We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at the verve a couple of weeks back. I enjoyed my stay . Felt like i was home , room was to my liking slept amazing on a king size bed. Staff friendly. Tom was great with directions. The front
desk anthony had amazing food choices for me. Always had a smile and a great sense of humor shared
a couple of laughs. The area was
ok but who cares when u can literally take a train anywhere you want. Overall i will be staying at the verve when i come back tony. Management did a great job on training their workers it helps you feel like you have friends in a brand new place.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    356
    87
    7
    30
See reviews for
264
541
105
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What really sets the Verve apart from other hotels is its amazing staff. Everyone who works here is friendly, helpful and goes out of his or her way to please. It was raining one morning - front desk found umbrellas for us to borrow. Another night, the front desk found a way to open my can of ravioli when my can opener broke. He even offered to help me carry it back to my room. Very, very nice staff who made me and my son feel we were staying with family. We hated to leave, even nine days later. A welcoming smile and cold water on arrival, free coffee and cold water 24 hours a day.The Verve is located between 2 subway stations within a 5-minute walk, a third station is a bit farther. Clean rooms. Great view of the city. Free breakfast (a basic offering of bagels, eggs, cereal, juice and 24-hour free coffee.). Free use of washer/dryer - and laundry detergent sold for just $1!!! Safe location as well - we returned after a late show and had no concerns. This was our second visit within two years to the Verve -- a nice value and affordable way to visit New York City. My only complaint was the free wi-fi in the rooms kept going out, but that wasn't really the hotel's fault. And there are two computers set up downstairs to use. It's the staff that really make this hotel. They couldn't do enough for us, going out of their way to give us great directions to the subway and the Museum of the Moving Image.

Room Tip: Request a city view and a high floor for the best views. Breakfast room sometimes gets crowded, so g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great value. Stayed two nights (July 31 an August 1) in double room with two teens. Staff were very pleasant and helpful in terms of suggestions for restaurants and directions to transportation. Rooms were perfectly fine. Breakfast buffet was carb heavy (cereal, bread/bagels, waffles) and also eggs and sausage. Would have benefitted from yogurt and granola options. Buffet staff kept everything stocked and there was plenty of food, just would have liked to see a healthier option as well. Great location for easy access to Long Island City museums and quick access into Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we had lived in Astoria (a few avenues down from where the hotel is located) we had heard good reviews of this hotel, so when we came back for a funeral, we decided to stay here. The price was very good...the location convenient and they have a small garage where we parked our rental car for a reasonable price. We were given upgrades to a suite, which we appreciated, the service was very good, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate...however...there were several large, glaring stains on the carpet and a stain/burn on the club chair...two things they could fix easily and this would have been an excellent review. My husband's brother also stayed in a suite and he had stains on his carpet as well. Knowing the neighborhood I would want to tell people, coming here for the first time, that it is conveniently located close to the train station (a few minutes will get you to Manhattan), but if you are coming home from a Broadway play or opera or something very late in the night, I'd take a cab rather than the train. The neighborhood where the hotel is located is not that great. Walking in the daytime or early evening when people are getting home from work is OK, though. The hotel itself has a tiny lobby (space is a premium), but the breakfast room was large enough to accommodate a small crowd and the breakfast was surprisingly good for a complimentary breakfast (we have stayed in many chain hotels with complimentary breakfast and this one was quite above average) I would say Our hotel room was very well kept if not for the stains.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook the construction site next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights whilst on a stop over in New York and was pleasantly surprised. It is a fairly basic hotel in terms of decor but for the price I thought it was good enough and I would definitely stay here again. Despite some of the other reviews on here I actually found all off the staff really pleasant and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was fine and the location was handy for the subway both into Manhattan and to JFK airport. No complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

i booked this hotel with the expectations to get what i paid for and i got more than what i paid for! the front desk agent anthony was very helpful. he gave me and my family diffrent options of what to do in this beautiful city. every place he recommended my family loved. besides being a good tour guide he seemed very proffesional and polite. he was very informative and asked all the questions to help us decide what to do. the rooms and hotel was very nice and beautiful. the breakfast wasnt really of my liking but we would go out and have breakfast so that wasnt an issue. i would def book this hotel the next time im in nyc!

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came here for a two night stay with my husband and booked the jacuzzi room. Overall the place is alright, but nothing fancy. The Jacuzzi was nice, but I found the room to be a bit dirty for my liking (stains on the bedding/dusty). Overall staff was friendly, room was big, and we had a nice time. Considering its proximity to Manhattan and cost, its was a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.