We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Verve was our home for a week returning to NYC. Very convenient location, being five minutes from two subway stations, with plenty of lines to bring you in every direction, for instance downtown Manhattan in 10 mins. Around the hotel, there's nothing much – a rather residential/industrial area, which however felt safe in every way.

Checking in was simple and welcoming, and went smoothly.

The room was a rather large double, with a really huge and comfortable bed. Storage space was adequate, and there's a fridge as well. The bathroom also was comfortable. If I was to fault something, the window-mounted air conditioner was a bit too noisy, but other than that everything was up to standard.

Until the a bit too early end at 09:30 a complimentary breakfast is served. This is OK by American hotel standards, but doesn't really provice much variety. However, what is provided (bagel, toast, egg dish, spreads and a bit more) is ok, and will start your day. The waffle makers were a nice addition.

I'd like to credit the Verve for their amenities – free Internet terminals and wifi, 24-hour free coffee machine in the lobby, outside smoking facilities (which my travel companions really enjoyed) and other small perks to make you feel welcome. As many others I would also like to honour the operations manager, Tom, who goes out of his way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. His mood and small jokes are a really nice touch.

In all, I enjoyed my stay at the Verve. The location is very convenient and quiet, and the price is good value for New York. I'd be glad to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    335
    75
    7
    26
See reviews for
247
507
100
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the verve hotel in August this year for 9 days this was my birthday present from my wife. The hotel is located just the right distance from Manhattan so that the hustle and bustle of that borough does not bother you. The staff, from the time of our arrival to leaving, were fantastic, nothing was ever too much trouble. The complimentary breakfast was very good with a good selection of items to choose from. The hotel room was well looked after and quite spacious compared to others that we have stayed in. The hotel is just a short walk from the subwasy station and just 2 stops away from Manhattan. Tom the manager is a great fella and runs a good place. I have absolutely no second thoughts about recommending this hotel and can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I initially had my reservations about staying in Long Island City as despite what other reviewers had said, I still thought it was a little too far out of Manhattan. How wrong I was...! The hotel is marvellous - the rooms are big and spacious, we had a king-size bed and - let's put it this way, we're both big people and it felt like you had to get a bus from one side of it to the other! Full air-con in the room was a Godsend in the muggy August heat as was the in-room fridge and coffee-maker :) Every single one of the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and I do have to single out Tom the manager, who was so kind and accommodating during our stay. We asked for a quiet room when our initial booking was made, and this request was fully honoured. In terms of the location, to be fair, we didn't explore Long Island City as much as we should have during our stay, but the actual street that the hotel is part of a quiet residential area. We probably should have looked a little closer to the hotel to find places to eat nearby as according to the TripAdvisor NYC app, there were several places we could have tried, but we kept nipping across to Manhattan instead as it was such a short distance away by subway. Because it's in a quiet area as well, it provided gentle respite from the madness you encounter as soon as you arrive in Manhattan, so that was a definite plus for me having previously stayed in hotels in midtown. The 59th Street bridge is a pleasant walk to Manhattan as well and is only a few blocks away, and the staff at the hotel were only too happy to give us directions for anywhere we wanted to go. Taxi from Manhattan is approximately $18-20 (we came from GCT) and taxi fare to Newark Airport from the hotel was $90 plus tolls and tip. A basic but nonetheless very pleasant breakfast was provided FOC and gave us the start to the day that we needed. If turkey sausage patties, omelettes, scrambled eggs, bagels, toast, cereal and waffles isn't your thing, there are many diners in the city (and one in nearby Court Square) which do made-to-order breakfasts and usually are so filling that you don't need to eat until your evening meal. On top of this you get free wi-fi in all of the rooms and there are 3 computers in a room just off the lobby which allow free guest access to wired internet (great for online airline check-ins!) All in all, this hotel was excellent value for money and it's the first hotel I've been to in all my trips to NYC that I've ever wanted to go back to. Big thumbs-up!

Room Tip: Feel free to ask for a quieter room - usually these are the ones which face onto the street but ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We can't complain about anything in the hotel!
The room was big and clean and the staff was friendly and helped us when we asked about restaurants and other things!
One time we looked at the watch while going from timessquare with the 7 metro to the nearest metrostation: exactly 10 minutes and 40 seconds!! The way from the metro to the hotel is safe and we never had problems!
We liked the fact that in the morning you can make your own waffel and also the rest of the breakfast is quiet good!
The whole day long you can have coffee, tea, water, milk and there is a microwave if someone need it!
You can also wash in the hotel and there is a little gym that is the only thing that was not so inviting in the hotel but wasn't that bad either!
We can recommand this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Verve made a great first impression. Staff came outside to help us get our luggage inside (not something one expects at this grade of hotel in these parts), welcomed us with bottles of water, and told us about the free laundry room in the basement and the free wifi, among other bnefits.

While our stay overall was good, the shine did come off a bit. There's only one washer and dryer in the laundry room for guests so not something one can depend on being able to use. The chain had been removed inside our room door - would prefer to have it, but ok - but nothing had been done to 'clean up' the installation - ie, there was jagged metal bits where the plaque for the chain used to hang which one may easily catch one's hand on when opening or closing the door. And notwithstanding the other freebies, the fact there's a charge to leave luggage is bit grating.

Still the room was good, the place is convenient to a couple different train stations and lines, breakfast was ok. Nothing against this hotel, but the biggest downside to staying in this area is the lack of restaurants. There are a few sprinkled around but hardly seems adequate given the number of hotels, with more opening. So as long as you use the transport to get to other areas (or hike some a fair number of blocks north or south), you'll be fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had a week long stay in Verve Hotel with my friends and we couldn't have had a better experience! Its a great location as it's a fifteen minute ride to the main city and has a subway station right next to it. I guess i could say its almost perfect coming back from the hustle bustle of the city to a pleasant locality. It has cafes and restaurants at walking distance too. The hotel has a really cheerful staff who are always happy to help. They didn't give me any reason to complain. You have all the amenities you could require during your stay. I personally loved how comfortable the bedding was. Not to mention they have vending machines at every corner, so convenient to grab a snack on your way out. They do serve a good breakfast, not a luxury you get with reasonable hotels these days. If you want to make your trip a little more comfortable, i would recommend the suite with the jacuzzi! Perfect way to relax after a long tiring day in the city. This was my second visit to New York and this hotel and i wouldn't recommend any other place to stay except verve! Completely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Verve for ten days in the beginning of August. A family of four, traveling with two children, aged 9 and 11. We had a very pleasant stay in a king suite. The king bed was very comfortable. I would recommend the sleeping sofa for children only though (especially if one is staying for a longer period). It was nice to have two separate rooms with two tv's. Bathroom not large, but absolutely adequate. Microwave and fridge in the room. Also a coffeemaker but we were on the second floor, so easy to grab a cup of coffee next to the breakfast room on the first floor.
Breakfast is included. Basic but with choice between hot and cold breakfast. Not a lot of variety, few healthy choices. Children loved the waffle maker.
What this hotel has got going for itself is the price in combination with the location (two stops from Manhattan), three close-by stations with different lines to choose from.
As many have pointed out, the area itself does not have a lot of charm/dinner opportunities but definitely safe and if you take the N line on to Astoria/Ditmars Boulevard, then you'll find a lot of restaurants and shopping opportunities.
The Museum of the Moving Image is at walking distance (recommended).
A final note as a reaction to a previous review from early August, about the Manager shouting to leave a tip. We were there as well. This was totally not the case. One of the girls on the breakfast staff was having her birthday. He asked us all to join in and sing 'Happy Birthday', while she stood on a chair. We sang along and afterwards everybody smiled and applauded (well not everybody, I guess now). He just said that we could show our appreciation for their work (if we wanted) by putting some money in the tipping jar. That's all. Not at all in a negative way.
We had some questions before our stay and received quick and useful answers via e-mail.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#3 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.