We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Be A Good NYC Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Could Be A Good NYC Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I read previous reviews carefully before booking this hotel. I think it is always difficult to select a big city hotel so to help others considering if to book. I would add -

Manhattan is accessible by N train (10 mins walk to the station) or Taxi (about $25) but you are very out of the city in terms of atmosphere and amenities. This location is a residential and industrial area, whilst I did not feel it unsafe, it is quite run down and not somewhere I would want to take a walk, other than to the subway station. If you are looking for a more affordable option than you will find in NYC, and can live with a commute into the city and without an upmarket neighbourhood and its restaurants etc to hand, then this is a good option.

Hotel staff are all without exception, very helpful and friendly and you really feel they are trying hard. A small bar and restaurant area was quite busy and given its limitations the hard working and friendly staff helped make it a pleasant place to relax.

The hotel is new (ish) and typical later style Holiday Inn. I found it slightly noisy with both corridor and street noise. One those hotels that when the next room flushes the bathroom you can hear the plumbing. Wi Fi is very poor, slow speed everywhere I tied to sue it within the hotel and constantly dropping connection.

Well done to the Management and team (Catherine and Rocky etc) you are trying very hard to deliver good service and it and works!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for wanting be close too us..... 251 cities beats the previous review.

Our Hotel and the staff would like to thank you for noticing their efforts and details regarding your stay. I must admit, my one expectation to all of my staff is too always try and never say no to a guest. We continue to follow this culture and our guests receive the best service. I certainly apologize for the speed of the internet, next month we will be receiving fiber cabling long awaiting boost which our property is excited about. Also apologize for any noise levels as the neighborhood is residential mostly.

Overall The fact that you mentioned Great Hotel is this review says a lot. I will mention your feedback to Catherine and Rambo (Rocky could be her new alias) and we all want to thank you for staying with us!

Until we see you again, safe travels!!!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    244
    46
    22
    6
See reviews for
132
189
55
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel upon recommendation of a friend and we were not dissapointed in the slightest, the only issue was that our Yellow Cab Driver from JFK did not know where it was but headed in the general direction and located it.
The Staff at the Hotel were welcoming and treated us from the off as though we were friends who had returned, eager to explain what was going on both in the Hotel and in the surrounding area including the best place to get breakfast (Blueberry Pancakes with a side of bacon and limitless Coffee).
The room was adequate for our needs and had a partial view from our 7th floor window over Manhattan, we had asked about upgrade to a Manhattan view on a High Floor with a balcony but unfortunately it was not to be.
Subway at nearby (two blocks) 39th & Bebe gave excellent access to all the areas of Manhattan and beyond (Coney Island) for $2.75 for a single trip or $2.50 if you buy a multi trip Metrocard, but don't ask the guy sitting in the booth at the station as he was most unhelpful.
Overall a great experience and we did not feel at all unsafe in the neighbourhood even when travelling back late at night/early in the morning.

Only one tiny negative was the darkness/blandness of the Restaurant which was used for both Breakfast and a BarBQ Restaurant in the Evening, however the breakfast (Not Buffet) was very good with Pancakes freshly cooked.

Room Tip: High Floor with balcony and view over Manhattan, don't be put off by the location it did not fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very detailed review of our hotel and location! I must say with having visited 80 cities your feedback with certainly help future visitors to get a sense of the area. I must thank you for choosing our hotel and for your kind words. I hope you have not adopted anyone here as our staff can become very attached to our guests and it’s great to hear of the warm welcome you received. Convenience is the key you said it!

The area is becoming more vibrant each day, the local Business Development Offices continue to beautify and add parks, culture and restaurants in our area. Our Brazilian restaurant definitely adds to the gentrification. We cannot thank you enough and hope to see on your next visit!

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was what I expected for a holiday inn, clean comfortable and simple. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was to my surprise very good ( for dinner, breakfast was ok nothing fancy).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for our recent review! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the Holdiay Inn lived up to the expecations. The restauant has a an delicious Brazillian Rodizio BBQ and Buffet for a great price. Next time your in town we hope you'll visit us again!

We appreciate your time and thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Big, clean, modern rooms at budget prices
Friendly hotel staff
Great views of the Manhattan skyline
Very safe Long Island City neighbourhood
2 blocks to the Q & N trains
2 short train-stops from 59th Street and Lexington Avenue
The only downside is that there are no services or restaurants in the immediate neighborhood. But, Manhattan is only 2 train stops away.
I stayed here for 3 months and highly recommend it as one of NYC's hidden treasures.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great NYC skyline views and the corner rooms with terraces and floor to ceiling w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the your recent stay with us and review. We very much apprecaite your time and comments and know that we work hard to ensure all guests have a great experience at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View Hotel!

I guess we are no longer hidden but it was a matter of time. Thank you for discovering us and mentioning the Staff, Cleanliness, and Convenience of your stay!

We certainly look forward to your return! Please ask reception for the closest options for food fare in our area or you can order in...

Most Graciously,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and were granted early arrival into our room, which was bright, very clean, and comfortable. The only problem we encountered was a malfunctioning hair dryer, but that was dealt with quickly. We wanted to have lunch in the restaurant when we arrived, but it was not open.

The location is great, only a block from the 39th Avenue station on the N or Q train. Manhattan is easily accessible.

Good value; would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for your recent feedback and review of our hotel. I do appreciate your time and comments. Good to hear we were able to get you in early and the equipment was replaced in a timely manner. Our Restaurant is open for lunch on weekends only at this time but we do invite you back to experience the brazillian fare.

We look forward to your next visit and again thank you for the kind review! We "Value" your patronage!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Generally this is a great hotel and I would stay there again.
My room was large, airy, bright and spotless.
I didn't have a direct view to Manhattan but had what I called a partially obscured Manhattan view.
I didn't see one of the more expensive Manhattan view rooms, they might be worth the extra cost.

Pros:
1. 2 Minutes walk from the subway and 3 stops from midtown
2. A few minutes walk from awesome Astoria where you can have a great meal
3. Room was great, spotless and comfortable
4. Restaurant (Brazilian Churascarria) was really good. All you can eat BBQ for $20
5. Staff is very friendly and try to be very accommodating

Cons:
1. INTERNET was absolutely horrible - when I asked if there was something to do about the excruciatingly slow connection (Think 56kb a la 1990), the front desk told me I can call their ISP. Um really? I don't want to talk to my ISP when I'm at home, why would I want to talk to them while abroad in a hotel,
2. Hair products weren't great, I suggest buying some or bringing some with you
3. Room didn't have a safe, which kind of worried me

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for recent stay with us and for the kind feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the comments our the staff and facilities as our staff are the best in Long Island City when it comes to offering service and comfortable accommodations.

As our internet service will receive a major upgrade this month, we have been waiting for the service to arrive in our area and it finally has. You will not be disappointed on your next visit. Safes are located behind the reception area for guest use. I apologize for that but we also have this in our gust directories under "services".

We are most gracious that you gave us the opportunity to stay with us! Your travel resume is impressive as well as your contributions to Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had a great time staying at this Hotel. First of all it is very convenient what with the Train station being just a couple of minutes away. The staff is very cordial and the Hotel is definitely a YES for me for my future visits. They do have a small bar and can do with expanding it a bit. Worth its money for business travellers.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel! We appreciate the feedback and the suggestions. The convenience is valuable to our guests as you mentioned. On behalf of all of us at the Holiday Inn Manhattan View, thank you for staying with us and YES we look forward to your future visit.

Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.