We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My fourth stay in New York but the first outside Manhattan. Unwilling to pay high Manhattan prices for limited room space and no breakfast I was dubious whether the reviews matched reality for such a well-priced hotel. I need not have worried – the Verve offers so much more for a much lower price. Spacious room, large comfortable bed, great shower, fridge (useful for milk if like me you take tea and a kettle with you!). Hot buffet breakfast, coffee 24/7, wifi and a daily newspaper are all included. Manhattan is easy to get to on the subway (but allow 5 minutes to cross the busy road) – you could be at central park in as little as 15 minutes.

Special thanks to Yahaira at check-in for her warm welcome and advice on local eateries a few blocks away. Tom (the GM), Sonny and Yash were also very helpful – nothing was too much trouble and they were always genuinely willing to assist in any query.

Yes, the area is a bit run-down, particularly towards 42nd road near the subway station, however after walking the opposite way several times to eat in the evenings it is evident that this is also a residential area with schools, and one which I believe is “up and coming”. The locals were friendly and helpful.

Museum of the Moving Image (35th avenue) has an amazing collection of exhibits if you are interested in the history of movie development from the very beginning to the present day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the elevated subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    335
    75
    7
    26
See reviews for
247
507
100
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Location: Nothing of any particular interest in the immediate vicinity, however it is situated only a short (approx 5 mins), easy and unimposing walk to a couple of nearby subway stops which take you into Manhattan within 10 minutes.
Price: fantastic compared to hotels in Manhattan. This includes hotels in Manhattan which were double the price and clearly inferior.
Staff: extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. They have a customer focussed approach here and make everyone feel welcome. A lady named Yohaira (apologies if I have your name incorrect) was very welcoming and assisted any requests that we had. On arrival she could see that we were tired after a long day of travelling and promptly gave us a couple of cold bottles of water to freshen us up. She also tended to a few other requests perfectly throughout our stay (4 nights) and nothing seemed a problem.

Room: The room itself was a shock as I didn’t expect to have a large living area as well as a large bedroom. The furnishings are not particularly to my taste but they were comfortable and in good condition. All appliances (including a microwave) worked well, were clean and useful. Two large flat-screen TV’s (lounge and bedroom) made it quite a nice base to come back to for a bit of relaxation time after a long day walking around Manhattan. There was also a fridge and coffee making facilities. The en-suite had a bath/shower and all the usual necessary items. Everything was clean and in good order. The bed was also large and comfortable.

Internet: Free good quality wi-fi throughout the hotel and free use of two computers on the ground floor, as well as free printing was a welcome extra.

Breakfast: was fine, nothing special but it had everything you needed with plenty of options to start the day.

Slight negatives: The only slight complaints that I would have is the air conditioning is in the form of fans under the windows rather than a temperature control unit. I was quite warm of an evening (beginning of October) so imagine it could get quite hot during the summer. Secondly we were on the same corner of the building as reception, albeit on the top floor, and for two of the nights there was relatively loud music coming from somewhere nearby which could be heard in the rooms. In truth it didn’t bother me but irked my wife somewhat. However despite these small, picky complaints we were both very happy with the hotel and would happily stay again.

I have seen some comments asking whether it is a safe area to walk. I cannot answer that but can say that at no point did we see anything to suggest it is dangerous and we felt safe walking back late at night. It is quite quiet but we did not see anything worrying in or around the area.

I would actively seek to stay here again next time I visit NY and just hope the prices stay reasonable compared to the extortion that is Manhattan!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

As a regular visitor to NYC I've finally come to my senses .... Why pay more for less ?
Justin, Tom and staff are great. Rooms are big and clean with great beds. Bathrooms are clean with a selection of products just in case you've forgotten yours. Take advantage of the free breakfast not to mention the free tea, chocolate or coffee which is available 24hrs.
Train is very short walk away (39th) and only 2 stops (7 mins) to Manhattan.
If you are looking for a local bar close to the hotel then I recommend Dutch Kills Centraal 2 mins walk from hotel. You wont be disappointed !!!!
Will i ever stay in Manhattan again. ......... Not when the Verve offers so much at a much cheaper rate !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was our second stay - four nights while visiting NYC. Everything everyone else has said about the truly great staff (we dealt mostly with wonderful Justin and Yahira), clean, comfortable rooms, and so forth was true for us.The mini-fridge was handy for keeping fruit and soda. Yahira directed us to a nice multi-ethnic area about four blocks away where we got a great pizza and burger at Leo's - his awning still says "Joe's," since he just took over three weeks ago. If you get in early, Leo's is super - he has good desserts, too. Make sure you check with front desk staff about the MTA routes - there are changes going on and they are expert in this area. Even for four days, we found that we got our money's worth out of the 7-day unlimited MTA ticket, plus the covenience was good. Everyone at the Verve is very helpful, the breakfast is great (make sure you tip the breakfast room workers - they keep everything fresh and good!), the sodas in the machines are reasonably priced for a hotel. The neighborhood is fine - we got turned around coming home after dark one evening and two guys in a car, seeing us obviously lost, stopped, checked out where we were going, and gave us directions. If you're Catholic, St. Patrick's is across the street. This is where we will always stay when visiting New York City.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent three nights the last week of September. I can only so much verify the many, many previous positive posts regarding the great value of the Verve, Long Island City, Queens. Super clean room (with mini fridge), great bed, and nice common areas with the lobby and an outdoor deck with several grills and sitting areas. Excellent complimentary breakfast, and free coffee machine (wife loved the espresso).

It is located in a quiet location with a beautiful church on the corner. Our first afternoon there, we walked around for about four hours and much enjoyed the neighborhood. It’s eclectic…mid-Eastern, Brazilian, Italian. Found it completely safe at day or night. Very close access to major subway lines. 10 min walk to Queensboro Plaza stop and the 7 train which will have you in Times Square in 14 mins (timed it). The hotel has many recommendations and menus for delivery service. I highly recommend Mike’s Italian.

In terms of service, the hotel, while much larger, has the personal touch of a 15 room bed and breakfast, which we found so unexpected. The folks that work at front desk, and throughout the hotel, actually sincerely care about their guests, in every respect. At the front desk, they were so cordial and personable with providing info about anything. Subways, sights, restaurants..walking directions….on and on..absolutely never too busy to help, and always with a smile. Many thanks to Tom, the GM at Verve who sets the customer service standard at a high bar, Anthony, Justin, Yahira, and Valerie who made our short stay at your hotel so wonderful.

Many Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and would have gladly stayed more had we not been travelling to Philly for a gig. Justin was especially attentive and very helpful. It's far enough from the city to be quiet but near enough on the subway to get there easy enough. Our room had a jacuzzi bath in the corner which was very nice. The hotel has a chargeable car park but very tight to get in if you have a large car. Breakfast was adequate self service. There is a great bar across the street as the hotel does not offer this facility. Next time we are I. The city, we would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A great stay in this hotel that was just a short train ride into central New York. It was hard to find a place that was reasonably priced so close to the city, so this was a real find. Its only a 5 minute walk to the train station and just a few minutes on the train to get to Times Square. The area it is in looks a little rough but I had no trouble walking to train and back, and even ate at the local diner for breakfast one day when I slept in and had the cheapest, biggest meal I had ever seen! There is also a small convenience store just up the road to get supplies and snacks.

The room was sizable for a city motel and had a shower and a bath, all very clean. The bed was huge and again, nice clean linen. The carpet had seen better days but I was only there to sleep as was out and about all day so didn't bother me. All staff very helpful and kind. Breakfast was free so was a good start to a busy day with hot food also available. Tea and coffee were available all day downstairs in the dining room and there was a coffee maker in the room.

All in all a good option for a cheaper stay which friendly staff, clean rooms, free wifi which worked well and a free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.