We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT VALUE IN CONVENIENT LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VALUE IN CONVENIENT LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Just a short walk from the Subway, this hotel offers large rooms, free breakfast and a fitness center. Located in Long Island City, the subway train provides very quick access to Manhattan so if you don't need to sleep in Manhattan and don't want to pay high Manhattan prices for a small hotel room, this is the place for you. Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room that faces the subway tracks as it can be a bit noisy, although the in room fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days on my first visit to New York. Unfortunately the place was not nearly as good as reviews here would suggest.

First of all the pros:
- The place was clean
- It is conveniently located with metro stops no more than 5 minute walk away which will take you into Manhattan in 10 minutes. Also convenient if you are catching the metro from JFK, there's a line which will take you to Jamaica where you can take the airtrain.
- You get a lot included for your money such as free use of a washing machine, breakfast and WiFi
- Relatively quiet, I at least had no noise complaints.

Unfortunately, for me, the negatives far out weighted the positives:
- upon checkin you are required to provide them with your passport and credit card which are copied back to front. No other form of ID such as driving license is accepted (for foreigners). Passports for all occupants need to be provided, not just the person paying. Even though I prepayed and my credit card was swiped for a deposit, they just took the card to the back to make actual photocopies of the front and back of the card, something I was not comfortable with at all. This as well as the copies of passports is very unusual for American hotels and was a first for me (and I have stayed in quite a few hotels). Apparently all of this is required for security and in case they have to evacuate the building; don't believe a word as if this was the case any form of government photo ID should have been sufficient
- the location, while convenient, really is not great. The area is very industrial and run down. While I didn't have any problems I also did not feel safe walking there at night.
- the rooms, while clean, were not great. The bed was not nearly as comfortable as one you would get in a holiday inn or courtyard which are very similarly priced. The aircon/heater was very, very loud. Too loud to be kept on over night. No proper temperature and fan control, just a red/blue dial and two fan speeds. This is fine to heat up or cool down the room quickly but just doesn't work at night if you are a light sleeper.
- breakfast, while free, was not great. There's free coffee and juice, waffles, bagels and some toast, but that's it. Again nothing like you can expect from one of the bigger chain hotels which sometimes offer deals with breakfast included. The breakfast room felt and looked like something one would expect in a hostel, from the plastic cutlery to the cardboard plates.

Bottom line, at the price there are much better hotels than this! The Verve simply didn't cut it for me.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank travelmate182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3D2N

1 room is good, on par with other hotel of its type.

2 services were good, staff are easy to talk to and transaction is pretty quick

3 breakfast is simple not too elegant, but again it us what you paid for, so no issues on this one

4 wifi speed is average, cable channels are few (but hey you wont be all day in your room)

5 other amenities are just fine.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Herbert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

After tiring travel, our first night at the Verve was really stressful. We had an extremely loud room next to us. After listening to blaring music, a screaming woman, and a banging head board for an hour, we called the front desk. They apologized but the noise did not stop. When we called again, the staff said they could not intervene. The toilet, faucet, and tub drain were all not functioning properly. I would not stay at the Verve again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JadaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I searched the internet extensively to find a hotel that was affordable to us in Manhattan during the December Christmas season but kept on coming back to the Verve, which was given such glowing reviews and importantly, was within our budget.

The staff are very friendly and helpful with the notable exception of the lady who works in the dining room who doesn't even look at anyone. We were amused to see a "tip" jar put out for her, despite the fact that everyone clears their own tables after they have eaten.

Breakfast is okay but the same every day. Basically cereals, rolls, of various kinds, bread and cheese with the hot offerings being scrambled eggs cooked in a slab and hamburger patties.There is also a waffle machine with measured out batter which you can make your own waffles. The room is also over-heated to an uncomfortable degree. The most surprising thing for me however, is that you are expected to eat with plastic knives, forks, spoons on plastic plates and drink coffee out of plastic cups. These, as stated above, are then gathered up by yourselves when you are finished and deposited in the bin provided. In my opinion very tacky and unacceptable.

The much reviewed "coffee machine available 24/7 offering all sorts of drinks like hot chocolate, etc" only offered coffee and decaf and was certainly nothing to rave about either.

The rooms were comfortable with a huge king-sized bed and the housekeeping good too. We had a vending machine right outside our room, which was very convenient, and an ice machine which made an annoying noise when the ice fell throughout the night. Bathroom was a nice size and good toiletries provided.

The biggest disappointment for me however, was the location and being away from Manhattan. Yes it was only a few subway stops away, but when you stepped out of the hotel,you could have been anywhere in the world in a suburban neighbourhood. We never felt unsafe, but I also never felt connected to the NYC vibe either. Catching the subway was also a different experience, where the platforms are crowded and the trains even more so and getting a seat is quite unusual. So the reviewers who correctly state that Manhattan is only 2 stops away, don't take into account the actual time and inconvenience it could take to make that 2 stop journey.

We loved the fact that the Verve offered guests the free use of a washing machine and dryer - its great to have clean clothes when you've been travelling a while.

To be honest, the Verve wasn't that bad that I could say I'd never stay there again, but if I could possibly afford to stay in Manhattan I would and that would be my advice to anyone planning a trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Pros:
Good location/proximity to subways
Free breakfast
Free wifi
We were able to find street parking although parking is available in their garage at $25/night
spacious rooms
Friendly staff

Cons:
A bit outdated and could use some updates
We were in a handicap room and the shower constantly leaked under the plastic divider(instead of tub)
Although quiet most of the time, there is a church right across the street that rents out a party room and the bass gets LOUD. One night the music sounded so loud as if it was in our room from 11pm-5am. I got almost no sleep that night. Luckily it was only one night in the 5 we stayed, however the walls are a bit thin as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oxjohnnysangelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

First of all, we were traveling at a good time for low prices - so we paid a fantastic $89 for a King bed room. The room was spacious, clean everywhere except for the curtains which I understand will be cleaned in Feb. 2014.... over a month away...though because it looked like stains from the grease of pizza on this curtain, I told the front desk about it and hope it is cleaned sooner. The parking lot is underground - we were traveling during a snowstorm so we were very grateful for warm and dry parking. Inexpensive rates for parking also - I think $25 for 24 hours. The breakfast was just okay --- nice eggs, waffles, sausage, but no fruit. Nice attendant though. The bed was not super comfortable and I would have liked an extra blanket in the closet, but there were 5 pillows and they were great. The location is just okay but this is difficult to judge at night in a snowstorm. There seem to be churches and schools right in the neighborhood so it can't be too bad. No cafes or delis in the immediate area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valleylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vetiver
Hotel Vetiver
#10 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing