We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Rates & Phenomenal View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View to your Saves list
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Rates & Phenomenal View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel is right on a subway stop making it super convenient to get into the city. Our room was very clean, the staff was friendly. And we got a room with a glass front and private balcony for way less than a room in the city. I would def stay here again. Where else can you get a sweeping view of Manhattan while lying in your bed!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a glass front with a balcony! Worth it~!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

We hoped you enjoyed your time with us! It looks like you took in the sights without having to leave your room. This is just one of the great features the Holiday Inn Manhattan View has to offer! Our associates will just love to hear the kind feedback and please ensure you keep in touch. We would be delighted to have you back with us in the future! All the best to you and please bring us some of that Southern weather soon!!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    229
    50
    21
    7
See reviews for
142
209
57
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I had a 12th floor room which was fine. Got a bargain rate from priceline. Had one dinner after my late arrival which was quite good.

The N subway stop is 2 short blocks away, and with my Senior MTA card, I probably spent 4 hours a day on the trains.

I would agree. Why pay for Manhattan hotels?

That said, we did spend 3 nights at 102 Brownstone (a B & B in Harlem in late July) - great fun there, and a block and a half from the subway.

Room Tip: Higher floors with views of Manhattan are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback! I appreciate that you remembered us after some time and hopefully we can welcome you back this April? I will pass on the kind remarks to our associates. Should you need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Have a great new year and thank you again! Gracias!!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

I was a bit hesitant after booking the hotel add I feared it was out of the way. How wrong was I! 3 minute walk to the subway and in 12 minutes you are in Times Square! Hotel was excellent, great rooms, fantastic food and great staff. 10/10

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

I don't want to count how many times I have to answer this question on a daily basis with all of my wonderful visitors. I'm delighted that you found this location most convenient and I'm impressed with the detail minute information you provided! I would like to use it in our marketing campaigns?

I will be sure to pass on the wonderful comments about the Food, Rooms and Staff! I cannot be more thrilled to have a great team! Till the next time we can be of service, have a wonderful New Year! Thank you for staying with us!

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

Manhattan View Holiday Inn is really good value for money. The staff are really helpful and friendly especially Jenny on reception. The Manager Rosario goes out of his way to offer excellent customer service. We stayed there the 1st to the 6th December 2011, this was my 4th trip to New York and we had a fantastic time. The hotel is clean, the breakfast was good we ate there one night and was really pleasantly surprised by the bar food. The burger and fries was enormous and delicious, good value for $12.00. The subway is a couple of minutes walk away and we felt totally safe in the area. Just a couple of stops into Manhattan makes this hotel one of the best to stay in because you really do get more for your money and a spectacular view..To be honest Manhattan is very busy this time of year and I was glad to be staying just across the river.The hotel is JFK side so was $45.00 to get to the airport. Try Zantes the Greek deli for the best bagel, it is 2 minutes walk away next to the subway station.Well done Rosario you are doing a great job and would totally recommend this hotel to friends, family and business colleagues.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a suite with a Manhattan View if you can afford it, totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your kind feedback and detail of service and products the Holiday Inn Manhattan View offers! I will be sure to pass on the comments and its was a pleasure to have you as our guest! Till the next time, you can always rely on us for your retreats to the states. Have a wonderful New Year!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We chose to stay here and save some money over staying in Manhattan proper, because the hotel stated it was right on the subway line and a cab ride from the airport is around $15. Both of these statements are true, but misleading. The cab ride from the airport was just over $15 (before tip), but they don't tell you it will cost 40% more to get back to the airport. The hotel will either take you in a car, or hail a cab from their buddies around the corner - either option is $25, a full 40% more than the ride from the airport to the hotel. Further, the hotel is within a couple blocks of the 39th Ave. subway station, but what they don't tell you is that the trains that service this station don't necessarily run at useful times. After taking in a show on a weekend night, we waited 40 minutes for a subway train going back out to Queens. The next day, we went to hop a train back to Manhattan, only to find that there were no Manhattan bound trains from that station. We had to go four or five stops in the opposite direction, hop a different train and come back - wasting over 30 minutes in the process. The hotel advertises a pool, but it's so small (10' x 17') that a posted sign indicates it accommodates a maximum of 12 people - and it was closed the one time I tried to visit it anyway. Additionally. . .
The linens were in worse shape than the typical Motel 6 (see photo), the pillows were the worst I think I've ever experienced at any hotel, the freezer in the mini fridge couldn't manage to freeze my reusable ice pack, there was no bath tub, the temperature in the room was constantly increasing, and no matter how many times we turned the thermostat "off," it just kept turning back on and cranking the temperature to 74 or 75 degrees, even with the thermostat set to 68. And the restaurant - oh, where to begin. It's barely open any useful hours (dinner is only 600-930), the service is slow (we were seated at 630, promptly ordered, and didn't receive our food until after 7:30) to non-existent (didn't refill our glasses once, despite there being only three other tables with guests in the entire place), and the food was horrible. We ordered a chocolate souffle cake (with a molten center) for dessert, and it was so cold when it arrived, the ice cream on top didn't melt and the molten center wasn't molten.
Further, upon check-in, we were told that, because we'd booked through a third party (Expedia) we would not receive our Priority Club points, despite the fact that this has never been an issue before, nor was it mentioned on their either Expedia's or the hotel's website.

In short, to paraphrase another reviewer, it's not the Holiday Inn you'd expect. Unless you have business in Queens, if you have the means, spend the extra money and stay in Manhattan. If you have to stay in Queens, don't stay here if you have another choice; you won't get what you're expecting.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, January 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback and time allowing me to research your experience at our property. The Management Team and I want to apologize for not having an opportunity to discuss your experience in person.
The subway termainal can alternate schedules from time to time and this usually goes for weekend service in NYC. Something that is unavoidable unfortunately. The yellow taxis are only majorly accessible at airports and city centers. We do not have the luxury of taxis being at the ready in this section of NYC nor can we contact them. The first option is to arrange transportion with our preferred service that is just one block away which is both convenient to our guests and efficient.
Our pool is small, and has a small capacity. I apologize that it wasnt available at the time during your stay. The heating in the room could have been adjusted manaually by one of Engineers. I apologize again about the service in the restaurant and would be delighted to adjust off the charge upon contacting me. The frayed bath mat in your picture is valuable, thank you! This is a first encounter at this property and I will ensure our quality is up to standard. Lastly, Priorty Club Rewards, as with every hotel chain rewards program, doesn't extend rewards when booking through a third party. We prefer you contact IHG directly as you receive the Best Rate Guarantee and all the benefits that go with being a rewards member. This would have been explained if you chose at the the time of booking to apply your PCR number.
Our goal is for our guests to depart knowing their stay is perfect 10! As I mentioned earlier, my team and I were available and ready to have made your stay more enjoyable should you have mentioned some of these concerns at that time. You can see from previous posts that the staff here are helpful, freindly, and always willing to assist. The hotel is a perfect location and convenient to NYC. I would be appreciative if you could contact me directly at 718-707-3700 or rbianchi@himanview.com as I would like to obtain more specific details about your stay. I apologize again and thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Manhattan View!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Its located in the heart of LIC, minutes away from midtown. You can ride the 7 train all the way to Flushing.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Dear Jimmy,

Thanks for being a Senior Contributor on Trip Advisor as users can come to trust the sources of information being displayed from you! Thanks for the feedback and please come back to the neighborhood sometime to visit us. Have a happy and healthy New Year......

Most Gracious!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels234
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

I reserved a room and had to cancel it last minute. I cancelled it 1 hour after the allotted cancellation period -- 7pm day before instead of 6pm (yes my fault), then a few weeks later I saw a charge on my credit card. My issue was that I cancelled using my "Priority Club App," and was allowed to do so without any flag or message saying cancelling after "cancellation period." It permitted me to cancel the reservation, leading me to believe I wouldn't be charged. In most cases for a platinum member, even after the cancellation period, I've been granted a courtesy cancel, or refund of my "no show" charge. I was surprised when the hotel refused my request

During another stay at this hotel I experienced l the rooms were nice and well appointed. Although the front desk agent was a bit cold towards us when we checked in late (3 AM). The area is a bit sketchy. We did not use any of the other services at the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosario B, General Manager at Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Dear ,

Thank you for your feedback! After careful research, the Holiday Inn Manhatan view recongnized that you booked your reservation through IAHI. According to the IAHI Guidelines, your cancellation through your phone application would have disclaimed the cancellation policy. There is also a number to contact a reservation representative as well. I apologize if you had not reviewed this upon making your reservation. Also, being a Platinum Member is a reward for being a member of this very important organization automatically. I would have suggetsted to offer you reward points for future stays. However, given the opportunity to discuss this at my discretion, we may have resolved this amicably.

If you would like to discuss this and your expereince upon arrival more in detail please contact me at rbianchi@himanview.com or 718-707-3700. I appreciate your time and look forward to speaking with you. Again, thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Manhattan View.

Have a wonderful Holiday Season!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View

Address: 39-05 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Manhattan View sets the bar high for Manhattan area hotels. With views of the unmistakable New York City skyline, our NYC hotel provides an exceptional backdrop for both business and pleasure. At our affordable Queens hotel, just minutes from Manhattan, New York City's legendary landmarks have never seemed so accessible! Explore the Empire State Building, Central Park, the Metropolitan Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Opera House at Lincoln Center, the Museum of the Moving Image, and the Statue of Liberty. Of course no visit would be complete without visiting other nearby sights including Times Square, Bryant Park, Grand Central Station, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. Among Long Island City hotels, Holiday Inn Manhattan View is a nearby neighbor to many Fortune 500 companies, offering easy access to Citibank, MetLife, the United Nations, JetBlue, Delta, and Mount Sinai Medical Center. Our hotel is conveniently located within a short drive of all the major New York airports: LaGuardia, JFK and Newark. This Queens hotel offers guests free high-speed Internet access and a perfect location just minutes from Manhattan. Ideal for international travelers and vacationers, this Astoria, Queens hotel is located just one block from the N and Q subway lines and just a few blocks from the E and R subway lines. For an unforgettable New York City experience close to celebrated NYC attractions, look no further than the Holiday Inn Manhattan View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn l.i. City - Manhattan View Hotel Long Island City
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.