We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Long Island City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Long Island City to your Saves list
Days Inn Long Island City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Affordable, clean and good location........will be back again and recommend it to friends

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    103
    134
    52
    68
See reviews for
101
124
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

staff were helpful enough ..rooms were small but clean .brekfast was very basic e.g. toast cereal or egg .

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

Because a couple of reviews had mentioned experiences with bedbugs in this hotel, we made sure to check the bed before we brought any luggage into the room. We were given room 209, and pulled the mattress and boxspring away from the wall and saw evidence of a pretty bad bedbug infestation in the room - spots all over the seams of the mattress, and there were actually a couple bedbugs crawling around up there. We caught a bug and took it to the management, and asked for a different room. They gave us a room one floor higher, and we checked it carefully and found no evidence of bedbugs there. We kept all our luggage in the bathroom with the lights turned on just to make sure (bedbugs don't like light) and washed everything right when we got home, but it doesn't look like we brought any bugs with us.

Otherwise, the hotel was fine. Breakfast was an average cold continental thing, and the hotel was reasonably clean aside from the bugs. Management wasn't super friendly, but they were efficient and helpful. The hotel is super convenient to the subway. In fact, the subway goes right past the hotel, so we made sure to ask for a room on the other side of the hotel from the subway and we had no problems with noise.

Aside from bedbug-nervousness, the hotel is a good value. As long as you make sure to check the room carefully before you bring in your luggage and accept the room, this hotel should be fine. I would think twice before staying there again, but I also know there is bedbug risk at any hotel in NYC...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miskolc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

I spend 2 weeks in New York, in this hotel. The staff was wery nice and helpfull (when we check in we have some problem our bank card, and accoutn, but the staff just tell us: go to the room, relax and the next day we can solve the problem.) Good advice for all traveller, who want to pay the Hotel (mor than 1000 euro) with Bank card (credit or debit), first off all check Your card limits and if it need u must lift it.
The room was clening every day, the breakfast not the best, every day the same, and wery poor variety. One thing, if u need a taxi, dont ask the staff, go to the street and catch it one, because the staff call not a regular yellow cab, and maybe u will be surprised if the driver tell u the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

Let me start by stating that if you are looking for a luxury get-away in New York this hotel is not for you. But if you are looking for a clean hotel with good service and easy access to Manhattan then this hotel is worth considering.
I will try and give a pretty accurate overview.
Location:
Positive: 2 blocks (1 minute walk) from 33 St Rawson Street Underground Station. The train took you straight to Times Square in less than 15 minutes. By taxi the same journey would easily take you double the time due to traffic on the Queensborough bridge.
Negative : As the hotel was directly next to the underground line it was very noisy. Our room was on the 4th floor and our window was directly on the same level as the railway line overlooking it. So ear-plugs really were a necessity if you wanted any sleep. But then you are in New York, a city that never sleeps so don't expect peace and quiet.
Hotel Rooms:
Positive : Room itself was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable and the sheets crisp and clean. Bathroom was totally spotless and towels were clean and were changed daily.
Negative : As many in NY, the room was pretty small. And although otherwise clean, it had not been vacumed before we arrived and had some crumbs and whatever else on the carpet. It was vacumed the day after we arrived but I am pretty sure that was the only time during our 5 night stay. However, I must say, that was the ONLY gripe I had about the cleanliness of the room or indeed the general cleanliness of the hotel, otherwise I found no reason to complain.
Breakfast :
Positive : The complimentary breakfast although basic, in my opinion was adequate. They offered coffee, tea, 2 types of juice (always nice and cold), toast, 2 types of bagels, 2 types of cereals, 3 types of danish pastries, fresh apples, jams, butter, cream cheese, eggs....The breakfast was served between 0630am and 0930am and no matter what time you went there was a member of staff constantly replenishing everything.
Negative : Nothing! For a complimentary service in a small reasonably priced hotel it was above any expectations I may have had.
Service :
The staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. I travel a lot and I was very pleased about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The front desk staff always greeted us on arrival, asked about our day, arranged taxi's and were always happy to help and answer any questions. On arrival they seemed to be expecting us and without even asking, they handed us a Fed Ex delivery which had been delivered to us earlier that day. There was a feeling of personal service and attention to detail without additional "fuss" or pretending. Just simple, friendly, helpful service.
Negative : Nothing negative can be said about the service.

Once again I would stress that this is a Days Inn in Queens, not a 5 star establishment in Manhattan. But it served us perfectly fine for a 5 night shopping & Theatre trip to New York and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Very convenient and close to the subway for getting around. BUT The rooms were very small and dated. You need the wax type not foam earplugs to block out the steet and train noise! Breakfast was OK but teeeny tiny area so had to watch those fortunate enough to have a table and grab table as soon as their bums left the seat. The wireless internet did not work in our room. WORST of all were the sheets with holes, the handsized towel, no bathmat and the thick layer of dust around the room. Also the sheets were only changed once in the week we were there. Pretty slack! I think the housemaids were extremely lazy ...rubbish bins were left unemptied in the room and shampoo and conditioner were not replenished daily even when I politely pointed this out to the concierge it was not done the following day either. We had left tips daily but desisted after that. I think I would prefer to stay elsewhere in future despite the conveninece of this hotels location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

stayed for two nights and would recomend hotel location very close to city

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Days Inn Long Island City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Long Island City

Address: 31 - 36 Queens Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Long Island City 2*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Long Island City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Long Island City Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Days Inn
Days Inn Long Island City New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Long Island City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.