We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
greece
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Big room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I had the smallest room at the Verve and it was very spacious! They also give you some nice little bathroom amenities, bathrobe, room safe, mini fridge. BUT once you leave the room, you would never know it was the same hotel. The breakfast room uses only plastic and styrofoam. What century is this?? Staff is just pleasant enough as they have to be and no more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    311
    61
    7
    20
See reviews for
232
482
88
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I've read a few new reviews that were posted while we were staying at this property - debating it's 3 star status.

According to the world rating system a 3 star property has
- Reception opened 14 hours, accessible by phone 24 hours from inside and outside
-Three piece suite at the reception, luggage service
-Beverage offer in the room
-Telephone in the room
-Internet access in the room or in the public area
-Heating facility in the bathroom, hair-dryer, cleansing tissue
-Dressing mirror, place to put the luggage/suitcase
-Sewing kit, shoe polish utensils, laundry and ironing service
-Additional pillow and additional blanket on demand
-Systematic complaint management system

We stayed there for 3 nights in early May and can confirm that the reception was manned at all times, had a nice seating area available in the reception area and two phones were available in our standard King room for use.

I needed a sewing kit and one was provided by reception. There were additional pillows available in the room, and I have no reason to doubt an additional blanket would have been provided had I asked for one. There were coffee making facilities in the room and at reception, and bottled water was provided free of charge by reception on arrival, and when asked for.

There was free wifi in the room, as well as a hair dryer and iron/iron board. The hotel also had a washer and dryer you could use free of charge. There were several mirrors in the room. I had no reason to complain so can't confirm the final item.

So, the hotel definitely meets it's 3 star rating and goes beyond it. No, it's not a luxury hotel, but you weren't paying for a luxury hotel - in fact the hotel was the lowest price I found for the ease of transportation in to Manhattan. The rooms are huge, whilst being a short walk to several New York subway lines.

The hotel offers air con and heating in the room, plus a large tv. The bed was comfortable and the area quiet. The had free computers and printer available for use by guests, as well as a gym and vending machines and ice machines spread amongst the floors. From our room window you could also see the Manhattan skyline. They provided an ample free breakfast that we made use of each day.

All in all we had a problem free, lovely stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and recommend it to friends!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Not many expectations for this hotel given the google street view, but a very pleasant surprise. Large corner room with separate living area, safe feeling neighborhood and right near a subway two stops removed from Lexington Ave. Clean, comfortable, friendly but non-intrusive staff and a quiet restfull sleep every night even while having windows looking up two streets.
Rooms were well serviced and the functional US breakfast plentiful (even if not low on sugar amongst the waffles and frosty flakes).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I hope to finish visiting all 30 major league baseball fields by the end of this season,so Yankee Stadium and Citifield plus 2 attractions in midtown Manhattan were my destinations for a 36 hour trip to New York last weekend.The Verve was a wonderful choice for me since it is located within a 5-7 minute walk to 3 subway stations which made negotiating the NY area easy.

This hotel is somewhat off the beaten path in Long Island City,but is a solid 3 star facility with an attractive daily rate.TA reviews for it tend to be glowing,so I can understand why some might be disappointed,but its value is off the charts.I had a queen room for myself and was quite satisfied with room size,bedding,pillows,and bathroom features.There are other larger rooms for those not traveling alone.Spotlessly clean and QUIET! Queen rooms are not located on the side of the building with Manhattan views,but I was not disappointed with all the other benefits.

The wait staff were cheerful,courteous,and attentive to patrons' needs.Off the small lobby is a business area with internet and printer access for those of us who travel without our laptops.The breakfast room had ample space for breakfasters and the food selection was standard good-waffles,eggs,sausage and fruit,yogart,cereal,juices.Coffee and filtered water always available in an area next to the lobby.

I found only a few restaurants in the immediate area which has,however many other hotels.One great find was Shop-N-Go Chicken a few blocks away.The variety of foods being cooked on a windowfront grill was attracting and the chicken and kebobs were excellent.The Verve has a deck which makes for a nice picnic area for a takeout from SNGC.

Kudos to this hotel which certainly enhanced my enjoyment of my brief NY experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardenden, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Definitely not a 3 star hotel based on UK standards, overall the experience of the hotel as very average.

Location

As many have stated, it's not in the best of areas but we never experienced any hassle or never felt unsafe (other than the night we bought an iPad and walked back with it to the hotel from the subway). The hotel is easily accessed from any of the 4 surrounding subway stations and then it's only 5 minutes to Lexington Avenue and at most 25 minutes to the very south of the island.

The Hotel

On first arrival the check in was straight forward enough however we didn't expect to be asked for a $100 deposit should we damage the room. I don't know if this is standard throughout NY or the US as this was our first visit.

We were very under-whelmed with our room. It was really quite small. On further inspection of the room, we noticed that the curtains and blinds were very dirty and with holes in them, also the wallpaper around the window was falling off and very grotty. The furniture in the room could also be doing with being upgraded as it was quite tatty. One positive was that the bathroom was clean.

Maids are on duty every day however from what we can tell they only make the bed (they did not change our bedding for our entire 6 day stay) and change the towels.

We found the bed quite comfortable so no complaints there, and can't say we experienced the noise of the subway that others experienced. What I will say is that the walls are paper thin, we had the noisiest of neighbours in the next room, we could hear absolutely everything, down to the noise of them putting clothes away!

On one of the days of our stay there was torrential rain, what we didn't expect was our room to leak. I got out of bed to find the room carpet soaked through though I had no idea where the water was coming from as I couldn't find any signs of water coming in.

The breakfast was good, cereals, bread, eggs, sausage, bagels, waffles and tea/coffee and juice. Lack of fruit though, other than apples.

I'd say overall the Verve Hotel is an ok place if you are using it purely as somewhere to rest your head at night and not looking to spend Manhattan prices.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is far from 3 star level. The location is close to the subway station.
The room is very tiny and the equipments are in ages. We couldn't exchange the room since it was bid from Priceline.
I won't bid from Priceline again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The staff here was so friendly and courteous. Finding a room for a family in NYC over spring break was difficult if you didn't want to spend a ton of money. Great price and convenient to subway. Hotel was clean and spacious. We had a king suite for under $200. Kind bed in separate room from pull out sofa. The mattress on the sofa bed definitely needs to be replaced. But worked for the time we were there. There is free use of washer and dryer on premises and the hotel sells Tide for $1. I want to mention a front desk employee: Yahaira......so sweet, helpful ,courteous. Always had a smile on her face. The hotel is lucky to have her.

Room Tip: We had Room 209 which was on the side street.....very noisy. Ask for a room in a quiter area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.