We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel well suited for business travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Save Saved
You added Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A very friendly hotel well suited for business travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night before moving one block to another hotel with which I receive points. The Staff was very helpful at check in and check out. They were knowledgeable about places to eat in the neighborhood. The rooms were quiet and clean. The showers were equipped with shower chairs. The wi-fi was fast and easy to access. There are numerous subway lines nearby. The only drawback was the size of the windows. They were fairly small which made the rooms pretty dark. The hotel provides breakfast as part of the room and this was a plus.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the east side of the building or you'll be listening to the subway all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    686
    300
    57
    7
    16
See reviews for
221
461
85
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The thing about NYC hotels is that you usually pay too much for a closet in the City with unfriendly staff and zero perks.

This place has it all for a great price.

- The spacious room was a little outdated on the décor but not an eye sore
- Top notch amenities in the bathroom, a little unexpected surprise
- The staff was helpful and seemed like they actually appreciated my business
- Wi-Fi is included
- Breakfast is included (and includes all the good basics)
- It is close to several subway lines
- It cost me $20 to get there in a taxi from Penn Station

I hope this has sold you but if not, OK. It will be easier for me to book a room the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Forget Manhattan. Stay just a short subway ride/cheap taxi fare away at The Verve in Long island City. Excellent value for money to be such a short distance from the heart of New York. Spotlessly clean, very comfortable, but, the real biggy is the staff; ALL members of staff in all positions carried out their duties in an extremely friendly, helpful, and professional way. A particular mention goes to Anthony, but everyone had a smile on their face, a great sense of humour, and a willingness to go the extra mile. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now. If you don't like it, you're in the wrong hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in September 2012. Staying in Long Island City gives perhaps the best value for money in New York. Verve Hotel was easy to get to on the Metro from the airport, only a 10 minute walk to the station from the hotel. Also super quick into Manhattan, only a few stops and you're already in Times Square. We loved coming back in the evening away from the noise of Manhattan and relaxing in our room.
The staff are really lovely, and the room was huge and clean. We stayed on the fourth floor and had a view towards the city.
I would definitely recommend both this hotel and Long Island City if you're visiting New York. There are some great restaurants and café's within walking distance of the hotel, in particular Tokyo Sushi Bar & Japanese and Sweetleaf Coffee shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed here on arrival from Scotland for a few days with friends before heading off to other destinations in USA but again returning for another few days stay prior to return flight home from Newark.

We had 3 rooms booked during first stay and 2 rooms on second stay. On both occasions we found the reception staff on arrival to be very friendly and welcoming arranging our rooms to be adjacent and all admin stuff sorted out as quick and efficient as possible.

The rooms were spacious, clean with all mod cons needed (Tea / Coffee facilities, TV, Phone, Radio Alarm and most importantly a first class air conditioner). The rooms are serviced & cleaned each day and fresh towels put in the bathroom. Elevator is available to each floor.

A complimentary breakfast service is available to all guests in a separate seating area that to be honest goes beyond the expectations of complimentary and other bigger more expensive hotels could learn a few things here. Staff are available throughout continually refreshing food and drinks.

Tea & Coffee is available 24 hours a day in the reception area free of charge. Vending machines are additionally available to supply soft drinks etc.

An excellent super fast Wi-Fi service is available throughout the hotel and again this is complimentary, the reception staff explain how to log on and supply the necessary password on arrival. Additionally there are 3 computer terminals for residents use free of charge including printing of any documents.

There is a launderette available and in line with everything else is complimentary and free of charge.

Small decked patio area to the rear of the hotel that is secluded and a sun trap for most of the day. Table & chairs with sun loungers are available for residents use.

There are two Metro stations close by the hotel that can be reached within 3 to 5 minutes walk, and are serviced by lines that will take you straight into New York City and all the attractions. taxi to the Queens area where all the restaurants are situated will cost you around $8.

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Verve Hotel and without doubt would use again for any future visits to New York and have no hesitation in recommending to others.

PLUS POINTS - Nice relaxed atmosphere with very friendly and polite staff.

MINUS POINTS - really struggling with a minus but if I was to come up with anything; Our flight home was late evening and a room to shower & change in after normal departure time would be good before heading to the airport at a realistic hourly rate. But this would not put me off especially considering all the facilities this hotel offers free of charge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. And facing towards front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The staff at this hotel were brilliant, as soon as we arrived we were given complimentary bottles of water as it was hot outside and the staff could see we were out of breath from dragging our suitcases about. I travelled as part of a group of 5 and the staff made sure that all our rooms were next to each other, even though we all booked our rooms at separate times. Great service! Breakfast was delicious, there was a good variety of food and I particularly enjoyed the make-your-own waffle station. Bedrooms were clean and spacious and the beds were comfy and GIGANTIC! Hotel is a 2 minute walk away from the nearest subway station and it's very easy to travel in and out of Manhattan. I will certainly be returning here in the future and I intend to recommend it to everyone I know.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stay at the Verve once a week and the service has always been outstanding. From management to hotel staff they all make you feel like you're at home. This is a place where the staff always goes out of their way to accommodate your needs. I just keep coming back.

My personal thanks to the Verve staff.

Room Tip: Always book in advance to get the best rooms available because they go so quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection

Address: 40-03 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#1 Best Value Hotel in Long Island City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Verve Hotel in Long Island City, an Ascend Collection hotel near Manhattan. Offering boutique accommodations in the heart of Long Island City, the Verve Hotel, an Ascend CollectionTM hotel, is within walking distance to Silvercup Studios film and television production facility. Local points of interest like the LaGuardia Airport, downtown Manhattan, Long Island University and the Queens Zoo are less than four miles from this Long Island City, NY hotel. John F. Kennedy International Airport and Newark Liberty International Airport are minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Hotel Long Island City
Ascend Collection Long Island City
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.