We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Gold Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Verve in Queens for a week back in Oct 13, and had a fantastic stay. The staff were always friendly, and available 24 hours which is great.

The positioning was quite good, we had 3 subway stations within 5 mintes walk in any direction. The Subway was about 10-15 minutes from Times Square which passes in no time! We enver felt threatened and it was really safe walking home every night.

The room was clean and quiet, we had a spa bath which was amazing after walking around NYC every day. There was numerous vending machines around the building as well as a place to wash your dirty clothes on site.

Every morning between 630-930 is breakfast, which is a small mix of hot and cold, but we found it fantastic. I recommend you getting fairly early as it gets busy down there!

I highly recommend staying at The Verve, and if I head back to NYC, I would have no hesitation staying here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a spa- well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    327
    71
    7
    26
See reviews for
240
498
95
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

All the good reviews are true so I can't add much more, great staff, room looked a bit tired but great for the price with comfortable beds and pillows, breakfast was good considering it's complementary, the breakfast room was less busy before 8am. Would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights. Convenient, clean, near the subway (just a few stops to Manhattan) or the Malls in Queens. Reasonable breakfast included including some hot food. Free Wi-Fi and access to the business centre. They arranged a car when we needed to go visit family in the area.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
It is difficult to get a reasonable priced quality hotel in NY but do consider this one.
I would stay here if I visited NY again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Close to Manhattan and family in Queens and Brooklyn, a great staff, spacious rooms, tasty breakfast every day, laundry facilities, exercise room, a great staff (Tom, Pete, Tony, Jeyhaia) quick walk to subway, shopping, restaurants in a person friendly area. All of this is the Verve which is our home away from home twice a year at a very affordable price.

Room Tip: The breakfast is great and coffee available at all times. There is no room to room noise leakage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My fourth stay in New York but the first outside Manhattan. Unwilling to pay high Manhattan prices for limited room space and no breakfast I was dubious whether the reviews matched reality for such a well-priced hotel. I need not have worried – the Verve offers so much more for a much lower price. Spacious room, large comfortable bed, great shower, fridge (useful for milk if like me you take tea and a kettle with you!). Hot buffet breakfast, coffee 24/7, wifi and a daily newspaper are all included. Manhattan is easy to get to on the subway (but allow 5 minutes to cross the busy road) – you could be at central park in as little as 15 minutes.

Special thanks to Yahaira at check-in for her warm welcome and advice on local eateries a few blocks away. Tom (the GM), Sonny and Yash were also very helpful – nothing was too much trouble and they were always genuinely willing to assist in any query.

Yes, the area is a bit run-down, particularly towards 42nd road near the subway station, however after walking the opposite way several times to eat in the evenings it is evident that this is also a residential area with schools, and one which I believe is “up and coming”. The locals were friendly and helpful.

Museum of the Moving Image (35th avenue) has an amazing collection of exhibits if you are interested in the history of movie development from the very beginning to the present day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the elevated subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location: Nothing of any particular interest in the immediate vicinity, however it is situated only a short (approx 5 mins), easy and unimposing walk to a couple of nearby subway stops which take you into Manhattan within 10 minutes.
Price: fantastic compared to hotels in Manhattan. This includes hotels in Manhattan which were double the price and clearly inferior.
Staff: extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. They have a customer focussed approach here and make everyone feel welcome. A lady named Yohaira (apologies if I have your name incorrect) was very welcoming and assisted any requests that we had. On arrival she could see that we were tired after a long day of travelling and promptly gave us a couple of cold bottles of water to freshen us up. She also tended to a few other requests perfectly throughout our stay (4 nights) and nothing seemed a problem.

Room: The room itself was a shock as I didn’t expect to have a large living area as well as a large bedroom. The furnishings are not particularly to my taste but they were comfortable and in good condition. All appliances (including a microwave) worked well, were clean and useful. Two large flat-screen TV’s (lounge and bedroom) made it quite a nice base to come back to for a bit of relaxation time after a long day walking around Manhattan. There was also a fridge and coffee making facilities. The en-suite had a bath/shower and all the usual necessary items. Everything was clean and in good order. The bed was also large and comfortable.

Internet: Free good quality wi-fi throughout the hotel and free use of two computers on the ground floor, as well as free printing was a welcome extra.

Breakfast: was fine, nothing special but it had everything you needed with plenty of options to start the day.

Slight negatives: The only slight complaints that I would have is the air conditioning is in the form of fans under the windows rather than a temperature control unit. I was quite warm of an evening (beginning of October) so imagine it could get quite hot during the summer. Secondly we were on the same corner of the building as reception, albeit on the top floor, and for two of the nights there was relatively loud music coming from somewhere nearby which could be heard in the rooms. In truth it didn’t bother me but irked my wife somewhat. However despite these small, picky complaints we were both very happy with the hotel and would happily stay again.

I have seen some comments asking whether it is a safe area to walk. I cannot answer that but can say that at no point did we see anything to suggest it is dangerous and we felt safe walking back late at night. It is quite quiet but we did not see anything worrying in or around the area.

I would actively seek to stay here again next time I visit NY and just hope the prices stay reasonable compared to the extortion that is Manhattan!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

As a regular visitor to NYC I've finally come to my senses .... Why pay more for less ?
Justin, Tom and staff are great. Rooms are big and clean with great beds. Bathrooms are clean with a selection of products just in case you've forgotten yours. Take advantage of the free breakfast not to mention the free tea, chocolate or coffee which is available 24hrs.
Train is very short walk away (39th) and only 2 stops (7 mins) to Manhattan.
If you are looking for a local bar close to the hotel then I recommend Dutch Kills Centraal 2 mins walk from hotel. You wont be disappointed !!!!
Will i ever stay in Manhattan again. ......... Not when the Verve offers so much at a much cheaper rate !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.