We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was a perfect hotel at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
melbourne
1 review
“was a perfect hotel at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, was very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the 5th floor with views across downtown Manhattan and the Empire State building. The staff were extremely helpful, the subway was only a 5 minute walk, and only 20 minutes train ride to Manhatten. We were comfortable walking home from the subway in the evening. The breakfast supplied was very good with a great deck area to use outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    684
    300
    60
    7
    18
See reviews for
229
469
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phila Area
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

I just had a one night stay for a business meeting in Queens. I read the reviews and it seemed like the best compromise between price and comfort. The big plus for me was also the onsite parking. If you drive, this is important. Parking in this area is scarce and expensive.
The room was large enough and tastefully decorated. They are definitely putting a luxury, boutique type feel to the place. I had a minor issue with the room when I checked in, but it was quickly addressed. The manager came up and appologized and made sure everything was good. He also gave me some good advice on getting some food delivered. (the hotel does not have an onsite restaraunt).
The neighborhood is a little rough, but feels safe. There is a church and a school right across the street, so I think that helps. The Holiday inn is just one block up the street and it is almost double the price. (this place is a great value).
Pros - great value, small and friendly, on site parking (only $10-$15), nice rooms, friendly staff
Cons - parking garage entrance is very steep (beware if you have a very low riding sports car), no on-site restaraunt, neighborhood is a bit rough (but that is just the way the area is. )
Overall - I will likely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I met my daughter at the Verve last week. She traveled from Norway and I traveled from South Dakota. The Verve Hotel was everything we hoped it would be. Clean, quiet and comfortable. The front desk staff was amazing-exceeding all expectations of courtesy and assistance. They were knowledgeable about the local area, subway system and "where to eat" near the hotel. The huge Belgian Waffles, served at breakfast were a hit with both my daughter and I. The rooms were nicely appointed and what really impressed me were the beds, adorned in freshly pressed sheets, nice fluffy pillows and a nice throw. I don't recall his name, but the owner of the hotel was so friendly. The manager, Tom, was a gem and was pretty much at the beck and call of all guests. The manner in which both of these men treated their employees was impressive. Everyone working there appeared happy to be there. That says alot, in my opinion.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

This was our second stay at the Verve having previously stayed in hotels in Manhattan & in my opinion this hotel for the price & room quality is by far the best.
We have had no problem with the area walking thru late at night & enjoying a beer at the local bar a few blocks away.The 'E' subway stop (Queens Plaza) is close by with Mahattan a couple of stops away. You can get easy access to & from JFK airport by the AirTrain & 'E' subway in 40mins if you don't have heavy baggage, or a taxi for about $40 to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We just stayed at the Verve for 3 nights. It was our first trip to New York so we weren't sure where to stay, but found this place online and saw the great reviews so went on that. It was a short cab ride from La Guardia airport to get there. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is a short 5 minute walk to the subway station, so that worked out great. It is a very short subway ride into Manhattan -- I think the next stop just over the river. Never took us very long to get into the city. The staff was helpful with directions and things to see/do. They have a complimentary breakfast that really fills you up. There are eggs, sausage, several breads/bagels/pastries, cheese, waffles, fruit, cereal and milk, juices. We ate a big breakfast before heading out and were good for a while. They even have computers you can use and if you need to print out anything there is a printer there too. We were really surprised and pleased that there is a washer and dryer available for the guests to use -- no charge even. This was nice as we washed all our clothes before heading out on a 7-day cruise from Manhattan. The day we left the front desk called a car for us to head to the cruise ship terminal. The car was there in less than 5 minutes and it was a town car -- not a metered taxi -- so it was a set fee for getting to the pier. The manager Tom was a very friendly and helpful guy -- he even would make the waffles in the morning. It would highly recommend this hotel when visiting New York. Oh, and with the recent news about how bad bed bugs are in New York City, he told us they treat weekly for bed bugs and we never saw one or any evidence, which should be very reassuring to everyone! Great hotel with everything we needed to be comfortable in New York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Very nice looking hotel in industrial area. Not good for strolling in area. 3 blks to subway and very quick ride to Manhattan. Housekeeping fell a bit short, annoying details most every day, but no big deal. Bed and pillows extremely comfortable. Windows not soundproof and even with earplugs can hear street noise. Manager very good with a concern I had. Breakfast, too many carbs, NO YOGURT. All bagels, waffles, breads, donuts. Small lobby. Helpful staff mostly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Excellent Hotel
Clean Rooms
Nice terrace
Nice Staff + best advices for sightseeing and other information
Breakfast included

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.