We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, Comfortable, and Good Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
“Relaxing, Comfortable, and Good Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed here for 5 days. 2 days in queen, 2 days in King and 1 day in Suite. The service was high. The staff are very good, fun to talk, dedicated and hospitable. The Rooms were full of amenities and room service was very exceptional. The location is excellent as there are three subway station at walking distance. The complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety and was savory.

I loved my stay and I would definately stay here again when I come back to NY.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRocks2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

The staff bends over backwards to please the guests which is nice. However, I witnessed the owner, pete, harassing the cleaning staff and was horrified. He used "F... you" to girls young enough to behis daughters. He used racial slurs. He was extremely discriminatory. Turns out these young workers are new to the country, refugees, who have been here for less than half a year. The hotel management hires as many of them as possible at less than minimum wages and for a few hours each week, and mistreats them. If they leave (which they can;t easily), there are others at hand to fill the place. Some management staff are ok, but the owner seems to have gotten the rich bug biting him.

This place deserves to be investigated for discrimination under OSHA.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank CoolDude3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmny330, Owner at Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
This review is based on false assumptions, overdramatized and is totally incorrect , a housekeeping employee had cleaned a room and during our pre-arrival room inspection, we found uncleaned sink and countertop consisting of many hair and soap scum which is totally unacceptable. How would you feel if you had checked -in to a dirty room in a hotel? The overall room was not cleaned properly according to our high standards and reputation of being the #1 hotel in Queens. We at the Verve hotel take great pride in keeping our room extremely clean for our guests, which can be verifed by our excellent guest comments on trip advisor. The employees are paid in accordance with the State Wages Act. Our payroll is managed by a Pay Check Company which is one of the biggest payroll companies in USA. All employees are paid by check after deducting appropriate taxes. So your accusation of paying them below minimum wages is absolutely incorrect because the payroll company will not process a check for under minimum wages. Furthermore all employees are treated fairly at our hotel irrespective of their religion,race and colour. Few of the housekeeping employees have been hired through the International Rescue Committee supported by United Nations which helps new legal immigrants have an opportunity to find good legal and proper jobs in America, and we highly support this great cause. Also I am sure you had seen during your stay how diverse and rich in culture our front desk , housekeeping and maintenance team is, so being racist is out of the question as well sir. I have not been bit by a "rich bug" like you stated, but rather bit by the dedication of keeping the hotel clean and comfortable for all my guests. That is my and the employees mission statement if you have any questions dont hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I have never stayed in better hotel ever! Pete the owner and all of the staff bend over backwards to make your stay outstanding ! The owner even went out of his way to cook
for you in the courtyard, introducing you to other flavors ! Tom ,staff member went out of his way to make sure 2 hick town girls from NC see NYC at it's best , his connections with plays, tickets and information was over and above ! Even though I had such a great time in NYC, I would go back to NYC just to stay at the Verve ! Thanks to all at the VERVE !

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bpopke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I lived in Verve hotel for a good 3 weeks and it was an amazing experience. I stayed there partially for work and partially for pleasure. I had my 8 year old child with me and he also felt so comfortable and at home in the hotel premises. The breakfast is great and the staff is extremely friendly. The best part is that the hotel is accessible by so many train lines and travelling to the city merely took a few minutes. Tom was great in guiding me for all tourist activities. Thanks to Yash for all the help with various booking arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinalArora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

this place has gone out of their way to make my stay a wounderfull experience. all staff calls you by name . makes your stay feel like you are at a friends house , great great value, great service, and truly a fun place to be at, almost forgot the view from the room at night is super

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sargedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

The location in Long Island City is perfect for a quick jump on a subway to the city, which is why I picked this hotel. The hotel staff was the most helpful I have ever witnessed and if there is a significant competitive advantage this hotel has, it is the staff. You can tell they like working there and are proud of their property. The room was great. Clean and Comfortable! ..Again, I would and will return for my next trip to NYC/Manhatten....great place and warrants five stars......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

At our arrival, Tom became our guide to NY. Great parking in the garage. 5 min to good sushi place. 5 min to ride to Central park and Manhattan.
We had a one bedroom suite that had enough space for all 4 of us, with a door between the bedroom and living room area for full privacy. Breakfast was great everyday.
Pradeep (owner) was extremely friendly and helpful in making us feel at home. We will always stay at this hotel in NY city........

Thanks.................................Vik Thapar

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VThapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#10 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing