We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice botique hotel in a cool neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very nice botique hotel in a cool neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I don't travel to NYC much, and don't always feel comfortable knowing where a decent place to stay might be. I stayed here, and then headed into Brooklyn, and this fit the bill perfectly. It's not far from the train, the rooms are good size (especially for NYC), and it's in a neat little neighborhood. The front desk staff is excellent (they upgraded me to a king suite for my one night stay). As with most/all Choice hotels, there was a free hot breakfast. And, there is a great pub just a block down (Dutch Kills Centraal). It's a great choice if you don't need to be right in Manhattan or Brooklyn. It was a pretty quiet place to stay as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    321
    69
    7
    24
See reviews for
237
493
93
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Verve while attending a conference in Manhattan. Here I found a clean, classic hotel at an amazing value for lodging a mere 8 minutes from Manhattan by subway. The rooms are large and well equipped, great wireless is free, a free full breakfast, and fabulous service. Valerie works the 11 to 7 desk shift..her customer service is cheerful, authentic, and she is a charming conversationalist who knows the area well. I felt very well served over my three-day stay.

Room Tip: get the suite for a few extra dollars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about the staff. Location is convenient. Rooms are good size compared to most NY hotels. I could not believe the hospitality I received being in New York. Every time I come to the city, this is where I stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was excellent value on my deal. Okay, it is one of the older hotels (not quite "luxury") and is not as slick as the new and neighboring Four Points or Holiday Inn hotels but it is still very good for most travelers.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful. Facilities are pretty good for the size of the hotel i.e. exercise room with some decent equipment, a washing machine and dryer for guests + you can buy some detergent at the front desk, games room with pool (or foosball table? - didn't pay attention), vending machines on each floor, free coffee, a small computer center with printing facility (it would be really nice to see better quality keyboards at the center though), 24-hour front desk, standard daily room service and changing of linens and toiletries etc. The wi-fi connection is really stable and fast. Rooms and bathrooms are slightly old but still nice and spacious enough with adequate furnishing, coffee maker and a little fridge + the usual ironing board and iron (you'll never know how useful this can be!).
The complimentary breakfast (features cheese, waffles, eggs, bagels, cereals, juices, coffee, sausages etc.) is the same everyday but is good enough since there aren't too many people who do something exotic for breakfast. I never really tired of it since I'm the sort who's happy to alternate between waffles, bagels and cereals.

The location is also pretty good since you're only 10 minutes walk away from the 39th Ave-Beebe Ave subway station to take the N, Q or R lines DIRECTLY into the main parts of Manhattan about a 20 minute ride. Very useful. However, this hotel doesn't have a bar/restaurant onsite so you'll need to find options nearby (there are some) and LIC is not the most happening part of NYC but Astoria is and it's only 2-3 stops away on the metro. Still good in my books.

The price I got on my deal was very special though and very low for NYC standards considering some people rent out rooms in their apartment at comparable prices in certain parts of the city. I was very happy with the value for money.

All in all, a good place to stay for location, value for money and general facilities/standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I traveled there during the latest storm.

The Verve is right outside of Manhattan 2 stops into the City


Use the 39th station you won't get lost getting back to the hotel which can happan with the Queencenter station.

The room includes a refrigerator and its only drawback is the noisy heater and tiny closet.

If you are drivingf they do have a garage which is important in the winter.

The only complaint is the breakfast, starts at 6:30 and the coffee is very bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at the Verve from 8th to 12th February

Received a vey warm welcome on arrival.
Rooms were very big and spotlessly clean
Less than 5 minute walk to Subway with regular trains into Manhattan every 5 to 8 minutes. Subway fare was only $2.5
Breakfast was excellent,

Room Tip: Very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champions gate,Florida,USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

the hotel is 20 minutes in taxi from la guardia,when we arrive Antonie the front desk guy ,receive us with a grate smile,check in us fast and answer all my ? ,in a grate mode also advice us in many ways,the hotel is located outside of the city ,but my wife and i we was looking for a place to safe and enjoy New york so this hotel is 1 block away from the 39 ave subway and a block away from the Queens subway,we bought 2 ,7 days unlimited subway ticket ,and was really worted,
Antonie was very kind to advice us to buy the tickets from the MTA agent and not from the machine we pay 60$ for the ticket,but we travel from the central park to the wall street ,Brookling all manhathan,back and foward many times for 3 days with out stop and also use to get to the JFK airport using the Queens metro station (make sure have cash to buy the tickets metro agents dont take debit or credit card ) the room was very clean,staff very friendly and the breakfast (hot breakfast,eggs,sausages,waffles etc.thanks Antonie and staff greate price we pay $245 for 3 nights and save a lot also with the new york pass......................

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.