We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small neat hotel close to Queens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice small neat hotel close to Queens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Holiday Inn Manhattan View in the Long Island City, New York is a nice neat hotel. The rooms are nice and clean and the property itself is good. It's a small hotel close to Queens and only 2 minutes walking distance from the Sub way station (39th Avenue, Ave Be Station) which makes it very convenient. Stayed there for only two nights and then had to move out to another hotel when we extended our stay for more two days as the hotel was over booked. Our overall stay for the two nights was good.

Room Tip: Choose a higher level room to have the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback and hoped you could have stayed longer. I appreciate the details conerning your stay and hoped to have you join us in the future, for longer of course!

আপনি যদি পরবর্তী সময় ভ্রমণ দয়া করে আপনার পর্যালোচনা উল্লেখ করা আবশ্যক. আমাদের সঙ্গে থাকা করার জন্য আপনাকে ধন্যবাদ!

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    238
    45
    22
    6
See reviews for
130
188
53
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights here. Our first time in New York. It was a relief to get here after staying in a less than reputable hotel in Jamaica the previous night. The staff were amazing, letting us check in early, giving us directions hints and tips for getting around. We loved the brazilian restaurant below and fell in love with Astoria. Even better our friends from philly came up and stayed in the same hotel. Thanks for the great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Nick and Leonie,

Thank you for the feedback and really happy to hear your "GREAT" stay with us was a better one. Please visit us next time and we look forward to your return in the future. We appreciate the time and Astoria is a Well Kept Secret....

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Without going into details, thanks go out to all the staff, especially Danny S., Elizabeth T. and Daisy. The gentleman who brought a roll-away bed late in the evening (twice, as the first one wasn't suitable for an adult-sized teenager--she ended up sleeping on the floor) deserves a shout-out as well. We were assured that the first roll-away would be replaced 'in the morning' but we had to call upon return in the evening to have it replaced. Sadly, the replacement roll-away wasn't much better than the first. This was the only negative of the entire stay. We had a lovely room with a fantastic view and a balcony. Our room was super-quiet. The (non-roll-away) bed and pillows were very nice and those of us in a bed slept well.

The hotel room and public areas were in great condition, very clean and attractive. It's a short walk (a block or so) to the N or Q lines of the subway, and maybe 4 stops to Central Park and 6 stops to Times Square. A cab from LaGuardia cost us $21 (including tip) and a hired car return trip was $30 (with tip). We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning and it was good. The Brazilian steakhouse dinner seemed like a good deal, but we weren't at the hotel during dinner time. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: We had a nice view of Manhattan from the 11th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Manhattan View! I apologize about the Rollaways condition but glad to hear you made the best of the time here with us. I will certainly let the Front Office Team know about your kind feedback wonderful to hear you were looked after. You found the hotel convenient in terms of proximity to NYC and a great value. We hope to see you down the road and appreciate your time and feedback..


WE WANT YOU BACK,......


Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Came back to NYC for the second time in six months. First stay in Maspeth was horrible.... But this was amazing!

We were welcomed and helped from the moment we walked in. Nice to see a fellow Brit on the desk too! Location was a 5 minute stroll to Queens Plaza and from there 10 minutes to Times Square.

The room was lovely although we paid extra for a balcony room and the view was terrible. Staff were really helpful tho and moved us to room 1508 which had an amazing view across to Manhattan. The area around the hotel is peaceful and we felt safe. There are schools, delis, cafes locally and it feels like a happy community.

The breakfasts in the hotel restaurant were lovely although a little expensive. The bar was really busy and a lovely place to escape to last thing at night.

Only gripe was that we booked a cab to Newark airport to come home and were told by hotel staff the fare was $90 incl tolls. When we got there we had to pay $140. Other than that this was the perfect stay and we will come back! We all now love New York!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Matthew,

We want to thank you for staying with us and appreciate the wonderful feedback! I see the staff were responseive in getting you to a better location within the hotel. Glad you found the location convenient and were able to feel secure and welcomed each day! We hope to see you in another 6 months if your time allows and let us know when your coming back! Apologies about the taxi fare and I will certainly bring this back toour staff to ensure we quote accurately.

Thank you for the review once again!!

Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location and value. My room was well appointed by NY standards. Had a rather large corner room with a balcony and a nice view (by ny standards). Very bright and airy. More importantly (as I spend little time in the rooms) was the staff. Rambo at check in greets me with a smile and by name. I've been here a few times both on business and pleasure and she always makes me feel welcome. I'm actually a long time SPG member and they are only two blocks away but I chose to stay here. Too bad I didn't know the pool was no more though, it's why I wanted to stay here instead this time, but Rambo and Janette (bartender) made the stay worth my while. janette was great, very responsive and attentive! If you're not already, become a IHG member, free drinks at happy hour and aside from that they really make you feel welcome. The icing on the cake is the $20Churrascaria (Brazillian Steakhouse), can't be beat! Good meats, an unbeatable price,free drinks, free wifi a prime location (to access NYC) makes this a must stay for me. Hope you get to experience the professionalism of Rambo and Jeannette when you visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Floridian,

Thank you for your kind feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and giving us an opportunity to show you the Holiday Inn Culture! Wonderful to hear you tried the Brazillian fare and the value is great! Thank you for becoming a Priortity Club Member, the best rewards program hotels have to offer. I will certainly pass on your comments to Rambo and Jeanette and thank you for the warm regards.

Till the next tiime we see you, have a wonderful travel season. From all of us....

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here during the first week of April. The hotel itself stands out amongst the surounding building making it very easy to spot. Its only a 500 foot walk to the nearest subway station(N and Q trains) which was extremely helpfull. But keep in mind that during the week the N and Q trains dont run to Manhattan between 10:15am and 3:00pm. Upon check in they requested a $50 per night hold for incendentals. I found this very confusing seeing as there was nothing you could charge to the room as far as I could tell and my room was fully prepaid. We got a room on the 10th floor facing West. The view was very nice. The only drawback was the construction going on next door. One moring it started as early as 6am. If you are a light sleeper then this can be a huge drawback. The single Queen room was small but very well maintained. The only issue with the room was the shower stall door did not keep water inside the shower, luckily we had lots of towels. We ate supper at the Brazilian restaurant downstairs. The food was good but the service was exceptional. The waitress sure seemed to like her job. The hotel has a gym but was disapointed that the pool was closed. That alone cost this hotel a 5 rating for me. Walking all day in Times Square, it would have been a huge help to have the pool/spa open to use. When checking out they utilize their own car company which costs $25 to LGA. Not bad, but no explination was given about it. I didnt know if I was to pay the driver or if the Hotel had charged it to my credit card already.

Overall I was pleased with my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate the details and concerns that you encountered during your visit. I appreciate the feedback and know that a few items youe explained could have been avoided and I will ensure to discuss them with our TEAM. Our Maintenace team will take a closer look at the shower doors. Taking an authorization for your stay is standard. Room Service, Valet Laundry, Phone Calls, Restauant/Bar are all considered items you can charge to your room. We should have explained this better. Also, the hotel doesnt have transportation set up so payments are made direclty with the company. Great to hear you expereiceed Rio Grande Brazilian Steak House, its definitely worth while.

We hope to see you again and if you do choose to visit us again, please feel free to contact me directly. We would also like to know the room you occupied to ensure we correct the maintenance isssue. Thank you again!

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have to say this hotel was brilliant from start to finish, I especially would like to thanks Danny and Rambo who were working on the desk as we turned up to the hotel, I had made a special request and they REALLY looked after us which really made our stay very very special indeed. The room was very clean and the mini fridge is very helpful for drinks etc. There is also a nice little shop across the road from the hotel which you can grab snacks, drinks and they do a lovely BLT hero! We also gave the Brazillian steak house a try which was located in the hotel, it was very good value for money at only $20 each and the staff were very helpful. Even the English man (his name escapes me) who was on the desk at night was helpful telling us the best place to rent a car to travel to the outlets. I look forward to stopping here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Krause,

Great to hear you enjoyed your time in NYC and the Staff "REALLY" looked after you! We're here for you and next time your passing through please let us know you'll be joining us. We would like the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Holiday Inn L.I.CIty Manhattan View.
Thank you for the kind feedback and I will pass on your comments to the TEAM, they're really excited to have been mentioned...

Till the next time.....

Cheers..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.