We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So helpful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about visiting NY for the first time but the staff at Verve put us at ease. They were extremely helpful, especially Yash (sales manager). He informed us how the subway system operates, what routes to take, good places to eat, good running paths, etc. We really appreciated his advice and friendliness. The hotel is very nice and only a few blocks from subway stations to take you into Manhattan. Even though the area is a little industrial, we felt very safe; even after dark. We actually walked to Central Park from the motel. The nightly rate was very reasonable for being so close to Manhattan. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    305
    60
    7
    19
See reviews for
231
475
85
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearny, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

On the day I arrived, I had some personal issues in coordinating with several other people in my group and handling some related matters. Yash and his entire staff spent more sincere effort assisting me than some of my friends would have done under similar circumstances. I observed that the staff behaved in a helpful manner to many other guests, giving them recommendations about where to eat, what sights to visit, and patiently explaining many details. I stayed in a King suite which was surprisingly spacious. The neighborhood has a friendly new bar which is open until midnight, two short blocks north of the Verve. Getting back and forth to Manhattan is easy on the subway, and several of us occasionally walked over the Queensboro Bridge which takes about 35 minutes from the hotel until we arrived on the Manhattan side near 1st Avenue. I am definitely looking forward to staying at the Verve again.

Room Tip: The King suite is the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have spent 7 nights in Verve hotel in september 2013. Everything was perfect, the hotel is in a great location close (two or three blocks) to two subway stations with many lines to Manhattan, so you can get to the center in about 10 minutes. The complimentary breakfest was also very good, room was spacious and well equipped (fridge, safe, coffee maker, flat tv, complimentary wifi etc.), personnel friendly. Great value for the price, especially compared to Manhattan hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I hope you are reading this before you book as I may be able to save you some money. We wanted a 4 day trip to NY but did not fancy Manhattan prices. I spent ages looking and found this hotel and as I had stayed in Boutique hotels before thought this would be ideal. I checked on all the hotel sites and they were similarly priced at $262. I checked on the Verve webpage and got the same deal for $129 - we added $20 to this to make it a refundable deal (we live in Florida and it was the hurricane season so can never be sure), but that is optional. If you want a king instead of Queen that is another $10. We were very pleased indeed and would point anyone to The Verve hotel. Less than 5 mins from the subway and then 5 mins on the express to Times Square. Might just as well be in Manhattan. Trains run constantly.
The room was clean, free breakfast takes another $10 a head off, and the 24hr free coffee and chocolate machine was great. They even had Lipton tea. There are 3 free computers and a printer and a microwave off the foyer. We smoke so it was really nice to have the patio. This is an area with tables, sunbeds and bbq equipment and we met some really nice people just hanging out drinking our own bedtime gin and tonic and socializing at the end of a tiring day
The staff are super friendly and helpful and the breakfast room girls never stop topping items up and keeping the place spotless. Breakfast is typical and adequate including fresh fruit. It is not a pretty area and much of it seems to be under construction, but we just needed a bed. Extra tip - there is a Holiday Inn on the way to the subway who offer Brazilian bbq for $20 - really good with cold and hot buffet table and unlimited bbq that included Lamb, so that made me a happpy bunny. Go direct to Verve to get this great price difference - we booked about 2 months ealier.

Room Tip: I tried asking for a corner or room with a view when I booked, and even called on the day but they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The staff were amazing, room was big & clean, and the location was very convenient...literally minutes away from the subway.
We stayed for 5 nights and would return in a heartbeat. Also, the breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for two night and was pleasantly surprised by the great service and amazing location. The rooms were clean, nicely sized, and the beds were extremely comfortable.
It's right around the corner from the Subway, which is only about a 5 minute ride into Manhattan.
The front desk and staff were always very accommodating. Will definitely stay here again and will recommend it. Oh... and not nearly as pricey as the hotels in Manhattan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great buy; very close to Manhattan. Free breakfast and an inside garage! Clean; easy check-in; overall a real find so close to downtown; literally five minutes, over the 59th Street bridge and your in Manhattan.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.