We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Verve is very clean and has nice rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Price is very reasonable with the included breakfast. Highly recommended. It is located near subway stops which is helpful getting around the city.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    335
    75
    7
    26
See reviews for
247
506
100
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

spent five days at the verve hotel for baseball games at citi field and yankee stadium. hotel very convenient to both. two subway stations very close by. queens plaza and queensboro plaza. and they are easy to confuse. queens plaza is the closest, about five minutes away. room was great, breakfast was great and the young man behind the desk even went out of his way to help me print out my boarding pass the night before I was scheduled to leave. much appreciated. if you don't have a lot of luggage, take the airport bus from LaGuardia to the subway. if you have a lot of luggage, take a cab.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street. can get a bit noisy early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very nice,very good place..definitely will comeback.its a bit noisy coz of the train but area was good.food we need to order outside..people were good and nice..the rooms just need some retached like repaint it put some fancy decor and attractive color stuff..

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 8 nights over Easter. When we arrived around 11am, our room was not ready but the hotel staff took our bags and gave us a nice map that highlighted to subway lines. We went into Manhattan for a few hours and were able to check in when we returned The subway was easy to get to, with three different stations within walking distance. We never felt unsafe walking to/from the subway, no matter what time it was. The room was a nice size (especially for NY!) and included a fridge. We had a king sized bed with lots of pillows, which made my daughter very happy.The bathroom was also a nice size and included a tub. Complimentary bath items were nice quality. Breakfast included a hot set (some sort of eggs each day and turkey sausage) as well as cereal, juice, toast, bagels, and waffle makers to make your own. We were able to eat something here each day without having to worry about fitting in a breakfast stop along the way, so it was appreciated. We received restaurant recommendations near by for when we wanted to walk somewhere after a nap, or get take out instead of heading back to the city. Also appreciated being able to verify subway plans to various points around the city. The only downside was the tv, which did not work for tbs and whichever channel also had the final 4 on and the front desk could not help as they said it was the dish network. I would definitely stay hear again though as it helped us stretch our budget without compromising on comfort and allow for a few more days for this trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, we were able to see some of the skyline from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, this is a great place to get that very large (king-sofa-chair-desk...) room anywhere near Manhattan. Two to three times the size of most places remotely available at this price. It is a simple one leg subway to mid-town. No, it is not the Ritz, and there hot breakfast is very ordinary, but great food lives around the hotel, and if you are tired of the queen bed that doesn't have room to fit on both sides type room, this is really a great value. Worth your consideration.

Room Tip: Train track construction is noisy at night, so run the fan. Staff is competent and helpful, but doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've stayed here several times and can highly recommend. First of all, if you are flying in and out of either JFK or LaGuardia, this is very convenient. A cab to/from the airport means you avoid the bridge/tunnel traffic into and out of Manhattan. This place is only a couple of blocks from the subway (go out front door, turn south on 29th Street, then right to the Queensboro Plaza station). The N & 7 train take you right into Manhattan quickly.

Free breakfast is very good and fresh: eggs, cereal, make-your-own-waffles, bagels, toast, turkey sausage, juice, coffee. My only suggestion is they could add yogurt and fruit salad or fresh fruit.

Small workout room with an elliptical, treadmill, bike, and total gym type machine. 2 computers right off the breakfast room, and even a luggage scale to make sure your suitcases aren't too heavy. They called a car service for us to get to the airport and it was there in 6 minutes.

Staff very helpful, rooms good sized and clean. Keep in mind this isn't a 5 star hotel, but it's affordable, convenient, and a terrific option. There was a fridge in our room, a full size ironing board & iron (some places have those mini boards), a decent sized closet, and a safe in the closet. Free wi-fi worked fine.

Definitely a good option for the city!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mom and I stayed together in this hotel. Ofcourse we saw the hotel had great revieuws, but it was even better than we imagined.
If you want to stay in a hotel nearby Manhattan but don't want to pay too much, then this is perfect. We even got a discount with our ANWB card.
In short:
- the staff is really friendly: they explain everything, give some nice tips for restaurants, you get free maps and you couldn't ask for more
- the rooms was absolutely nice, we had enough space, the bathroom was great and so was the bed. Good resting place after a day of strotting through NY!
- The breakfast was a very wide choice.
- It is really easy to go with the subway to Manhattan (the city centre) itself. The subway is a 5 minute walk.
- Also from the airport Newark it is good reachable. However it's a bit further away, you can easily take the train and subway to go to the hotel.
- Free and fast wifi (always nice)

We had a great time during our stay, not only because of the amazing city, but also because of this hotel. We definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.