We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save money by getting out of Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Save money by getting out of Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If this is your first time to visit New York, you’ll probably regret choosing the Verve as it’s not really in the centre of all the excitement. If however you are familiar with the city, you’ll be perfectly happy with the short subway ride into Manhattan with a choice of two or three lines that will get you anywhere you need to go. Actually what I appreciated most was probably Line F heading in the other direction, as it’s a direct route to JFK.

My room was large and comfortable, and great value, only $120 a night on a pre-Christmas weekend, which for NYC is a real bargain. Staff were friendly, breakfast was fine. View was of a large taxi cab parking lot, so a bit drab, but the area wasn’t in the least dangerous and I’m sorry I didn’t have more time to discover Queens.I thought I would check out some local restaurants, but between going to the theatre and shopping, I never did get around to it and spent all my time in Manhattan. Would certainly stay there again though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    321
    68
    7
    23
See reviews for
236
492
93
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My sister and I stayed here 8th to 11th December. We found the hotel to be great value for money compared to others in Manhattan. By staying further out of town we saved £200-300 and we just had to buy a subway pass for $30 to get us around New York. The rooms were a decent size with ample storage, a fridge and a safe. The beds were huge and so comfy. Even though we could see the trains passing by from our room, we didn't hear any noise at night. Having breakfast each morning was a bonus. There was a choice of cereal, toast, bagels, waffles and cooked items. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful when we wanted directions for Manhattan - special mention to the lovely Valerie. We found the area the hotel is situated in quite safe and there was a subway station either side - great for travelling to Manhattan or into Queens. Once in the city we loved Times Square, Bubba Gump's was great for a meal. We went to see Jersey Boys on Broadway - it was fantastic! We even did a horse and carriage ride around Central Park. All said and done this was a great value hotel for exploring New York. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and especially this city to anyone wanting a great fun-filled holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just a short walk from the Subway, this hotel offers large rooms, free breakfast and a fitness center. Located in Long Island City, the subway train provides very quick access to Manhattan so if you don't need to sleep in Manhattan and don't want to pay high Manhattan prices for a small hotel room, this is the place for you. Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that faces the subway tracks as it can be a bit noisy, although the in room fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for a few days on my first visit to New York. Unfortunately the place was not nearly as good as reviews here would suggest.

First of all the pros:
- The place was clean
- It is conveniently located with metro stops no more than 5 minute walk away which will take you into Manhattan in 10 minutes. Also convenient if you are catching the metro from JFK, there's a line which will take you to Jamaica where you can take the airtrain.
- You get a lot included for your money such as free use of a washing machine, breakfast and WiFi
- Relatively quiet, I at least had no noise complaints.

Unfortunately, for me, the negatives far out weighted the positives:
- upon checkin you are required to provide them with your passport and credit card which are copied back to front. No other form of ID such as driving license is accepted (for foreigners). Passports for all occupants need to be provided, not just the person paying. Even though I prepayed and my credit card was swiped for a deposit, they just took the card to the back to make actual photocopies of the front and back of the card, something I was not comfortable with at all. This as well as the copies of passports is very unusual for American hotels and was a first for me (and I have stayed in quite a few hotels). Apparently all of this is required for security and in case they have to evacuate the building; don't believe a word as if this was the case any form of government photo ID should have been sufficient
- the location, while convenient, really is not great. The area is very industrial and run down. While I didn't have any problems I also did not feel safe walking there at night.
- the rooms, while clean, were not great. The bed was not nearly as comfortable as one you would get in a holiday inn or courtyard which are very similarly priced. The aircon/heater was very, very loud. Too loud to be kept on over night. No proper temperature and fan control, just a red/blue dial and two fan speeds. This is fine to heat up or cool down the room quickly but just doesn't work at night if you are a light sleeper.
- breakfast, while free, was not great. There's free coffee and juice, waffles, bagels and some toast, but that's it. Again nothing like you can expect from one of the bigger chain hotels which sometimes offer deals with breakfast included. The breakfast room felt and looked like something one would expect in a hostel, from the plastic cutlery to the cardboard plates.

Bottom line, at the price there are much better hotels than this! The Verve simply didn't cut it for me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed 3D2N

1 room is good, on par with other hotel of its type.

2 services were good, staff are easy to talk to and transaction is pretty quick

3 breakfast is simple not too elegant, but again it us what you paid for, so no issues on this one

4 wifi speed is average, cable channels are few (but hey you wont be all day in your room)

5 other amenities are just fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

After tiring travel, our first night at the Verve was really stressful. We had an extremely loud room next to us. After listening to blaring music, a screaming woman, and a banging head board for an hour, we called the front desk. They apologized but the noise did not stop. When we called again, the staff said they could not intervene. The toilet, faucet, and tub drain were all not functioning properly. I would not stay at the Verve again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I searched the internet extensively to find a hotel that was affordable to us in Manhattan during the December Christmas season but kept on coming back to the Verve, which was given such glowing reviews and importantly, was within our budget.

The staff are very friendly and helpful with the notable exception of the lady who works in the dining room who doesn't even look at anyone. We were amused to see a "tip" jar put out for her, despite the fact that everyone clears their own tables after they have eaten.

Breakfast is okay but the same every day. Basically cereals, rolls, of various kinds, bread and cheese with the hot offerings being scrambled eggs cooked in a slab and hamburger patties.There is also a waffle machine with measured out batter which you can make your own waffles. The room is also over-heated to an uncomfortable degree. The most surprising thing for me however, is that you are expected to eat with plastic knives, forks, spoons on plastic plates and drink coffee out of plastic cups. These, as stated above, are then gathered up by yourselves when you are finished and deposited in the bin provided. In my opinion very tacky and unacceptable.

The much reviewed "coffee machine available 24/7 offering all sorts of drinks like hot chocolate, etc" only offered coffee and decaf and was certainly nothing to rave about either.

The rooms were comfortable with a huge king-sized bed and the housekeeping good too. We had a vending machine right outside our room, which was very convenient, and an ice machine which made an annoying noise when the ice fell throughout the night. Bathroom was a nice size and good toiletries provided.

The biggest disappointment for me however, was the location and being away from Manhattan. Yes it was only a few subway stops away, but when you stepped out of the hotel,you could have been anywhere in the world in a suburban neighbourhood. We never felt unsafe, but I also never felt connected to the NYC vibe either. Catching the subway was also a different experience, where the platforms are crowded and the trains even more so and getting a seat is quite unusual. So the reviewers who correctly state that Manhattan is only 2 stops away, don't take into account the actual time and inconvenience it could take to make that 2 stop journey.

We loved the fact that the Verve offered guests the free use of a washing machine and dryer - its great to have clean clothes when you've been travelling a while.

To be honest, the Verve wasn't that bad that I could say I'd never stay there again, but if I could possibly afford to stay in Manhattan I would and that would be my advice to anyone planning a trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.