We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Days Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value, nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This was a great property located conveniently between two subway stations. It is just about 1 1/2 blocks from the 7 train, which will get you pretty much anywhere you need to go. We were not he 4th floor. The hotel was very quiet and clean. However, I could see how the 1st floor rooms could be very loud as there is a public toilet, exercise room and breakfast area there. The ice machine is in the basement area. I went down there once for ice and thought that it looked a bit depressing. Laundry was piled around and other equipment was in the hall, but it was clean nonetheless.
We were lucky and were able to get a parking spot. However, most of the time the lot was very full and I would recommend expecting a full lot. There is a parking garage just behind the hotel with an entrance beside the 7-11 store. The breakfast area was very small, but we were able to have a seat every day. There was toast, oatmeal, yogurt, muffins, croissants, etc. Not a huge selections, but sufficient. The muffins looked like they were from a local bakery and were very good. As far as the room is concerned, yes, it is very small, but that is to be expected in NYC. It looked recently updated, was clean and very comfortable. The housekeeping staff was excellent and serviced the room efficiently. Our room was on same side of the train and it is true, the train is right outside your window. However, we did not find that it was too loud and it did not keep us awake at night. It was like a rumble of thunder every few minutes. That is all. The area immediately surrounding the neighborhood is not residential and only has a few dining options (diner a and a deli right up the street) and they are only open for lunch. I took a few runs out into the residential areas and felt very safe the whole time. Queens Blvd. is very busy and I felt like it was very safe in the area. Some people talk about having to cross the "spooky bridge" to get to one on the subway stations. It is NOT spooky. It is just a normal bridge with a train above. Many people are walking on it at any given point in time. Overall, the Days Inn Long Island City met or exceeded our expectations. It was in a great location just a few Subway stops from Manhattan. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask them for the 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    97
    127
    51
    60
See reviews for
96
117
38
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I first walked in and the front desk serice was not friendly. We were then given our key to our room in the basement right next to the cleaning room where they kept all the towls. The room was small and felt like I was in a closest. The breakfast was not good, you are better off getting something in a gas station. It was walking distance to the train station and this was the only good thing about the hotel. It was cheap to stay at, we had booked two nights at this hotel as we were making our way to another destination during our long Memorial weekend. We would have booked somewhere else but everywhere was booked. I will never come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from my first trip to NYC. Stayed at this hotel because of the location to the subway and the price. Staying in Manhattan is expensive. The staff here were nice and very helpful when I needed something. My room was clean and bed actually slept very well. There is a 7-11 next door to pickup drinks and such but you are going to have to hop on the subway to go find something to eat. If I were to go back to NYC, I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

NASTY! READ MY WHOLE REVIEW---AND THEN STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! My daughter and I booked it blind on HOTWIRE because we got it for $95. For only one night I thought it would be fine. It is close to train and trust me I wasn't expecting much! The room ended up being a smoking room and they said that whoever I spoke too did not write it up and they were booked. Parking-only a few spots so I had to park on the street...which was better than the vacant gas station they told me to park at with broken glass everywhere. Breakfast was nothing impressive. But besides having staff that were not helpful.....the room had stained carpets, splattered walls-blood?? And the stained dirty sheets had hair all over them-YUCK! I had to get a set of new sheets and make it myself! The safe in the room (HAHA)...sitting on top of a cheep wooden cupboard-and not even nailed down (not putting anything in there!) The door to our room is not hung straight and there was a big gap-grateful there was not a fire! Oh, and lets not forget the lady saying goodnight to her gentleman friend in the hallway at 3 am! So freaked out!
HOTWIRE also has the address wrong...and don't try calling the front desk of the hotel while you are driving around lost-they will pick up receiver and hang up! (5 times)
STAY AWAY! Room 612 (also overlooks the trains) 6/28/2014

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. No matter how much you complain staff wont help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations for service and accommodations at our property. Rest assured we take your comments very seriously and will see to it that those concerns are addressed. Please know that this is not of the norm, and it seems we dropped the ball somewhere. Again, thank you for your comments as we use them as a tool to better improve our hotel. We hope you will return to see us the next time you are in the city so we may better demonstrate the quality hotel stay you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Address: 31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.