We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Absolutely Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

The Verve Hotel is the jewel of Long Island City. The beautiful cherry wood work in the suites will place you in the lap of luxury, while the staff makes you feel as if you are a guest in their own home. Combine this with some of the most affordable prices in New York and a location that makes accessing downtown easy, and you have a real winner. Quite simply, I have never stayed at a hotel with a staff so dedicated to their guests satisfaction, and after staying at the Verve, it will be the only hotel I stay at in New York from now on!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    329
    72
    7
    26
See reviews for
240
503
95
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

This hotel beats most of the Manhatton hotels but cost much less! Its location right next to a metro Station and just cross Queensboro Bridge, makes it more convienantly located than most manhatton hotels anyway. No joke, it's literally 5 mins ride to Central park / 5th Ave etc.

The complimentary breakfast was fantastic and has so much to choose from. I recommond making your own waffles in the machine:). The hot chocolate was so nice and the range of bagles was impressive.

For all those Brits going, Dont worry, there is no kettle in the room but in the main lobby, outside breakfast room, you have access to unlimited free hot drinks, tea/coffee etc for free of charge.

The rooms are huge, clean and modern. The bed is comfy and you will be happy to hear not a bed bug inside.

The staff are so helpful and make you feel very welcome. Dont be afraid to ask them for advice and directions. Like so many others, we will mention TOM! YES, the famous TOM was very helpful and charming. We have been to many countries and overall, this is the best hotel we have stayed in. That saying something, after we have stayed in few 5 star hotels.

Of course it is not Hollywood Glamour, but if you want to start your day with a smile on your face and scrambled egg / sausage bagel in your stomach, then I urge you to stay in the VERVE. You will not be disappointed.

It's quite funny, from the moment we arrived, we kept saying where is the catch, too good to be true....Turns out there is none.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Excellent hotel for a visit to nyk-city! Large rooms, nice large beds, wifi. Very friendly personnel at the reception. In the morning the host was always present to help you with all of yr questions.
No nice restaurants in the direct neighbourhood. But in a 10-minutes walk you are at a subwaystation and ten minuts more in the heart of Manhattan!!
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much !!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Having booked this hotel based on price, location, size of rooms and comments from the internet we were pleasantly surprised.
We arrived late on Friday evening after catching a bus from outside JFK (15$ each to central station) then bought a 7 day 27$ train and bus pass which was worth its weight in gold) We got off the subway at Queens Plaza (you need to get the N R or Q to Queens) and exit Jackson Ave, walk under the intersection and just head straight on (28 or 29 street) you will see the red Verve sign just look up, or you can get off at Queens Borough turn right out of station and walk a couple of blocks to 29 street . Initial reaction was a bit dubious about the area but remembered the positive comments walked for about 5 mins and arrived at the hotel to welcoming staff that couldn’t be more helpful. The room was a great size as was the bathroom (the bath was so good to sooth sore aching bodies from lots of shopping) the only drawback was the tiny wardrobe (lucky to fit 5 coat hangers in) and no safe.
Being jet lagged and hungry we decided to go for a walk and get some food we found a Brazilian restaurant about 10 mins walk away (passing a couple of stores on way) it was lovely but busy so book a table if you can - the hotel has the number. This was probably the nicest food we ate in the evening as the other take aways we got delivered to the room were pretty naff (we tried most of the take away menus given to us by reception) pizza ok but took over hour and if you order the 16” medium it is massive and will do enough for 2 people!
In the morning we met Tom the hotel manager, what a lovely man, anything you need he can recommend. Breakfast is plentiful, waffles, scramble eggs, donuts, cakes, fruit, cereal, tea, coffee, hot choc (this machine is available 24/7) it gets busy round 9am (open till 9.30) if weather nice they have a decking area out back which we sat in. The only negative and it’s a little one is eating off plastic plates with plastic knives and forks, but I understand why and if this is all I can fault we're doing well!!
As for the neighbourhood in daylight it doesn’t look so bad and once you get your bearings not bad at all we felt safe throughout.
Rooms are cleaned daily; they weren’t too noisy, air con available and a very comfy bed!
Like I said the staff can’t do enough for you, they are always ready to give help, advice, tips they really were lovely. Check out at 11am (but they are happy to hold your luggage behind reception) Free wireless internet in rooms and business centre, a printer that works so you can print off your tickets, vending machines in case you get the munchies so really all your needs are catered for. Only 3 stops on the subway until you get to places to shop (Times Square about 10-15 mins away) would I recommend this hotel -definitely, would we stay again- for sure, unless we won the lottery and then it would be the Plaza.
Tips – Travel money First choice do a promise match and they match whatever you have been quoted for dollars, they also do a mastercard, so you put all your money on there (they convert it into dollars) and you can just shop with this it saves changing up travellers checks or being charged to use the hole in the wall. I used it everywhere!

If you want to go up Empire state get there early in morning less ques (or you can get up the Rockefeller building for less)

Century 21 for cheap designer clothes (although you have to hunt- a bit like TK Max) and it’s very hit and miss (world trade centre on subway just opposite Ground zero)

Canal Street cheap knock off designer gear, leads onto China Town (cheaper lunch menus during week half price)

To see Statue of Liberty get Stattan Island Ferry it’s free and runs every 20 mins

Jersey Gardens outlet mall had to pay 15$ each on bus (which you need to catch from Port Authority) and the stuff there is pretty disappointing and NO CHEAPER than the shops in NY I paid 179$ for pair of Uggs and in shops in town they were 180$, a North face gillett was 125$ the same price as the North face shop this was a waste of our day

If you go to the theatre we did to watch Phantom it was brilliant take your own drinks for a double Baileys, glass red wine and packet of M &M it cost 48$!!

Good luck be prepare to shop till you drop!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We were happily surprised to find that Verve had apparently missed the memo about outrageous rates for marathon weekend and even more happily surprised at how nice the hotel was. The staff were bright and personable, assisted in every way asked, and were pleasant. The room was large, clean and convenient to Manhattan and JFK. We'll recommend it to our friends and family and would stay again without hesitation. The neighborhood isn't the prettiest but we never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed at the Verve 6 days with the family in a junior suite. Room was good size, clean, well-maintained, had two TVs, safe, fridge, iron, and free WiFi (worked well). Hotel offers free breakfast (decent, but not spectacular) and free use of washer/dryer. Underground parking available at reasonable cost. Personnel very friendly and helpful. Multiple subway lines within 2 blocks walking distance. Surrounding area is nondescript and industrial, but appeared safe enough. Major construction at Queens plaza is far enough away to not be a noise issue. Only downside to hotel is that they don't seem to have late check-out (after 11 am) as a matter of policy - unfortunate. Overall, very good value for New York. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Verve October 30 - Nov 1, 2010. We paid $200 for Saturday night and $140 for Sunday and Monday night. Although $200 is way overpriced for this hotel, the $140 price seems appropriate. It is a small hotel with your average sized hotel rooms. Nothing fancy but clean and decent. If you are facing the front you'll be able to see Manhattan out the window -- a nice touch. No balconies, unfortunately. The best thing about the rooms are the comfy beds!

The location is just a few blocks from the subway, Even though we were only there 4 days we purchased a 7-day Metro Card for $25 each that we could use as often as we needed to. It's about 2 blocks to the nearest subway station. Not the best neighborhood-- but my husband and I would return at night around 8pm and no one bothered us.

The hotel has breakfast but we didn't care for it so we went to the local diner near the subway where they serve an awesome breakfast!!! Also went there one day for the best grilled cheese I ever had. I think they deliver pizza, too if you want to order to your room (the hotel does not have a restaurant)

One thing to keep in mind: we hailed a yellow NYC Taxi from LaGaurdia to the Verve and it cost us $15. Upon leaving, the hotel called a taxi for us and it seems they use a local limousine service. You'll be picked up in a Towncar but it will cost you $25 to LaGaurdia. Call a Yellow Taxi yourself and save $10.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.