We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Van Vleck
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I stayed 4 nights in early December primarily because of the good rates and easy access to manhattan. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The room was very clean and extremely quiet. Access to the subway is a short walk and could be in the city within 15 minutes. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. The only negative comment is the area around the hotel some reviews called industrial. During the day we felt quite safe but at night walking to the subway station and back felt a little creepy. Also, there are few restaurants in the local area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice stay without the outrageous rates in the city.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    667
    271
    48
    7
    14
See reviews for
211
431
82
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel has already been said. A perfect choice. The only reason why I didn't give then 5 stars is because I was in a room facing the railroads and the trains are really noisy. The noise gets into the room. I was so tyred at night that it didn't bother me, but... Also, the air conditioning unit is very noisy so I left it disconnected during the nights.
Everything else, perfect. In room safe, coffee maker, iron, flat TV, very clean big room and bathroom, very convinient breakfast,... And all the staff really friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the railroads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Quite reasonably priced. Close to subway network. You can be into Manhattan in 10-15mins via Subway. It is in an industrial neighbourhood but we were never disturbed by noise.
A good breakfast in the morning - cereals, fruit, waffles. There is also a 24/7 coffee machine and a computer with 24/7 availability. The hotel also offers free WiFi.

The staff on the reception desk are very helpful and were happy to help out with directions when we needed them.

We stayed in total for 6 nights. I'd definitely recommend this as somewhere to stay when visiting NYC!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pescara, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Reading all comments about this hotel, I could not believe they were so true...but I was wrong! This hotel is absolutely perfect to visit New York...I spent 6 nights there and, beyond the affordable price (around 1.000 $ per room), great aspect of Verve are the position (39th St. subway station is 5 minutes walk far) and a lot of service you cannot find in many hotel. I am referring to breakfast (sweet and salty), free wifi connection in the room, free tea, coffe and water at any time, snack and beverage machines on all floor, room to store luggage (1$ per piece), complete helpfulness of the entire staff....I will definitely suggest the Verve to anyone asking me a suggestion about a NY hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Affordable hotel with easy access to the subway (5-7mins walk). It is located in an industrial neighbourhood, but is very safe and quiet. The brekkie was sufficient although it can be pretty busy some mornings. There is a free self-serve hot chocolate and coffee/tea machine, and laundry facilities. The room is good sized and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Perfect for our trip. Short walk to the subway. We were given complimentary water on arrival and again when we checked out. They also have a service to look after your cases after check out. This really helped as our flight home to the UK was in the evening. Thanks Anthony (reception).

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Verve whilst in New York to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were given a wonderful room, 505, which has a Manhattan skyline view whilst sitting on the bed, just wonderful!
We were a little unsure initially due to the distance from Manhattan. However, the express service was just 3 stops from Central Park. From our first arriving at the hotel reception to checking out a week later everything was just perfect. All staff in the hotel, without any exception, were just first class.
We have never stayed in a hotel with beds or pillows as comfortable, we had a wonderful nights sleep every night which after a busy day sightseeing was just what we needed. The area surrounding the hotel is very quiet at night and feels safe.
I would ask the hotel staff to book your taxi both to and from the airport as the service provided was first rate and much more reasonable at $40 dollars each way than the $70 dollars we were charged from the airport by the yellow cabs, which I might add advertise a flat rate of $52 to central Manhattan although we weren't aware of this at the time!
The breakfast at the hotel with fresh waffles is a very welcome start to the day. One wonderful touch is the coffee machine, microwave and water machine which are free and available to use 24 hours a day. We would not hesitate in recommending The Verve to anyone visiting New York nor would we choose to stay anywhere else if we return to New York in the future. Many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York
Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.