We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dangerous place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Days Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3136 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
palm springs
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dangerous place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I think this is some kind of welfare hotel , Make the mistake of staying one night and get the hell out. It was a feeling of being trapped . The room was 90 percent bed and difficult to get around the room .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello silentmike,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We really apologize for any inconvenient you had during your stay.

As far as the rooms are concern all rooms in New York City are small and compact whether you stay in Brooklyn , Manhattan , Queens, or even in Long Island City. However I would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectations. The hotel is fully secured and monitored for any suspicious activity, their is no reason to be a afraid of the location.

Please excuse us at this time because I promise you that these mistakes will not occur again in future. We hope to see you soon at our hotel. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    110
    126
    49
    57
See reviews for
70
92
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We took a cruise out of NYC and as this was our first visit, we wanted to stay an extra day and see the city. We priced several other places that were closer to Manhatten and this was very reasonable considering. It was a $19.50 taxi ride from 8th & 52nd and $33 back the next day to meet back up with our friends. Our room was small but clean. We only needed a place to sleep so this met our needs nicely. The staff was friendly and very helpful!!

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, so noise wasn't too bad. We stayed on a Saturday night and the traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Erik469 H,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review.

I am delighted to know that you were pleased with the services at Days Inn; Long Island City has to offer. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel is not in an area that you would consider pretty,but it is a great location. Only 2 blocks from the N,R, and Q lines that take you anywhere you want to go. Rooks are clean. Staff is wonderful.

Room Tip: Wonderful place to commute from to see all of Manhattan and Brooklyn .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello crmmj1,

Hello I want to thank you very much for writing the positive review for us as we do our best to improve our service everyday for our guests.

I am very happy to see that you found our staff wonderful. We pride ourselves in making our guests feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. I will definitely be passing on the kind words to our team.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Room is small. For the price, it's ok, since we only need a olace to sleep. The room has a door hanger that says "do not disturb" on 1 side and "maid, please make up my room" on the other. 1st night, we have a lot of trash from the long trip, so the next morning, we put out the door hanger asking to have service (to make sure they do). When we got back, late at night, the door hanger was flip to "do not disturb". Next day, we didn't put out the sign, but asked the reception before we left, please clean up our room. The receptionist said, not need to ask, we will. When we came back, late at night, they did clean our room, took out the dirty tower, but did not put new ones in. We had only 2 clean, small towers (for 2 people). When we used the, the fiber fall all over our body. It was late, and we were tired, we did not have the energy left to ask for new tower to take another bath. When we left, we asked the receptionist to call a taxi for us to LaGuardia airport. He called, said it'd take 5 min (5 min later, he said i'd take 7-12 min) we guessed it's traffic. Later, there's a suv came. He stopped at the front, when around, then came in, talked to the receptionis, then left to his car, opened the trunk and waved at us (we sat on the couch, waiting right across the receptionist). We asked the receptionist "is it our taxi" (which did not look like one). He said yes. We came out, asked the guy we want to go to the LGA airport, and if he will accept credit card, because we did not have much cash left. He said yes, but in his car, we see no credit card swipe machine. We asked him, he gave us a business card, ask us to call his company (which said taxi and limousine service) have them our credit card number (before the trip), or he would drive us to an ATM machine to get cash. We got out. Came back to the receptionist, told him we just need a regular taxi. He said, you have to asked. For regular taxi, you go out, catch it on the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bodalrah, General Manager at Days Inn Long Island City, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Tuhnah,

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel.

Many times it may be possible that our housekeepers have missed a few aspects but it is not in their routine to do so. Please, we apologize very much for such inconvenient service since we are doing our best to improve our hotel day by day.

I assure you, your concerns will not go unnoticed and I will be speaking with our entire staff immediately regarding the condition of your room and the response you received from the front desk staff. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. We are striving to better ourselves and our services.

Again, I do apologize and I hope you give us the opportunity in the future to better serve you. Thank you for your time and we really appreciate for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York
Address: 3136 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.