We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in LIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Communitea

Communitea
47-02 Vernon Blvd., Long Island City, NY 11101
718-729-7708
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Restaurant details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem in LIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great place for breakfast or if you're just having a coffee and cake moment. On entering it is very warm and welcoming, staff are friendly and music is bluesy/soulful/chilled out. Many people taking advantage of the free Wifi. Lots of teas available which I didn't find anywhere else in NYC! Very tasty Paninis & sandwiches with a good selection of fillings on offer. I had the best chocolate brownie I've ever eaten but all the scones and cakes looked amazing!!! Great place for a light lunch for around $10, I noticed an earlier review saying it was a rough neighborhood but we felt safe walking around, I think of it more as up and coming than down and out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A diamond in a rough neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice people, good food and drinks, excellent value for money. A must for people who are looking for special experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My favourite spot in Long Island City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looks old and drab from the outside, but the food and the service makes up for it. It's just a good place to grab a bite in the neighbourhood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great spot for Coffee and WiFi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great standard in LIC for a quick (or not so quick) coffee and some free wifi...

Staff is always friendly and welcoming, and the crowd is decidedly local. Plenty of people working on screenplays, resume's, or just surfing the web. Also a great spot to sit and catch up with a friend.

Sandwiches and panini's are great as well, and the menu changes with specials occasionally.

Never in a rush to kick you out if you've finished your coffee. Heck, stay and have a sandwich too...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very hip teahouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As one of the oldest spots in today's LIC, they always keep themselves fresh with new kind of foods and drinks. Me and my sons, we feel so lucky that our school bus stop is right in front of Communitea and we can treat ourselves with right out of oven pastries in the morning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Communitea also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Communitea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Communitea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.