We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the subway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
worcester
1 review
“Close to the subway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is walking distance to the subway and easy to find time square, top of the rock ( a must see) and the 9/11 memorial. From our room you could hear the subway faintly. The room was a good size for one night with a full closet. We stayed on the second floor not much of a view (room 206). Parking: we saw 13 spots- and its $20 a night that you stay. You get a voucher for your dash board and you will get towed if you don't have a voucher. The parking is VERY tight! The check in desk will have maps of the city with subway information if you ask. Make sure your door is shut when you leave- it seemed to be a little difficult to close. The pool is closed- we were disapointed that it was not corrected on the web site when we were booking. Its a great price for a hotel, taxes, and parking for under $200 a night.

Room Tip: We could adjust the heat in our room which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Katelynn,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback! I apologize about the pool closure, I believe all information concerning this service has been updated since the new year but if there's a place where it is still published please let me know. We are also in the process of updating our collateral in rooms as well. Glad you found the property satisfactory and a value for what you were looking for. Thank you again for staying with us an please stay tuned for a new service that the hotel will offer in the coming months.

Safe Travels,

Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    268
    57
    24
    9
See reviews for
169
238
61
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Having never been to New York before, I selected this hotel based just on its price and previous ratings. For New York City, the hotel is affordable (I booked through Expedia). When I arrived I was tired after a total journey of more than 12 hours.

Initial impressions were good - the hotel is new and the neighbourhood safe. I strolled around as a single traveller and was always fine. The area has a few delis, including an excellent one just by the subway stop, which is just one block away from the hotel on the N and Q lines.

Inside, I was greeted by Luis, who after checking in immediately helped me, by providing a subway map and explaining how to find the main sites. The room was clean (and was serviced to a great standard daily). The coffee machine was great! The hotel was quiet and I got 4 good nights sleep out of four.

The restaurant suited my needs perfectly on the couple of days where I had been out and about and wanted a chilled evening. The gym was well equipped. Another bonus for me, as my mobile phone decided not to work, there was a business centre downstairs where I could freely email (to meet up with friends in NYC) and print boarding passes etc.

All in all a great experience, cannot fault the hotel or the staff, who looked after me.

Will be coming back for sure next summer! Thankyou!

Room Tip: Although I was on floor 4, the higher rooms have great views... take the lift up to 15th in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you sooo much for your time and feedback! Glad to hear you were safe, comfortable, found value, and experienced the services the hotel has to offer to your satisfaction. I will certainly forward your comments to our associates. We appreciate your business and please do not hesitate to contact us next year! Thank you for being a brilliant guest!

Safe Travels,

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Location:
Long Island City near train stations.
Small convenience store across the street.

Getting to Hotel from Airport:
Pre-booked Carmel car from Newark airport took 50 mins (at 10pm).

Check-In:
No waiting.
Fast and smooth.
Offered a package of cookies and water at check-in.

Room:
1607.
Non-smoking.
Smelled very clean
Fresh furnishings.
Large and comfortable.

Safe:
No.

Room Service:
Did not use.

Elevators:
Fairly fast.

Desk:
Good working height but drawer hits knees.
Desk Lamp.
Two power sockets in desk lamp.

Desk Chair:
Adjustable and comfortable for work.

Iron:
Yes.

Trouser Press:
No.

Robes:
No.

Slippers:
No.

Umbrella:
No.

Tea and Coffee in room:
Yes.

Complimentary Drinking Water:
Bottle offered at check-in.

Fridge:
Yes.

Turn Down Service:
No.

Room Lighting:
Bedside lamps.
Good lighting.

Closet, Drawer and Cabinet Space:
Medium sized closet with hanging area.
Drawer space below TV cabinets.

Phones:
Phone on desk.
Phone bedside.
No phone in bathroom.

Couch:
Two lounge chairs.

TV:
Medium sized LCD on cabinet.
Many channels including HBO.

Windows:
Sliding glass doors leading to balcony.
Curtains effective at blocking sunlight.

Balcony:
Yes.

View from Room:
LaGuardia airport in the distance.

Bathroom:
Medium sized.
Shower unit (door doesn’t close exactly so watch for water leakage).
No bathtub.
No bidet.
Magnifying mirror.
Very good lighting.
Basic amenities.
Water pressure strong.
Hot water in mornings. Not hot in evenings.
No heated mirror.
Shaver outlet for US style plugs.
Heated bathroom floor: No.

Morning Newspaper at Door:
No.
Complimentary US Today in the lobby.

Gym:
Did not use.
Smallish.

Pool:
Very small.
Closed for renovation.

Steam Room:
No.

Sauna:
No.

Noise Level in Room:
Very quiet.

Internet in Room:
Wireless.
Included in room rate.

Bed:
King size bed.
Bedside lamps.
Very comfortable and firm.
Very clean.

Room Cleanliness:
Cleaned daily.
Some sloppiness in cleaning.

Air Conditioning:
Very effective.

Alarm Clock and Wakeup:
Wake up calls requested from reception were always on time.

Laundry Service:
Did not use.

Microwave Oven:
No.

Breakfast:
Reasonably priced a la carte or small buffet.

Restaurant:
Good prices (especially with coupon).
Food OK.
Staff was excellent.

Parking:
Did not use.

Staff:
Excellent service.
Genuinely concerned.

Check Out:
Fast.

Getting from Hotel to Airport:
60 minutes (at 2pm) to Newark airport by pre-arranged Carmel car.

Room Tip: Take coupons offered at check-in for restaurant discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed account of your stay and full comprehensive list of amenities and services our hotel has to offer. This is how you fully evaluate a property and noticed the same approach with other hotels you visited. A quality inspector approach!

From the response, it looks like we passed and appreciate you describing your stay for consumers to see what a great hotel we are. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the staff and operation up to your expectations. We strive to improve more on your next visit. One thing I wanted to mention is there's a microwave for guests to use in the lower level as well as upon request.

Travel Safely and again please let us know the next time you’re in town. Thank you for staying with us!

Appreciatively,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just after Thanksgiving last year, our apartment had to undergo emergency repairs. We were to be out a total of three weeks, but we did not know it then. We got to this hotel after week 1. By then our nerves were still frazzled, the kids were a bit undone by the new routine (and upset by our previous accomodations) and I was just anxious about a million things. Then the insurance company offered us the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. Finally, heaven was smiling! This is such a gem of a hotel. It is modern on the outside, yet the rooms have touch of warmth and very spacious. I believe most every room has a view of Manhattan, either a balcony or an extra alcove. Our rooms had an alcove with a nice ottoman where you could lie down, throw open the curtains and enjoy the view! Serenity, just what we needed! It is so clean and neat, our housekeeping staff were starting to feel like family. The front desk folks were so nice and accommodating. One of them is named "Rambo", that still makes me smile. When you visit, you'll see why! There is a Brazilian eat-all-you-can restaurant in house. They also served decent breakfasts, buffet or a la carte. One of the best things about this hotel is it is just TWO STOPS away from Bloomingdale's in Manhattan. That is closer to the Upper East side, than Times Square is! And the other best thing: you are in Queens! Which means fabulous eating is just a few subway stops away: Astoria, Jackson Heights, Long Island City, Woodside, Flushing. We ended up staying two weeks. The kids did not want to leave anymore! This hotel is definitely #1 on my list to recommend to out of town guests from now on!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Neighbor,

Thank you for your kind feedback! Thank you for taking time out of your day to recreate your experience at the Holiday Inn L.I. City Manhattan View when so much personally is happening around your personal life! We're thrilled to hear your back home with your family and settled. I only hope that that these circumstances only happen once in a lifetime but given the unfortunate call, we would have ever been able to have you as our guest.

I'm very proud of my team and this account of your stay will inspire them to continue to do what we do best, hospitality. I will pass on your lovely comments to the Restaurant Management as well. Should you find yourself back in L.I. City for any reason I will certainly be delighted to have you back with us! Rambo has acquired yet another guest to look after as she really takes the time to ensure our guests are comfortable. Glad to hear Rambo was there to make you smile in the time of need!

From your number FAN, we look forward to assisting you in the future........Travel safely!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We came into Long Island for a wake and a funeral. The hotel was selected by a friend. We arrived early coming from eastern Long Island. We didn't know what the check in time was. We waited about an hour and a half. We were comped an upgrade room for waiting on the 15th floor. The room was beautiful and the view of Manhattan was the best. We only stayed one nite. The bed was very comfortable along with the bedding and pillows. We only had a few minor complaints which I'm sure will be taken care of. The ice maker was not producing ice, the clock radio in the room could not be set for a wake up time which could have been our fault. But the personnel took our request over the phone at the front desk. The sliding glass door was making a noise I believe due to the wind as it was very windy and cold. The heat in the lobby and the bar could have been better. Over all everything else was wonderful. The personnel was warm and professional. Knowing this is a new hotel I feel these are probably kinks that need to be worked out. I hope so as we would like to recommend this hotel and would probably use it again it the future. Thank you John and Victoria Olexa

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear John and Victoria,

We are sorry for your recent loss. I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to respond and review our property during a tough time. This week was unusual in terms of weather however we have discovered a unit in the lower level that needed attention so we will correct the temperature in the main lobby moving forward. Items in the rooms have been addressed, thank you. I distinctly recall speaking with you upon arrival, thank you for staying with us and please do not hesitate to contact in the future for reservations. I will ensure your room is in perfect order. We will ensure on you on the net visit you will not encounter anything less a perfect stay.

Wishing you and your family well!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Luis was an extraordinary concierge and the highest representation of such a well-known worldwide brand. The room we had was amazing and had a beautiful view of Manhattan! We absolutely loved the Brazilian steakhouse inside. I will definitely stay here again.
Ask for the 11th floor and above!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Dru,

Thank you for your recent review and wonderful commentary on our staff, product and services. Our lower floors are nice too, just saying! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your business! We cannot wait till the next time. Happy Traveling!!!!!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was chosen because it was a Holiday Inn with great reviews, pricing and location to public transportation for week long business in midtown Manhattan. The large queen room (605) with mini-fridge overlooked 39th St and is high enough that some upper Manhattan views are visible and the street noise was low. It is also situated away from the elevator and did not face the construction on the building next door so the interior noise level was low. I felt very comfortable and safe walking daily the two blocks to the 39th St Metro station and grabbing the N or Q to midtown for business activities. The staff was always friendly and helpful, and quickly responded to an issue we had with our thermostat mid-week. My daughter, who shared the room, enjoyed the fitness center daily, and I used the "business center" (a computer/printer under the stairs) to print my boarding passes. We tried the restaurant twice, but found eating out more enjoyable. The selections were okay, but the food is so-so, and since the restaurant is on the basement level, it is very dark. Our room had a mini-fridge, so we took advantage of the Deli and grocer across the street, and the microwave on the lowest level. I paid for parking and had a spot each evening, but heads up, the spaces and navigation areas are tight, so smaller vehicles are better choices. That said, street parking would not be a problem in this neighborhood.

If I had to make a negative comment, it is that there is no ramp near the front entryway so it was a challenge to navigate the luggage trolley when arriving and leaving.

Room Tip: Sixth floor, north view is sufficient if you want views and low noise. The mini-fridge was a bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feeback and review of our property! We appreciate your time and detail and of course being a "Gem" of a guest! Pricing, Location, Confortable, Safe, Friendly, Helpful, and Quick Response very much depicts our culture at the Holiday Inn. I will certainly look into your suggestions and pass your thoughts onto our departments. I'm delighted you you enjoyed your stay and found the services to fit your travel needs and we look forward to a future visit!

Travel Safely.........

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 972 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#9 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.