We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short business trips and travelling single” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    88
    109
    41
    59
See reviews for
85
104
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I booked a double non-smoking room at this hotel for two gentlemen who are part of an organization I volunteer with, as they were attending a conference nearby. When they arrived and the front desk staff realized they were black, they put them into a room in the basement that wreaked of smoke. When they asked to be moved because of this odor, they were told all double rooms were full and they could not be moved. When I called the hotel to inquire, I started by asking the woman who answered the hone if they had double non-smoking rooms available for that night. (Note, I am white and definitely sound white on the phone.) The woman told me they had open double rooms and quoted me a price. I then asked if I could book one of those rooms and have the gentlemen moved from the room they were in and she immediately handed the phone to the manager. The manager proceeded to tell me they had no open double rooms and insisted that the room they were in was a non-smoking room and he could not move them. They checked out and found a cleaner, nicer room at another hotel for only $30 more per night (and cheaper than the price quoted to me on the phone by the front desk when they supposedly had available rooms at the Days Inn). This place is probably fine if you aren't black or some other minority that the management doesn't care for, but why would you want to stay at a hotel that still believes in Jim Crow laws?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I am so sorry we failed to meet your expectations for service and accommodations at our property. Rest assured I take your comments very seriously and will see to it that those concerns are addressed. Please know that this is not of the norm, and it seems we dropped the ball somewhere. Again, thank you for your comments as I use them as a tool to better improve our hotel. We hope you will return to see us the next time you are in the city so we may better demonstrate the quality hotel stay you expect and deserve.

Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The customer service of this hotel is horrible. They are listed as having parking and only have about 20 spots for the whole hotel. There is not parking anywhere near it at night, the parking garage that is close by only operates during the day. The rooms are small. My sheets were stained. I would never chose to go here again. Steer clear.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Rebecca G,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

We would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We will look into each issue that you have noted. And, we will pay closer attention to this particular situation to resolve it.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island Cit
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a genuinely filthy hotel. Upon check in, the room was terribly dirty. Coffee Pot stained for all 6 nights despite constant complaints to the reception. Corridor was a rubbish dump. Everything is a mess. Moreover, when i asked to store my suitcase upon check out, they refused, my only option was to take a room for 2 hours for 50 USD!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Emad A,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.

We would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. We will look into each issue that you have noted. And, we will pay closer attention to this particular situation to resolve it.

We hope to see you again at the hotel as we are improving our service and standards every day. Please excuse us this time as we were lacking in attention and I promise we will take better care of our guests here on now. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Address: 31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.