We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a guest and they still gave me 5 star treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Belfast Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“not a guest and they still gave me 5 star treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I purchased the hotel on priceline.com by mistake. When you do this you are officially on the hook. No refunds. No going back. There's good reason for this but when a mistake has been made it gets into very iffy territory. I called the Verve and spoke with someone who listened to my story and came back after a discussion behind the scene and gave me the very good news and OK to convey to priceline that they'd agree to a refund. And priceline said ok too. I was so surprised and pleased and I really want to say THANK YOU to The Verve... they did not have to do this. It showed a personal care for the customer, even one who wanted to be allowed out of a paid in full reservation. They could easily have said no. So... after reading the reviews of the Verve and now that I have experienced their customer care: I will in the future. Thank you so much again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    319
    67
    7
    22
See reviews for
232
489
92
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by the lovely staff at reception who were more than delighted to always give us info on the subway, restaurants, sites etc. The local subway station was only 2 blocks away. With a 30dollar unlimited metro card for 7days it made travelling into manhattan simple. The hotel had breakfast each morning (6.30am -9.30am) which wouldnt be very normal for us irish but we enjoyed sampling the american style breakfast from waffles to some tasty cereals. I will definately recommend this hotel to any traveller going to nyc.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a good budget choice to visit NYC. Rooms were large and clean. Short walk to the subway and staff helped us figure out how to navigate. Parking garage very small, but at least they had parking. If you want to see NY without paying a fortune and do not mind a short subway ride this is a good choice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was a great overall choice, the subway was just a couple blocks away, and the staff was both friendly and helpful. The linens (sheets, bedspreads, and pillows) really needed to be replaced, but overall the place was clean. Breakfast was typical. The underground parking was very tight, and I would want to try it any large vehicle.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I searched for months looking for a reasonably priced hotel with a decent location that wasn't too far from the centre of NYC. I travelled to New York alone to meet my friend after 3 months of travelling and we both had different ideas of where we wanted to stay. I literally don't think i could have got a better deal.

We stayed for 5 nights and paid roughly 250 GBP each. The hotel is about a 30 minute car journey to JFK airport which cost me 40 USD. It is literally just over the queens bridge and my friend and i took a taxi home each night from Times Square and it didn't cost us anymore that 15 USD.

Its along a quiet stretch of road and there are several subway stations nearby no more than a 5 minute walk away. It takes around 10/15 minutes to get into Manhattan. The hotel has complimentary breakfast each money which was lovely, there wasn't a large variety but it saved us spending money. The rooms were large and spacious with a big bath, kingsize bed, and a tv. We opted for a room with a city view which was wonderful at night as you could see the Empire State Building. I know some people have commented saying that this is a rough area but it was so quiet and instead of getting the subway at night we just opted for a taxi.

The staff were helpful enough, i didn't really ask much from them but they were more than happy to suggest things to do whilst we were out. They also organised my taxi to the airport which arrived within 5 minutes.

If you want somewhere very quiet to stay with nice clean rooms and don't mind travelling 15 minutes into the city then i suggest you stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was nice, rooms were big and clean, equipped with a big TV, safe-deposit box, air conditioning/heater (you can control it yourself and it was quite loud when you want to sleep (it was too cold so we used the heater), but when you fall asleep, it will not wake you). Breakfast was almost the same every day, but it was good. We liked our stay there. The location was good - 5 minutes walking to the subway station and then another 12 minutes via subway directly to Times Square and we could see the top of the Empire State Building from our hotel room (4th floor). The staff was good. The price/quality ratio was very good. I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We booked this hotel based on the room rate and its number one TA rating. While the room was certainly spacious, it was dated, the carpets and the sofa were stained and the light shade had holes in it. The bed was clean and comfortable, but overall average would be the best I would give it. Breakfast was okay, but it closes at 930am and as it nears that time, they run out of stuff and that's it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.