developing and is definitely a option to Manhattan. Your spot on with the Value! Pricing is better and the commute is convenient to all of the NYC. I'm delighted to hear that the staff and room were up to standard. I also appreciate the feedback on the restaurant experience, I have forwarded your feedback to the operator. We will be here next time if Manhattan doesn't price you out. We thank you for your time and consideration and it was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Happy Holidays....

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here two nights for a business trip. The room that I got was very small but was clean and comfortable enough. Had dinner one night at the restaurant downstairs...didn't eat the brazilian steakhouse food but had the hot and cold bar. The food was pretty good but the atmosphere was a little awkward...it's difficult to explain.

The location was not great. I didn't venture out but I couldn't really see much nearby in terms of restaurants or things to do. Overall, it wasn't a bad property but it certainly didn't wow me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Eddie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and feedback concerning your stay. I apologize if the property didn't present itself well during your visit. Long Island City has much to offer but your correct, you will need to venture out. Remember, our staff members can offer recommendations in the local area next time. As our area continues to develop, Manhattan is a short ride away. Thank you for giving us an opportunity and I'm sure the next time we can "wow" you. Travel Safely.......

Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.