We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value on my deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value on my deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel was excellent value on my deal. Okay, it is one of the older hotels (not quite "luxury") and is not as slick as the new and neighboring Four Points or Holiday Inn hotels but it is still very good for most travelers.

Staff are generally friendly and helpful. Facilities are pretty good for the size of the hotel i.e. exercise room with some decent equipment, a washing machine and dryer for guests + you can buy some detergent at the front desk, games room with pool (or foosball table? - didn't pay attention), vending machines on each floor, free coffee, a small computer center with printing facility (it would be really nice to see better quality keyboards at the center though), 24-hour front desk, standard daily room service and changing of linens and toiletries etc. The wi-fi connection is really stable and fast. Rooms and bathrooms are slightly old but still nice and spacious enough with adequate furnishing, coffee maker and a little fridge + the usual ironing board and iron (you'll never know how useful this can be!).
The complimentary breakfast (features cheese, waffles, eggs, bagels, cereals, juices, coffee, sausages etc.) is the same everyday but is good enough since there aren't too many people who do something exotic for breakfast. I never really tired of it since I'm the sort who's happy to alternate between waffles, bagels and cereals.

The location is also pretty good since you're only 10 minutes walk away from the 39th Ave-Beebe Ave subway station to take the N, Q or R lines DIRECTLY into the main parts of Manhattan about a 20 minute ride. Very useful. However, this hotel doesn't have a bar/restaurant onsite so you'll need to find options nearby (there are some) and LIC is not the most happening part of NYC but Astoria is and it's only 2-3 stops away on the metro. Still good in my books.

The price I got on my deal was very special though and very low for NYC standards considering some people rent out rooms in their apartment at comparable prices in certain parts of the city. I was very happy with the value for money.

All in all, a good place to stay for location, value for money and general facilities/standards.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    301
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
229
472
85
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I traveled there during the latest storm.

The Verve is right outside of Manhattan 2 stops into the City


Use the 39th station you won't get lost getting back to the hotel which can happan with the Queencenter station.

The room includes a refrigerator and its only drawback is the noisy heater and tiny closet.

If you are drivingf they do have a garage which is important in the winter.

The only complaint is the breakfast, starts at 6:30 and the coffee is very bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at the Verve from 8th to 12th February

Received a vey warm welcome on arrival.
Rooms were very big and spotlessly clean
Less than 5 minute walk to Subway with regular trains into Manhattan every 5 to 8 minutes. Subway fare was only $2.5
Breakfast was excellent,

Room Tip: Very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champions gate,Florida,USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

the hotel is 20 minutes in taxi from la guardia,when we arrive Antonie the front desk guy ,receive us with a grate smile,check in us fast and answer all my ? ,in a grate mode also advice us in many ways,the hotel is located outside of the city ,but my wife and i we was looking for a place to safe and enjoy New york so this hotel is 1 block away from the 39 ave subway and a block away from the Queens subway,we bought 2 ,7 days unlimited subway ticket ,and was really worted,
Antonie was very kind to advice us to buy the tickets from the MTA agent and not from the machine we pay 60$ for the ticket,but we travel from the central park to the wall street ,Brookling all manhathan,back and foward many times for 3 days with out stop and also use to get to the JFK airport using the Queens metro station (make sure have cash to buy the tickets metro agents dont take debit or credit card ) the room was very clean,staff very friendly and the breakfast (hot breakfast,eggs,sausages,waffles etc.thanks Antonie and staff greate price we pay $245 for 3 nights and save a lot also with the new york pass......................

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If this is your first time to visit New York, you’ll probably regret choosing the Verve as it’s not really in the centre of all the excitement. If however you are familiar with the city, you’ll be perfectly happy with the short subway ride into Manhattan with a choice of two or three lines that will get you anywhere you need to go. Actually what I appreciated most was probably Line F heading in the other direction, as it’s a direct route to JFK.

My room was large and comfortable, and great value, only $120 a night on a pre-Christmas weekend, which for NYC is a real bargain. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine. View was of a large taxi cab parking lot, so a bit drab, but the area wasn’t in the least dangerous and I’m sorry I didn’t have more time to discover Queens.I thought I would check out some local restaurants, but between going to the theatre and shopping, I never did get around to it and spent all my time in Manhattan. Would certainly stay there again though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My sister and I stayed here 8th to 11th December. We found the hotel to be great value for money compared to others in Manhattan. By staying further out of town we saved £200-300 and we just had to buy a subway pass for $30 to get us around New York. The rooms were a decent size with ample storage, a fridge and a safe. The beds were huge and so comfy. Even though we could see the trains passing by from our room, we didn't hear any noise at night. Having breakfast each morning was a bonus. There was a choice of cereal, toast, bagels, waffles and cooked items. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful when we wanted directions for Manhattan - special mention to the lovely Valerie. We found the area the hotel is situated in quite safe and there was a subway station either side - great for travelling to Manhattan or into Queens. Once in the city we loved Times Square, Bubba Gump's was great for a meal. We went to see Jersey Boys on Broadway - it was fantastic! We even did a horse and carriage ride around Central Park. All said and done this was a great value hotel for exploring New York. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and especially this city to anyone wanting a great fun-filled holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just a short walk from the Subway, this hotel offers large rooms, free breakfast and a fitness center. Located in Long Island City, the subway train provides very quick access to Manhattan so if you don't need to sleep in Manhattan and don't want to pay high Manhattan prices for a small hotel room, this is the place for you. Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that faces the subway tracks as it can be a bit noisy, although the in room fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.