We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
paramali
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is great value for money and is in a good location for exploring New York. The subway is a few minutes walk away where you can gain access to anywhere in the city. A weeks metro pass is $31 well worth the money.The rooms are a little tired and a bit dark but a good size and very comfortable beds. The breakfast is good, always eggs, waffles, bread and bagels. Also unlimited water and coffee all day. Staff welcoming and helpful. Don't ask for a taxi from the hotel flag one down outside, not the hotels fault just cheaper outside.

Room Tip: Queen room on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    305
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
231
474
85
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a belated review--I have been meaning to endorse the Verve Hotel as a very good alternative to Manhattan hotels. Although it's on the other side of the East River, in just two subway stops you're in Midtown. We used the nearby Queens Plaza station (a short 3-block walk), and the E train took us to nearly all our destinations (we bought 3-day passes which were good for any subway or any bus). The Verve staff was very helpful & friendly. Quiet neighborhood.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Great location just over the bridge from Manhattan. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Room was a reasonable size. Trains from the airport are pretty close. Easy access to a number of different metros, so was very easy to get into Manhattan. Breakfast was pretty plain, but since it is included I was not complaining too much. There was only a little bit of fruit and if you went down after 8 you didn't get any. Front desk were very helpful, we left something in the room and they got it and we came and picked it up a few days later.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I never go back and i never recommend no one to go there the front desk it was so rude and lier ( the hotel is ok but the staff is -0 ).I chose the Verve based on reviews but i was so disappointed.Breakfast was pretty good, normal stuff like waffles, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Verve on Apr 24-26 for a quick getaway with our son and his family. We chose the Verve based on reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! As we were paying for 2 rooms for 3 nights we needed to save money. We saved $700 by staying in Long Island City. Quick walk to the subway (3 blocks) and a 15 min ride to Times Square. We enjoyed riding the subway and were never nervous about the walk. We even left the hotel the night we got there to go in to the city at 10 pm and didn't return until 1am and we were not nervous. Very clean rooms. Beds were pretty comfortable. We really liked the pillows!! Breakfast was pretty good, normal stuff like waffles, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, etc. The girl working the breakfast, Dorca i think is her name, was very nice and kept the eating area very clean. She also was up cleaning the rooms later on. Very friendly. The manager(i think) came in to the breakfast area to visit every morning, asking if anyone was celebrating anything. The front desk staff were all very helpful as to getting in to the city and places to go. We even were directed to a great local place, Sac's, on our last night for a wonderful Italian dinner. We drove up from Virginia where we were visiting our son so we had a car to park. That is the smallest parking garage i have ever seen! We even took pictures! Creative parking! But it was half the cost of the Manhattan hotels.
It was great to go "home" in the evenings to our quiet neighborhood after all the craziness of the city. The trains are close, but we were never bothered by any excess noise. We thoroughly enjoyed the Verve and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Verve Hotel for five nights while we were in New York visiting our son.

Everyone at the front desk was exceptionally nice and helpful.

The free breakfast went far beyond the typical boxed cereal and fresh fruit. There was a large selection of both hot and cold items as well as a 'make your own' waffle station. Fresh, hot coffee was always available just off the main dining room area.

The room was incredibly large for a New York hotel room and the bed was very comfortable.

The walk to the metro was a little longer than we expected, but not bad. We definitely recommend using the 39th ave station over the Queensboro Plaza station (much less congestion and confusion - especially once you exit and are on the street).

Pros:
Staff
Free Breakfast
Large room
Relatively close to metro stations (3-4 blocks)
Short cab ride to LaGuardia

Cons:
Area was ok, but pretty industrial
Very limited selection of restaurants within walking distance

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Economical is the reason to stay here. Rates are probably 1/2 of Midtown, where we have always stayed in the past. Located 3 short blocks from the 39th Ave subway (N, Q). Iffy neighborhood - not unsafe but not real comfortable at night. Rooms and halls badly in need of updating - stained carpet, lumpy pillows, noisy AC, low light level, stingy on number of towels (I got extras one day of our 4 night stay). We had a suite which was nice to spread ourselves around, but the living area only had an overhead light, so we could not read on the couch. Microwave and frig in the room. Bottled water provided. Breakfast was fine (hot and cold dishes). Free use of washer/dryer! Workstation & printer available in lobby area. Free Wi-Fi in the room. Helpful and friendly front desk staff

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.