We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

3 munites walk to metro station, at 100 metres north there is a market you can buy sandwiches, I was very disturbing as a customer but they were very friendly. All of the employees were nice. I will definitely stay in here again. Thanks a lot

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    360
    90
    8
    30
See reviews for
264
545
106
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room is okay, breakfast is okay. The overall cleanliness is not up to scratch. The room furniture, especially the couches are very dirty. Otherwise the staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the Queens plaza tube station but if you are on holiday, SOHO is probably a better call for a location (and in Manhattan)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Spent 2 nights here on May 2014. No complaints at all. Check in and out fast and efficient. Nice spacious room with everything you would need. At night it was peaceful no noise from surrounding area. Wifi worked fine on my phone and tablet. Breakfast was more than ample for a good start to the day choice of cereals, oatmeal, eggs and sausage patty, bagels, bread, waffles, and fresh fruit served from 6am which was great as we needed to be on the first ferry of the day to Statue of Liberty. Few minutes walk to 2 subway stations even for oldies like us so easy to get to Manhattan and the rest of the city. Best of all was the price really great in a city where hotels are way over priced.

Room Tip: Had room high up facing the school, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

When visiting New York, and after a day of touring, the last thing you need is a noisy Hotel. We found the Verve to be the exact opposite. There is no pool or hotel bar, so you do not have that irritating noise of gathered people. This place is super quiet, and soundproof also. Not once did I hear screaming kids running up and down the halls, no loud and obnoxious drunks, or other annoying people. Most of the people I saw here were from out of the Country,so maybe that would be the reason there was a calm quiet atmosphere. The staff was OUTSTANDING. They were there to answer every annoying question and provide great service. This was the first hotel in the New York area that didn't treat us like dumb f--k tourists, that were $$$$$ signs to them. This is the 7th time I have been to New York, and I now have a returning place. The good is, the beds are great, the room was clean and the water pressure is excellent. the water even drained great. (Never ever standing water up to your ankles.) We had three rooms for 4 nights and not one complaint.The location was not more than a 3 minute walk to two train stations nearby. The breakfast area was well cleaned and stocked. No looking for a table. Enjoyable stay, and this will be our location in the future. Kudos to your staff, and thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors. Not one noise complaint
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is 10 mins by underground from all the sights in New York. Buy the week ticket on the underground @ $31 & you won't go far wrong. Hotel is clean & reception staff couldn't be more helpful. The room was a little tired but had got everything you need for a comfortable stay. If you need a taxi don't book through the hotel, just flag 1 down from outside. If booked through the hotel the taxi company NOT the hotel add $20 extra

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, it's really good value for money and close to Queens Plaza to get into Manhattan.

The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was pretty decent too. The area around the hotel itself is a little bland - but you're so close to Manhattan that you could go out for dinner too. The staff were very good about providing restaurant recommendations and travel advice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I travel to New York at least every two months. I am currently finishing up an 11 night stay and as usual I am at the Verve Hotel. And as usual the experience was excellent. The room is very nice and about twice the size of a room in Manhattan. The stay included a free Continental breakfast - a true Continental breakfast unlike those places that have only have a collection of stale donuts - eggs, bacon or sausage, cereal, waffles, fruit, danishes, bagels, coffee, juice, etc. It also has free, reliable internet - a must for a business traveler - and it is located 5 minutes from 2 major subway stops and 15 minutes from midtown Manhattan. It also has a free washer and dryer which is a definite plus on long trips.

But it is the service that makes the stay enjoyable. The staff at the Verve are excellent. They go out of their way to make your trip pleasant. I arrived on a Sunday and the owner/manager was having a small BBQ for his employees on the back deck. They insisted I join them and it was like being back at home. I will let you in on a secret - the first couple of trips to NYC were fun, even though it is a work trip. Now it is just time away from my family. But being able to stay at a place were they truly make you welcome makes all the difference in my trip. Thanks Pete, Tom, Josh, Justin, Allen, May, and everyone else at the Verve. See you in August.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Z New York Hotel
Z New York Hotel
#7 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.