We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Verve...NYC so close....price is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Verve...NYC so close....price is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed at The Verve from Saturday Night thru Monday on a recent trip to the east coast. After looking at many options in Manhattan, which were in much smaller rooms, for much more money, we decided to expand our search to the neighboring Burroughs. We came across the Verve in Long Island City, looked at how close it was to the subway and of course, the reviews, and decided to take a chance. This was the 1st city of our 3 city East Coast vacation, and it set the tone for the rest of the week. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, answered all of our "where is..." "what does...." "How late...." questions we had about the area, and welcomed us back each night with a friendly smile. The rooms were quite large, with mini fridge and seating area with fold out couch (I'm not sure if we paid for this upgrade, or was just lucky), and once we returned from the City, there is a great outdoor seating area that our group enjoyed a cold one or two. The breakfast is free and plentyful. Load up on the free as if you are spending time in the city, you will need the energy. The Queensboro Plaza subway station is just a few short blocks away, and the 7 train takes you into Grand Central or Times Square and you'll be there in about 10 minutes. And you can connect to any other trains through 1 of those 2 stations. Overall, the area looks a little run down, however, in a city as big as New York, this is expected. My wife and I took a 10:30pm walk to the grocery store to get booze and at no time did we feel unsafe. We even stopped by for a 11pm pizza and took it back to our room. Bottom line is this. Are Manhattan hotels nicer? I'm sure they are. Are they less spacious...yes. Are they more money...YES! For being a short 10 minutes away from Grand Central or Times Square, and the amenities of the free breakfast and welcoming staff, The Verve gets my vote.

Room Tip: We had a 4th floor room that faced the rear of the hotel, which meant it faced the subway tracks. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    354
    87
    7
    30
See reviews for
261
540
105
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here 4 nights and were very pleased. The front desk staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful every time we walked past. Due to the multitude of dining options throughout the city, we didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but it appeared fresh and plentiful. The complimentary, around-the-clock coffee and filtered water were a welcome offering. Being only 3 blocks from the nearest MTA station was a big plus, (It was only a 15 minute ride into Manhattan) making it far more affordable than staying in downtown. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking an affordable and convenient alternative to staying in Manhattan.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bethany, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

For this trip, we went with two other families and only stayed for one night.

First impression of the hotel was average to middling. While I don't usually comment on the decor, it was so bland and threadbare as to notice. That thought process continued into the room, which had peeling wallpaper and scuffed doors.

That said, the room was large, clean and functional. The bed was very and comfortable (we did not try the pullout sofa); AC worked very well; we had a good night's sleep. Our room also included a microwave and a refrigerator. The bath was a comfortable size (although the marble sink was cracked), and the shower was hot with good water pressure.

The complimentary breakfast could have used fresh fruit - self-made waffles, sausage and hard-boiled eggs were the feature here, along with toast, cereal, fruit juice and coffee. The coffee is free all day - a nice feature.

Parking for this hotel is an interesting experience. Since the hotel charges for parking, I strongly suggest handing over the keys and allowing the staff to park your car. We happened on the garage entrance before we saw the front door, so we drove in. It's tight. Let the professionals handle it.

There are two subway stations within a couple of blocks (one in each direction) and easy access to Manhattan, and the room rate was great considering the proximity to transit. For that reason alone, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are strange sizes and shapes, but we found that all three of our rooms on three differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is our second visit to the Verve in 2 years. We've chosen this hotel due to the proximity to NYC and the positive reviews listed on TA.

The hotel continues to be a wise choice when visiting NY. It is located within easy walking distance to subway stations. It takes app 15 mins from the Queens Plaza Station to 7th Ave and 53rd taking the E train, which we found to be a good starting point for Broadway, Central Park and if you're up to the walk, Hell's Kitchen.

The hotel is located among other hotels, so you are in a fairly "tourist" area. However, I wouldn't say that this area is necessarily well lit. You may be wise to walk with others and pay attention to landmarks to and from the stations to get back to the hotel, especially if you get turned around in the station.

We found the staff to again be polite and helpful. A special thank you to Tom who is available to help out with navigating questions and to keep you smiling with his humor.

Underground parking is available for $25/day (+tx), but you may also be able to find on street parking.

I would agree with other reviews stating that there are places in the hotel that could use some updating. Our carpeting was stained, as were the curtains, and the lampshade smelled of smoke. There is a strict non-smoking policy (you will need to place a $100.00 security deposit against smoke damage to your room upon check in) so I assume this is from when rooms were once allocated as smoking rooms.

If you're looking for an affordable, convenient hotel with a good reputation, you will not be disappointed with the Verve.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herford, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great hotel outside the City. Perfectly nice and very helpful employees. The room was really comfortable. Since there are a couple of metro stations just around the corner you can reach Manhattan/Times Square in just 15 minutes. The Continental breakfast was pretty good, freshly made waffles, etc. Water and coffee are free at any time. Definitely would recommened stayin there!!! Easy to reach the hotel from LaGuardia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

3 munites walk to metro station, at 100 metres north there is a market you can buy sandwiches, I was very disturbing as a customer but they were very friendly. All of the employees were nice. I will definitely stay in here again. Thanks a lot

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room is okay, breakfast is okay. The overall cleanliness is not up to scratch. The room furniture, especially the couches are very dirty. Otherwise the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the Queens plaza tube station but if you are on holiday, SOHO is probably a better call for a location (and in Manhattan)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#13 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.